or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Shelter Hotel

No. 19-20 Venkatesa Agraharam Street, Mylapore, , Chennai City Center, Chennai, India 600004 (Show on map)

Book now!

Shelter Hotel Chennai - Executive Room Shelter Hotel Chennai - Executive Room Shelter Hotel Chennai - Bathroom Shelter Hotel Chennai - Poker Bar Shelter Hotel Chennai - Aahar Restaurant Shelter Hotel Chennai - Conference Hall Shelter Hotel Chennai - Meeting Room Shelter Hotel Chennai - Banquet Shelter Hotel Chennai - Gymnasium Shelter Hotel Chennai - Main Building Shelter Hotel Chennai - Bar Shelter Hotel Chennai - Executive Room Shelter Hotel Chennai - Reception Shelter Hotel Chennai - Executive Room Shelter Hotel Chennai - Hotel Exterior
Area: Chennai City Center Number of Rooms: 51
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.0

based on
23 reviews

Value for Money
6.7
Location
7.5
Staff Performance
6.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.1
Room Comfort/Standard
7.1
Food/Dining
6.8
All reviews (23)
Sort by:
Mathew G. Families with young children India, May 6, 2014
It was a good experience

it was quiet, nice beds, near to US consulate , marina beach , Santhome etc
7.7
It was good, was there for one night . good thing is that its near to the beach and other places
Shanaz M. Business travelers Malaysia, April 9, 2014
Pleasant stay made better due to friendly staff

staff, breakfast and location
8
Comfortable and pleasant experience.
Sayttu S. Couples United Kingdom, February 6, 2014
please dont book with this hotel. you will regret.

none
4
Not good sercive for clients. They only target remuneration.
Ranga S. Solo travelers United States of America, January 7, 2014
Not too uncomfortable to stay

Resourceful and courteous staff, Prompt attention to service though quality can improve, Fairly good complimentary breakfast
6
Staff were cooperative though the quality of service can be better considering their capabilities. Quality and service in the cafetaria was good.Bathrooms were not clean and maintenance problems were there - windows would not close properly allowing entry of mosquitoes, the handles were missing, bathroom hook on the door fell down and was not replaced. Stay was Ok and not uncomfortable.
Shalini R. Families with older children India, December 31, 2013
Average

Courteous staff, central location, 24 hour check in policy
5.7
Rooms were very small, bad lighting in rooms & corridors, ac was not working& they could not fix it also in the night, bathroom has no exhaust ,locks are very old & don't fall easily. Overall staff attentiveness made up for all shortcomings. Excellent friendly staff,trying to do their best in the limited resources.
Yuehcuhn K. Business travelers Taiwan, December 23, 2013
Please do not do it.you will regard for it.

Nothing.
4.7
Totally bad experience as I met.,you do the wrong thing.
Aswin K. Solo travelers India, December 8, 2013
Disappointing and unacceptable

Room, Location, Price
2
I recommended this hotel to a friend who was coming to Chennai and booked it for her because I grew up in the area and had known the hotel fondly. But my experience this time has changed everything. They tried to cheat us and get us to pay for an extra night. Friend checked in at night on day 1 and was told that check out was at 8pm the following night. The phone in the room didn't work and when she came down to check out at 8pm, she was told that the check out was actually at 6pm and that she'd overstayed and had to pay the extra night's price. This was completely unacceptable to us since they had told her on day 1 that check out was at 8pm and had made no attempt to contact us to check out. She refused to pay and asked me to come talk to them because she didn't know tamil. The guy at the counter told me the same story and when I asked to talk to the manager, he asked me to wait indefinitely. We were rushing to take a flight. Luckily, my mother knew the owner of the hotel through connections and mentioned his name to the guy at the counter. He let us go immediately without payment. It just seems like he was trying to take us for a ride knowing my friend was new to the place and we were in a hurry. Such a disgrace. I will not recommend this hotel to anyone in the future.
Vithaya S. Families with older children Thailand, June 12, 2013
the staff were very friendly and polite.

room, politeness and cleanliness
9.7
It was a great stay. they were all very healpful. The best was it was a 24 hours check out. which means i could use the room for 24 hours from the time we checked in, unlike other places where you had to leave by midday.
Siddharth S. Couples India, June 5, 2013
Stay was OK. Room service is not good.

location, access, train station nearby
5.3
Sankara R. Couples India, June 1, 2013
Super

Nice Room, Centrally located, good service
8.3
It was nice.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Shelter Hotel Chennai - Hotel ExteriorShelter Hotel Chennai - Executive RoomShelter Hotel Chennai - Executive RoomShelter Hotel Chennai - BathroomShelter Hotel Chennai - Poker BarShelter Hotel Chennai - Aahar RestaurantShelter Hotel Chennai - Conference HallShelter Hotel Chennai - Meeting RoomShelter Hotel Chennai - Banquet Shelter Hotel Chennai - GymnasiumShelter Hotel Chennai - Main BuildingShelter Hotel Chennai - BarShelter Hotel Chennai - Executive RoomShelter Hotel Chennai - ReceptionShelter Hotel Chennai - Executive RoomShelter Hotel Chennai - Hotel Exterior


AS-AGWEB-3B01