arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.1
Based on 80 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 80 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 6.0
  • Location 9.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.7
  • Staff Performance 8.0
  • Value for Money 8.2
  • Food/Dining 7.9

9.3 Lu S.
China
March 10, 2015
Good experience in Bhaktapur.
Location, staff and good food.
House I is location is excellent. They have 2 buildings, one is just beside the Duba Square, another one is out side the Square, taking 2-3 minutes walk. Quick wifi, good food and helpful staff.

6 Chan K.
Hong Kong
March 06, 2015
It is really a guest house
Hard to count out
It is inside the Durbar but too close that view from my window is blocked by a temple. Noisy at night and the praying people ring the bells in early morning. My room with independent bath room is on 3rd floor, no lift, bring the luggage up and down and get through the exhaust of their kitchen. Hot water is actually warm and weak. In fact the area is small and plenty of choice nearby. Some of the staffs are very passion but the in charge is not nice. Could have better choice with similar price and few minutes walking distance.

7.3 LIHUA Y.
China
December 27, 2014
Good location
Location, good food, friendly staff
Hotel locates inside of Durbar Square which requires entry ticket to enter. We booked 2 standard rooms, but got one room which bathroom locates outside of room. Room's walls are poorly sound insulated, can easily hear next room's conversation. To have a good sleep, ear plugs are recommended. Staff is friendly.

8 Woon L.
Malaysia
November 23, 2014
Lee
good location, friendly staff

8.3 Elly C.
Australia
November 10, 2014
One little tip
location in the square, proximity to local eatery adjacent coffee shop, the historical building itself
I had a front room which is directly in front of a small temple that begun being used around 1am. Hindu worshipers starting ringing bells from 1am onwards until 7-8am. Every night this took place, and I was told that local older women whom typically don't sleep much, get up and start their practice which is ringing bells around the temple. Take good quality ear protection if you're a light sleeper.

9 Jesslei S.
Philippines
November 03, 2014
Back in Time
location, value for money, staff
Shiva Guest House has the perfect location. It's actually inside the Durbar Square. The price is really affordable too considering their great location. The staff are really nice and accommodating. I asked them to arrange my travel from hotel to airport and they were able to do it with no hassle. Shiva Guest House has their own taxi service. No problem whatsoever with this guest house. I'd recommend it to friends.

5.7 Jason B.
United States
October 31, 2014
Good location, surly staff
location
The guesthouse is beautiful and located in a great spot. The food was really good. That being said they rarely had the first thing we asked for from the menu.We were not able to eat lunch at the guesthouse during our stay because the entire dining room was reserved for a tour group who was NOT staying at the guesthouse. Tt was strange that their own guests were not allowed to eat there. The staff was surly and borderline rude would be the best way to describe them. They literally do not care if you are there or not. They aren't outright rude but don't expect a warm smile or even a hello. It can feel like you're just in the way. There was however, a young man who was very friendly. He was definitely the only member of the staff who even acknowledged our existence. We left him a pretty nice tip even though the hotel charges a 10% service charge, only to watch one of the older/ruder members of the staff discreetly put the tip in his own pocket. The rooms were pretty comfortable by Nepal standards, but it is LOUD. Don't expect to get a good nights rest. The staff was very loud and some of them stayed in a room right next to ours. After the kitchen closes at night and they finish cleaning they tramp up the stairs and talk very loudly. A group of locals camped outside of the guesthouse and proceeded to get drunk and loud. The good thing is the guesthouse locks the doors at 10 and the group moved on. It's no fault of the hotel but it is located right in the main square so locals are constantly walking by and talking loudly. At night dogs in the square bark and fight. There is also a functioning Hindu temple directly outside that rings a bell for a very long time in the morning. Obviously this is a cultural/religious activity but it will affect your sleep.This guesthouse is one of the first you will see and one of the best advertised. However there are plenty of other guesthouses that are located in quieter areas, have friendlier staffs and look just as beautiful.

9.3 Budsadee S.
Thailand
October 27, 2014
location is good, in area of sighseeing spots
location, decoration, warm-welcome staffs

6 Naomi S.
United Kingdom
October 12, 2014
Very disappointed with this guest house
Location, restaurant
We had read good reviews for this place which is why we booked for one night. When we arrived we went straight to Shiva 1. The 2 guys on reception barely said two words to us - just that we were in Shiva 2 and a boy would take us over. Shiva 2 is outside the main square of Bhaktapur but still very well located. Well, it seemed to us that they had given us the worst room in the place. It was small, dingy and obviously had not been decorated for years. The bathroom was horrible. We couldn't believe it. We then discovered the fan did not work and the wifi did not reach up to this room. The room was worth nowhere near the $40 we had paid for it. As seasoned travellers we knew this. We returned to Shiva 1 and demanded a room change. The guy again was very dismissive of us but moved us to the floor below. It was better as it had obviously been redecorated and everything worked (the wifi sporadically) but still not worth. The bathroom was also much better but just as small. We were grateful that we were only staying one night as the beds were rock hard. The staff at Shiva 2 were much nicer and friendlier than the people at Shiva 1. On a positive note, the breakfast was very good and we had dinner there too.

10 Teck S.
Malaysia
September 17, 2014
The best location guest house in bhatakpur.
Best location, clean and comfort room, best view for durbar square and friendly service
Room was out of expectation supreme good. Thumbs up. We requested high floor wt front view for durbar square which were all granted. However, wifi reception in high floor was poor. It's better reception at lobby/ground floor. Power failure was on and off which was very common in nepal. The hotel is right in front of durbar square which u can just sit and relax in front the hotel and enjoy the serene atmosphere. A night stay will be just perfect. Two night will be a bit boring :)