or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Shiva Guest House

Near Bhaktapur Durbar Square, Bhaktapur, Bhaktapur, Nepal (Show on map)

Book now!

Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Common Bath Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Common Bath Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Common Bath Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur -  Standard Room Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur -  Standard Room Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Standard Room Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur -  Standard Room Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur -  Standard Room Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Standard Room Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur -  Common bathroom Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur -  Restaurant cum Reception Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Rooftop Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Exterior Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur -  Exterior Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur -  Exterior Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur -  Exterior
Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - View of Square Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - View Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - View Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - View Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur -  Standard Room Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur -  Restaurant Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Exterior Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Balcony Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Standard Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Surroundings Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Standard Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Standard
Area: Bhaktapur Number of Rooms: 22
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

8.0

based on
43 reviews

Value for Money
8.3
Location
9.5
Staff Performance
7.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
7.7
All reviews (43)
Sort by:
Jue L. Groups United States of America, July 6, 2014
Great view of the Dubar Square, clean room, nice l

Great view of the Dubar Square, clean room, nice location
8
Keren G. Groups Australia, May 20, 2014
Food, staff, location & wifi access 2nd to none

Food great, staff pleasant, efficient.Shiva is in the heart of the historic area & is an exciting, vibrant setting in which to stay.Top quality wifi that never failed in the dining & downstairs areas.
10
Fantastic! I felt happy, valued and welcomed. I was made very comfortable.
Shella F. Groups Indonesia, April 28, 2014
Good Experience

Location Price Design
8.7
We chose the hotel because it is located right in Bhaktapur Durban Square. But we were placed in the other building called Shiva 2, i was expecting to get the famous durban square view from the main building. It was designed with a traditional nepalese style, that was my other reason to stay here. It was kinda creepy, i feel like staying in an old museum, but then, that's the main attraction of the hotel, and thats what i was looking for. Worth every penny.
Joseph L. Solo travelers Philippines, March 30, 2014
awesome experience living w/in the temple compound

great experience , good food, friendly staff and owner
9.3
I have so much good things to share about Shiva Guest house. its worth the highest scores . Located just within the Bhaktapur Durbar Square compound, better choose a room at the front to get an awesome view everyday. Beds and linens are soft and comfortable. and staff was downright nice and accommodating, even got in touch with them til today with facebook. got the non air room , which was a good promo deal with agoda. Bhaktapur is a laidback relaxed city, with less noise and not much cars/taxis around . Its an ancient, well preserved city, a living museum as they say, with old brick buildings, wooden carvings and stone paved roads, better spend your last few days in nepal here for that relaxing ambiance. highly recommended for the overall experience.
George B. Solo travelers United States of America, March 26, 2014
One of the high points of my travels

location, views, atmosphere
9
I first visited Bhaktapur about ten years ago on a day trip from Kathmandu. I remember seeing Shiva Guest House at that time, and marvelled at what I knew must be the views from the windows facing Durbar Square. I vowed to return, and although it has taken ten years, it was a dream fulfilled. The rooms are simple but comfortable, and the view from my top-floor window was magnificent! Local people are justly proud of their historic squares, several of which are within short walking distance. Staying right in Durbar Square provided a real aesthetic and cultural experience that allowed me to get an idea of how local people observe their daily lives and traditions. The reception and other guest house staff were very friendly and helpful, and the restaurant offered excellent Nepali and Western meals. I would not hesitate to stay here again, and I hope I will be able to return soon.
Sarah S. Solo travelers Canada, March 23, 2014
centrally located hotel

location, breakfast, surrounding tourist attractions
9
My stay was good ... only one night. The guest house is right next to the palace and very close to many other cultural attractions. Breakfast was quite good. The wifi was unreliable, but that's typical of many places in Nepal. Overall, I had a pleasant stay.
Rhine B. Solo travelers Philippines, March 14, 2014
I just stayed for 1 night but it was nice

friendly staff, breakfast, location
8.7
It was nice - friendly and attentive staff, the room was a bit old but tidy, shared bathroom can use a bit more cleaning and maybe it would be nicer if the hot shower lasts longer. Over-all its fine for the price in the area. Most tourists would love the location, but its Bhaktapur, theres not much of walking to be done and you cant really be that far from points of interest.
Anneliese C. Couples United States of America, March 11, 2014
Pleasant, Good home base for exploring

As centrally located as you can get, comfortable, wifi
6.3
This hotel was average - you get what you pay for. Decently comfortable and clean-ish. Location is awesome and they provide an airport shuttle.
Toshiko I. Solo travelers Japan, January 29, 2014
A Home Away from Home

This is a family run guesthouse, so everything is provided in a personal way, with very special care and attention.
9.3
This has to be one of the best accommodations I've experienced in 30 years of international travel. The staff was very personable and treated me like their own family. Without their help and guidance, I would not have had the opportunity to photograph the many non-tourist route events that took place during my 5-week stay in Nepal. I came to the Shiva guesthouse as a guest, I'm leaving as a friend! Thank you Sareesh and your family! Michael Stetson
Peik W. Couples Malaysia, November 24, 2013
Great location at the heart of Durbar Square

The location was great and convenient as it was located at the Durbar square. Dining was good with wide selection on the menu. The room was also comfortable.
8
It was very convenient to walk around the sightseeing areas. Meals were good and value for money. However, as the restaurant was on the ground floor and enclosed, the smell got quite strong to the rooms at the top. Wifi was only available at the restaurant but weren't available on the first day we stayed there. We stayed on the 3rd floor with attached bathroom but there weren't any hot shower on one of the days were we there.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Guest House ExteriorShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Common BathShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Common BathShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Common BathShiva Guest House Bhaktapur -  Standard RoomShiva Guest House Bhaktapur -  Standard RoomShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Standard RoomShiva Guest House Bhaktapur -  Standard RoomShiva Guest House Bhaktapur -  Standard RoomShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Standard RoomShiva Guest House Bhaktapur -  Common bathroomShiva Guest House Bhaktapur -  Restaurant cum ReceptionShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - RooftopShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - ExteriorShiva Guest House Bhaktapur -  ExteriorShiva Guest House Bhaktapur -  ExteriorShiva Guest House Bhaktapur -  ExteriorShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - View of SquareShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - ViewShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - View Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - View Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur -  Standard RoomShiva Guest House Bhaktapur -  RestaurantShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - ExteriorShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - BalconyShiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Standard Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Surroundings Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Standard Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Standard Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Hotel Interior Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Standard Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Hotel Exterior Shiva Guest House Bhaktapur - Surroundings


AS-AGWEB-3C03