arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Good 6.8
Based on 2500 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 2500 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.6
  • Location 7.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 6.9
  • Staff Performance 6.8
  • Value for Money 7.1
  • Food/Dining 6.1

Robert S.
Australia
August 21, 2013
Conditions ok but felt claustrophobic.
Close to airport, great shuttle service and staff efficiency.
Started wonderfully with airport pickup after delayed flight (there was phone contact because of previous visits). Room was average but only 'window' was looking at a dark fire escape. I felt 'trapped' in this situation. Of course this is a low cost hotel and I have no big complaint. The problem for a traveller is how many things you need to work out in advance. For example, 'a quiet room but with a window looking at something please?' But really little complaint because I am sure that Shogun staff would have transferred us to another room if we were staying longer.

Robert S.
Australia
August 21, 2013
Basic room and breakfast.
Location, excellent airport shuttles especially preparedness to wait at airport for late incoming flights, general staff efficiency.
Pleasant enough. Could not complain about helpful staff. Basic room and amenities as you would expect at the reasonable price. Breakfast could be hugely improved at little cost for westerners such as myself. Firstly install some automatic pop-up toasters to provide some properly cooked and non-burnt toast and in a safe way. It was a comedy to watch so many people try to work the old fashioned toasters without any idea of what they were doing (for goodness sake they just want breakfast without complication). Few succeeded in getting nicely cooked toast. Secondly provide a little jam to go with properly cooked toast!! It's not so expensive when bought in bulk as a hotel is able to do.

jitrapa K.
Thailand
August 18, 2013
close to center but not safe around at night
low price , clean , close to center
just okay , compared to the price .but questionable about safety in and around hotel.

Dale M.
United States
August 18, 2013
Not as advertised!
The breakfast was good and staff were friendly nothing else.
The stay was for one night and I am glad that I did not book additional nights. The room was nothing like the photographs and was very old and did not feel clean. I would not recommend this hotel.

Adeana K.
United Kingdom
August 16, 2013
for short over stay over night excellent
close to airport, shops nearby, attentive staff
All good. Suited the purpose for us , just short stay 1 night was great.

eugenia T.
United States
August 14, 2013
need a variety of foods in breakfast buffet
friendly hotel staff,easy access to public transportation,free shuttle service .
not bad,except the aircon filter was dirty,leaking fridge,and some bugs crawling on the floor.The swimming pool is excellent for my grandson to keep him busy.Dave was always helpul to assist for my transportation needs

Richard M.
United Kingdom
August 14, 2013
Comfortable stay friendly staff great value
breakfast, wifi, pool
We had an enjoyable stay. Friendly Staff. Ideal location for airport. Wehave stayed her a few times now and will always return while staying in Manila.

Lorenzo A.
Philippines
August 12, 2013
Satisfactory
Proximity to Train Stations, Attached to a SHopping Mall, Very Good Buffet Breakfast
Everything was alright and no hitches were experienced during the stay. We chose this hotel for its proximity to the train stations. Breakfast was very good having the dishes that we expected to be served. Room was cleaned everyday and undisturbed upon request. The only drawback was that we were not allowed to pay for an extra person/extra mattress despite the fact that the room has enough floor space. We even decided not to have an extra bed anymore and simply wanted to pay the extra person charge so we can allow our sibling to stay for the night; But it was also declined for unknown reasons with the staff saying it is "the rule(?)". We do not understand how a hotel could decline an extra person request despite the fact that we are keen on paying! All other hotels are quick to charge an extra person charge whether an extra bed is installed or not. Shogun's Management must be flexible and sensitive to the needs of the guests for mutual benefit. Saying that something is not allowed under normal circumstances becomes downright absurd.

Eric T.
United States
August 12, 2013
Great
great friendly and nice
It was great friendly staff! fast check in and good service surley recommend to my friends! and will stay again! :)

Veli-Matti M.
Australia
August 12, 2013
Comfortable stay that satisfied my needs.
Location, cleanliness and convenience
I have no complaints. I did tick all the boxes i had for my short stay in Manila and I got all I wanted. A convenient location, clean, quiet room and friendly staff. I would stay again if I was on transit.