arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Good 6.8
Based on 2497 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 2497 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.6
  • Location 7.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 6.9
  • Service 6.8
  • Value for Money 7.1
  • Food/Dining 6.1

Randall O.
United States
November 18, 2015
Hotel did not pick at airport, need 3 days notice
Had to find my own ride even though I paid for the all inclusive package on Agoda. Needed 3 days advanced notice of flight arrival to get picked up, BS. Then hotel would not use the ride that was unused for return back to the airport. The dinner that was plated was just average at best. The breakfast was just a choice of omelette and I chose bacon and did not see or taste any bacon. Was just eggs! So disappointed. The hotel was not easy to find in the mess of LRT and MRT stations Taft and EDSA. More like 2 star or 1. Will not stay there again. Better to stay in Malate or Ermita. Was over $50 for the all inclusive that was overpriced. Found HM shuttle for 20 pesos from NAIA terminal 3 to EDSA/Taft rotunda and baclaran. Taxi back was 250 pesos, that was cheaper than shogun hotels transportation of 350 pesos for private car. Small room 18 sq meters. Not a suite at all! Don't stay here, many other options. Look for real 3 star hotel, this is not it at all.

Peter M.
Australia
November 15, 2015
Shogun Dissapointment
The room was tiny and smelt moldy. The air conditioner was old and noisy. The shower did not work properly. The the hot food at breakfast was cold and was Asian cuisine. We had a difficult time being understood by the reception staff. The booked pick-up at Manila airport did not show.

Roy G.
United States
November 14, 2015
Regular guest
Nice location, good price, near airport
Good. Near airport, near malls, free wifi and breakfast.

Roy G.
United States
November 14, 2015
Regular hotel guest
Price, location, free wifi and breakfast
Good price, nice rooftop pool, free wifi and breakfast. Nice location near malls, local ground transportation. Airport transpotation available. I have been coming here for years.

Roy G.
United States
November 14, 2015
Great location, good price
Great location, great price, free wifi
Close to mall of asia, close to glorietta mall, close to makati. Free wifi and breakfast. Nice swimming pool rooftop. Food is great.

Randall U.
United States
November 10, 2015
Very acomadating!
Clean, stall, close to airport
No complaints!

Alma B.
Philippines
November 05, 2015
Quick stay
near airport, airport pick-up, driver & staff were great
Very Short. We arrived around 1AM and check-out around 9am. Their driver who picked up us from airport was great as well as their reception ladies. Room is good rather small but clean.

Randall U.
United States
November 05, 2015
Nice hotel
Cleanliness, easy access to airport, nice decor
It was pleasant

GERALD C.
Canada
November 04, 2015
Perfect for a quick stay near the airport
Location, Room Service and Staff
My stay at the Shogun was excellent. It was the second time I stayed and it's always convenient if you have a flight the next day. When I went from the hotel to the airport at around 1 PM on a Sunday, it happened to be very light traffic in Manila at that time (an extreme rarity) and I was at Ninoy in less than 15 minutes. You can get a shuttle ride to the airport through the concierge for 350 PHP. In theory the cab ride should only be about 200-250 pesos but most of the cabbies out on the street will grill you hard for a ride at an inflated fixed-rate in the 500 - 700 PHP range, so I decided to forego the haggling with them and I'm really glad I did. I used the room service a few times during my brief stay and I thought the food was surprisingly decent quality and reasonably priced. I'm not a huge fan of most Filipino food but the menu is extensive so it was easy to find something good. The staff were very kind and helpful and did not make a fuss when I had a few extra requests. The hotel is pretty clean, not exactly spotless but it certainly did not feel dirty in any real way. I don't have any legitimate complaints per se but when I stayed at the Shogun the first time (about 4 years ago) I think I booked a standard room and it was super-funky and hilarious, done up in a kitchsy pseudo-Japanese style. By contrast, I paid a few extra dollars for an upgrade this time around and was given a room that was somewhat low key on the hilarity front. Still a little goofy and fun with big seahorses on the wall and some shells glued to the wall, but not nearly as silly (in a good way I mean) as the room I had had previously. But this didn't matter much to me - for about $60 CAD/$50 USD for one night, I would not ask for much more!

Pacita K.
Australia
October 31, 2015
Great staff
great staff, location
Good value. only problem shower slow.