or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Shiva Guest House

Near Bhaktapur Durbar Square, Bhaktapur, Bhaktapur, Nepal (Show on map)

Book now!

Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Guest House Exterior Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur -  Standard Room Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur -  Standard Room Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Rooftop Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur -  Exterior Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur -  Exterior Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur -  Exterior Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - View of Square Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - View Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - View Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur -  Standard Room Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur -  Restaurant Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Exterior Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Balcony Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Standard Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Hotel Interior
Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Hotel Exterior Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Surroundings Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Shiva’s Cafe corner Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Shiva’s Cafe corner Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Shiva’s Cafe corner Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Shiva’s Cafe corner Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Shiva 2 Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - sun set from Guest House Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Cycling program Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Palace area Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - view from Room Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Living god Nava Durga enjoying the tea
Area: Bhaktapur Number of Rooms: 22
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.1

based on
69 reviews

Value for Money
8.1
Location
9.5
Staff Performance
8.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.4
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
7.9
All reviews (69)
Sort by:
Nagendran K. Couples Malaysia, March 22, 2015
Best Food and Location in Durbar Square Bhaktaphur

Food, Location and Staff
8.7
The location of the hotel was ideal as it was inside of Durbar Square, right next to the Shiva Temple. The hotel cafe serves the best food in the whole of Durbar Square and the Staff are very friendly. Service is slow but that's only because the place is always full during meal time. Enjoy a glass of wine, beer or liquor while you wait for your food!
Brent F. Couples Canada, March 21, 2015
Not worth the money

Location
5.3
Chan C. Couples Hong Kong, February 23, 2015
It is really a guest house

Hard to count out
6
It is inside the Durbar but too close that view from my window is blocked by a temple. Noisy at night and the praying people ring the bells in early morning. My room with independent bath room is on 3rd floor, no lift, bring the luggage up and down and get through the exhaust of their kitchen. Hot water is actually warm and weak. In fact the area is small and plenty of choice nearby. Some of the staffs are very passion but the in charge is not nice. Could have better choice with similar price and few minutes walking distance.
Lihua Y. Groups China, December 22, 2014
Good location

Location, good food, friendly staff
7.3
Hotel locates inside of Durbar Square which requires entry ticket to enter. We booked 2 standard rooms, but got one room which bathroom locates outside of room. Room's walls are poorly sound insulated, can easily hear next room's conversation. To have a good sleep, ear plugs are recommended. Staff is friendly.
Woon P. Groups Malaysia, November 8, 2014
Lee

good location, friendly staff
8
Elly C. Solo travelers Australia, November 7, 2014
One little tip

location in the square, proximity to local eatery adjacent coffee shop, the historical building itself
8.3
I had a front room which is directly in front of a small temple that begun being used around 1am. Hindu worshipers starting ringing bells from 1am onwards until 7-8am. Every night this took place, and I was told that local older women whom typically don't sleep much, get up and start their practice which is ringing bells around the temple. Take good quality ear protection if you're a light sleeper.
Jesslei S. Solo travelers Philippines, November 1, 2014
Back in Time

location, value for money, staff
9
Shiva Guest House has the perfect location. It's actually inside the Durbar Square. The price is really affordable too considering their great location. The staff are really nice and accommodating. I asked them to arrange my travel from hotel to airport and they were able to do it with no hassle. Shiva Guest House has their own taxi service. No problem whatsoever with this guest house. I'd recommend it to friends.
Jason B. Couples United States of America, October 30, 2014
Good location, surly staff

location
5.7
The guesthouse is beautiful and located in a great spot. The food was really good. That being said they rarely had the first thing we asked for from the menu.We were not able to eat lunch at the guesthouse during our stay because the entire dining room was reserved for a tour group who was NOT staying at the guesthouse. Tt was strange that their own guests were not allowed to eat there. The staff was surly and borderline rude would be the best way to describe them. They literally do not care if you are there or not. They aren't outright rude but don't expect a warm smile or even a hello. It can feel like you're just in the way. There was however, a young man who was very friendly. He was definitely the only member of the staff who even acknowledged our existence. We left him a pretty nice tip even though the hotel charges a 10% service charge, only to watch one of the older/ruder members of the staff discreetly put the tip in his own pocket. The rooms were pretty comfortable by Nepal standards, but it is LOUD. Don't expect to get a good nights rest. The staff was very loud and some of them stayed in a room right next to ours. After the kitchen closes at night and they finish cleaning they tramp up the stairs and talk very loudly. A group of locals camped outside of the guesthouse and proceeded to get drunk and loud. The good thing is the guesthouse locks the doors at 10 and the group moved on. It's no fault of the hotel but it is located right in the main square so locals are constantly walking by and talking loudly. At night dogs in the square bark and fight. There is also a functioning Hindu temple directly outside that rings a bell for a very long time in the morning. Obviously this is a cultural/religious activity but it will affect your sleep.This guesthouse is one of the first you will see and one of the best advertised. However there are plenty of other guesthouses that are located in quieter areas, have friendlier staffs and look just as beautiful.
Budsadee S. Groups Thailand, October 23, 2014
location is good, in area of sighseeing spots

location, decoration, warm-welcome staffs
9.3
Naomi S. Couples United Kingdom, October 11, 2014
Very disappointed with this guest house

Location, restaurant
6
We had read good reviews for this place which is why we booked for one night. When we arrived we went straight to Shiva 1. The 2 guys on reception barely said two words to us - just that we were in Shiva 2 and a boy would take us over. Shiva 2 is outside the main square of Bhaktapur but still very well located. Well, it seemed to us that they had given us the worst room in the place. It was small, dingy and obviously had not been decorated for years. The bathroom was horrible. We couldn't believe it. We then discovered the fan did not work and the wifi did not reach up to this room. The room was worth nowhere near the $40 we had paid for it. As seasoned travellers we knew this. We returned to Shiva 1 and demanded a room change. The guy again was very dismissive of us but moved us to the floor below. It was better as it had obviously been redecorated and everything worked (the wifi sporadically) but still not worth. The bathroom was also much better but just as small. We were grateful that we were only staying one night as the beds were rock hard. The staff at Shiva 2 were much nicer and friendlier than the people at Shiva 1. On a positive note, the breakfast was very good and we had dinner there too.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Shiva 1Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Guest House ExteriorShiva Guest House Bhaktapur -  Standard RoomShiva Guest House Bhaktapur -  Standard RoomShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - RooftopShiva Guest House Bhaktapur -  ExteriorShiva Guest House Bhaktapur -  ExteriorShiva Guest House Bhaktapur -  ExteriorShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - View of SquareShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - ViewShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - View Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur -  Standard RoomShiva Guest House Bhaktapur -  RestaurantShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - ExteriorShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - BalconyShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Standard Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Hotel Interior Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Hotel Exterior Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Surroundings Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Shiva’s Cafe cornerShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Shiva’s Cafe cornerShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Shiva’s Cafe cornerShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Shiva’s Cafe cornerShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Shiva 2Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - sun set from Guest HouseShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Cycling programShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Palace areaShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - view from RoomShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Living god Nava Durga enjoying the teaShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Morning View of SquareShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - tallest templeShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Pottary SquareShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - BhaktapurShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - NaytapoloShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - SHiva 1Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Lion God


AS-AGWEB-3B04