Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Shiva Guest House

Durbar Square-11, Bhaktapur, Bhaktapur, Nepal 14500

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Excellent

8.1

based on 80 reviews

49 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.2
Location
9.5
Staff
8.0
Cleanliness
7.4
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
7.9
All reviews (80)
Sort by:
Chalermchai T. Groups Thailand, April 18, 2016
Good location, tasty food, friendly staff
5
i
Report this review
Camilla H. Couples United Kingdom, March 30, 2016
Wonderful Shiva Guest House

Waking up to the temple bells; great value and tasty food; friendly staff.
10
My second visit to Shiva - first in 2012 - and I had to come back. Nothing tops waking up gently to the sounds of temple bells and devotees as the day dawns and breakfast is amongst the best ever, anywhere. I love the central location in the most beautiful part of Bhaktapur and the calm, friendly cafe space. The rooms here are clean and comfy and homely with lovely views. The shared bathrooms are always kept nice and clean. The staff, from cleaners to managers, are all smiling, friendly and helpful. The kitchen is always full of delicious cooking aromas and they will even make things extra spicy if asked :-) Can't wait to come back again one day! Thanks Shiva Guesthouse from Bee and John.
Report this review
Anthony F. Solo travelers United States of America, December 7, 2015
Good location, good choice

friendly staff, location
9.7
I spent the last month at Shiva Guesthouse in Bhaktapur while doing a special project, and take pleasure to recommend it. Shiva GH is located on the eastern side of Durbar Square, so the location is unbeatable. The staff were always friendly and hospitable. I had a room with shared bath, but they have ensuite rooms too. The housekeepers did a good job. When you come to Nepal, plan a couple of days (at least) in Bhaktapur. In the early morning (6-9) and late evening (4-7) the streets are taken over by farmers and small vendors, as residents do their daily shopping. During the day they are gone. If you only see Bhaktapur by taking a bus trip from Kathmandu, you will entirely miss the magic of this city and miss on its traditions. If you are on a budget and looking for friendly, clean, and safe accommodations, Shiva GH will not disappoint.
Report this review
Leigh W. Solo travelers United Kingdom, December 2, 2015
Great location and value.

Location, staff and value.
8
I stayed here for a total of four nights. Free WiFi and good hot showers. The room I had was big and bright with an amazing view out over Durbar Square. The bed was a bit hard but that's fairly normal for Nepal. The staff were very helpful and attentive. The food, though limited in choice, because of a fuel shortage was very tasty and well prepared. I would definitely stay here again.
Report this review
Leigh W. Solo travelers United Kingdom, November 30, 2015
Great location and service.

Location, service, atmosphere.
8
I stayed here for a total of four nights. Free WiFi and good hot showers. The room I had was big and bright with an amazing view out over Durbar Square. The bed was a bit hard but that's fairly normal for Nepal. The staff were very helpful and attentive. The food, though limited in choice, because of a fuel shortage was very tasty and well prepared. I would definitely stay here again.
Report this review
Leigh W. Solo travelers United Kingdom, November 29, 2015
Great value and location.

Value, location and staff.
8
I stayed here for a total of four nights. Free WiFi and good hot showers. The room I had was big and bright with an amazing view out over Durbar Square. The bed was a bit hard but that's fairly normal for Nepal. The staff were very helpful and attentive. The food, though limited in choice, because of a fuel shortage was very tasty and well prepared. I would definitely stay here again.
Report this review
Andre L. Couples Singapore, October 16, 2015
Do not stat in this hotel
2
This hotel is located in an area designated tourist area which means every tourist must pay an entrance fee of usd 15. And when I asked for cancellation due to deliberate non disclosure of fees the hotel staff refused to cancel the booking. They are callous and u proffessional in their work making mistakes after mistake with simple job like ordering breafast so cheap that even would try to maximizer the bill. at night you can't sleep it's bells gongs cymbals drums of all sorts as the temple is in front and at 6 am the large bell gets rung. People talk loudly in the square
Report this review
Kanittha M. Groups Thailand, April 13, 2015
Good location in Bhaktapur

Location , Price And staff are great
7.3
Report this review
Nagendran K. Couples Malaysia, March 22, 2015
Best Food and Location in Durbar Square Bhaktaphur

Food, Location and Staff
8.7
The location of the hotel was ideal as it was inside of Durbar Square, right next to the Shiva Temple. The hotel cafe serves the best food in the whole of Durbar Square and the Staff are very friendly. Service is slow but that's only because the place is always full during meal time. Enjoy a glass of wine, beer or liquor while you wait for your food!
Report this review
Brent F. Couples Canada, March 21, 2015
Not worth the money

Location
5.3
Report this review
1 - 10 of 49 reviews Next page
Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Shiva 1Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Guest House ExteriorShiva Guest House Bhaktapur -  Standard RoomShiva Guest House Bhaktapur -  Standard RoomShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - RooftopShiva Guest House Bhaktapur -  ExteriorShiva Guest House Bhaktapur -  ExteriorShiva Guest House Bhaktapur -  ExteriorShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - View of SquareShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - ViewShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - View Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur -  Standard RoomShiva Guest House Bhaktapur -  RestaurantShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - ExteriorShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - BalconyShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Standard Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Hotel Interior Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Hotel Exterior Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Surroundings Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Shiva’s Cafe cornerShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Shiva’s Cafe cornerShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Shiva’s Cafe cornerShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Shiva’s Cafe cornerShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Shiva 2Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - sun set from Guest HouseShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Cycling programShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Palace areaShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - view from RoomShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Living god Nava Durga enjoying the teaShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Morning View of SquareShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - tallest templeShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Pottary SquareShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - BhaktapurShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - NaytapoloShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - SHiva 1Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Lion God


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A02