Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Shelter Hotel

No. 19-20 Venkatesa Agraharam Street, Mylapore, , Chennai City Center, Chennai, India 600004

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.0

based on 33 reviews

30 reviews in English

Value for Money
6.9
Location
7.9
Staff Performance
7.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.0
Room Comfort/Standard
6.9
Food/Dining
6.6
All reviews (33)
Sort by:
Venkatraman V. Families with young children India, April 3, 2016
Stayed right next to Kapaleeshwarar
5
Went to attend a wedding near Shelter. Excellent location. Value for money
Report this review
Vallanur K. Couples India, December 20, 2015
Casual visit

Location price courtesy
7.7
Comfortable and nice
Report this review
William D. Groups United Kingdom, November 18, 2015
Clean hotel but very disappointed with amenities

Clean room
5
Disappointing experience. the first two days we were there, our hotel room had no wifi very few English channels on tv, and the lift didn't work!! No explanation as to this other than the fact that there had been rains. Surely this is not the first time this is happened. Why was there no backup to deal with such problems? The final whole day and next morning we were there, we managed to connect to wifi with a lot of difficulty and only with the hotel staff's assistance (30 mins time taken) and there was NO hot water.
Report this review
Asver I. Solo travelers Thailand, August 8, 2015
Poor service and staff management

Air conditing and the toilets was the best
4
Worst stay n shelter hotel, if i order food or glass thy tke 45 min to send it, if i complain abt any prb in room lik refridgerator nt wrkin thy tke 2 days to repair it , poor bed spreads nd sheets, nt clean, dirt on the bed cover!! The AC and the toilet ws good, thy wr the only saviors.. Its nt a three star hotel , jus a lodge !!
Report this review
Supaletchimi K. Groups Malaysia, February 15, 2015
Experience for 3 days

Good location. Caring desk staff. Willing to take action when need to attend to problem with room.
6.3
Food in restaurant not good. Poor hygiene practices by staff in restaurant. Room dusty. Toilet clean. Staff very helpful and kind. Good location. Easy to get transportation. Near to Shridi Temple and shops.
Report this review
Ravichandran M. Couples Malaysia, October 7, 2014
Excellent location close to many notable Hindu Tem

Good vegetarian food nearby the hotel, Close to Hindu temples and Staff Responsiveness,
6.3
Aside location and staff responsiveness the hotel will do great if they take corrective actions. This incliudes no hot water in the morning, telephone connection faulty, room freshness.
Report this review
Ravichandran M. Groups Malaysia, October 7, 2014
Convenient location in Chennai city

Near to Hindu temples,Easy access to Vegetarian Food, Value for money
7
Okay..need to rectify on their hot Warner system, telephone connection and housekeeping. Responsive staff who were very helpful
Report this review
Ramesh S. Families with young children India, August 20, 2014
Awesome location

Location comfort and cleanliness
8.7
We had come for a wedding and the hotel was at an ideal location. The rooms were great and very comfortable
Report this review
Seeniar N. Solo travelers United Kingdom, August 10, 2014
good stay

cleanliness, politeness of staff,24hour service
9
Was pleasant
Report this review
Mathew G. Families with young children India, May 6, 2014
It was a good experience

it was quiet, nice beds, near to US consulate , marina beach , Santhome etc
7.7
It was good, was there for one night . good thing is that its near to the beach and other places
Report this review
1 - 10 of 30 reviews Next page
Shelter Hotel Chennai - Hotel ExteriorShelter Hotel Chennai - Pokar BarShelter Hotel Chennai - Executive RoomShelter Hotel Chennai - ReceptionShelter Hotel Chennai - Hotel ExteriorShelter Hotel Chennai - Meeting RoomShelter Hotel Chennai - Executive RoomShelter Hotel Chennai - ExteriorShelter Hotel Chennai - Pokar BarShelter Hotel Chennai - Aahar RestaurantShelter Hotel Chennai - Executive RoomShelter Hotel Chennai - Pokar BarShelter Hotel Chennai - Nearby - T Nagar Shopping AreaShelter Hotel Chennai - Nearby - Marina BeachShelter Hotel Chennai - Nearby - Parthasarathy TempleShelter Hotel Chennai - Nearby - Santhom ChurchShelter Hotel Chennai - Nearby - Vadapalani Murugan TempleShelter Hotel Chennai - Nearby - Kapaleeshwarar Temple


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A03