or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Sigiriya Rest House

Rest House, Sigiriya Rock Front, Sigiriya, Sri Lanka 21120 (Show on map)

Book now!

Sigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - Guest Room Sigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - Surroundings Sigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - Balcony/Terrace Sigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - Interior Sigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - Exterior View Sigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - Exterior View Sigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - Exterior View Sigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - Exterior of the Rooms Sigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - Standard Room Sigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - Sitting Area Sigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - Sitting Area Sigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - Sitting Area Sigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - Sitting Area Sigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - Sitting Area Sigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - Sitting Area Sigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - Corridor
Sigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - Dining Area Sigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - Bar Sigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - Garden Sigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - View of the Sigiriya Rock Sigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - Kandalama Lake Sigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - Kandalama Lake Sigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - Golden Temple Dambulla Sigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - Golden Temple Dambulla
Area: Sigiriya Rock Front Number of Rooms: 12

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Above average

5.9

based on
18 reviews

Value for Money
5.4
Location
9.3
Staff Performance
4.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
4.3
Room Comfort/Standard
5.8
Food/Dining
5.4
All reviews (18)
Sort by:
Chatt P. Groups Thailand, June 8, 2014
A good location but not worth to pay.

good location, old style building.
5.7
The only thing nice about this hotel is its location, which right in front of Sigiriya Rock. Other than that is nothing worth to stay. The room is very poor maintain, the bath room is old, bedding is old. Food is bad. And the rate is expensive, not worth.
Dyna N. Couples Singapore, December 26, 2013
only for the location.

great rice and curry lunch. very near sigiriya rock. gave me hot water for my cup noodle.
6.3
it is alright considering it is walking distance to the rock.
Michael B. Couples United Kingdom, February 14, 2013
Great location but very very bad hotel

location, closest hotel to sigiriya rock
3.3
Filthy room. Interesting and varied collection of living and dead wildlife on display in the room. Room not serviced during two day stay. Broken furniture. Cracked and chipped mirrors and windows. Unbelievably rude and/or lazy staff. Disgusting food if you eat here in the evening. Basically this place deals with lunch stops for coachloads of day trippers and they have no idea about running a hotel.
Hotel Feature Tip: Avoid at all costs.
Kithsiri M. Families with older children Sri Lanka, December 6, 2012
Amazing view of Sigiriya Rock

Very close to Sigiriya Rock
8.3
The room was clean, and the beds were comfortable (maybe a little hard). The tv had only local channels. The bathroom had the essential requisites such as soap and shampoo, but needed upgrading (and the addition of hooks to hang clothes on). The food was good, depending on what you ate (the hot Chinese rolls are recommended, but the cheese sandwiches are not). The table linen had seen better days. However, the waiter who served us was very cheerful and helpful.
Napat P. Couples Thailand, April 13, 2012
Great location, okay hotel

Very close to Sigiriya Rock
6.3
I really think this can be a great hotel if it goes through some upgrading. The building is nice. The room is spacious and has nice details in the window. The ceiling is beautiful wood. But the room is dark, and the bathroom needs a redo. Breakfast was standard. The best thing about this hotel is its location. We went up on the Sigiriya Rock in late afternoon, and walked a short distance back to the hotel.
Sandeep S. Groups India, March 24, 2012
Good Location Bad Service

Location
5
The hotel is just 10 Mins Walk from the Sigiriya Rock. You can see the rock just from the Hotel Enterance. Even for the price what I paid from Agoda I should not complain but there is a frequent Power failure in this area and there is no back up. Washrooms are old and A/C are non cooling. Food is bad. Though the staff tries to keep you happy with their smiles but inside I never felt happy. Hotel looks good from outside though.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: There is another Temple behind Sigiriya for which you have to climb up another rock too. If you are very fond of climbing you can go up otherwise you can skip that one. Nothing so special
Michael M. Solo travelers Canada, February 20, 2012
Great location but very tired and dated buildings

The view of Sigiriya mountain was the greatest - you could see it from the commons area at throughout the day.
6.3
location was great - within walking distance to the ancient city base (but watch out for any errant croc's!). service for food and drinks was good and they wanted to please the customer in this regard. my room was not good - very dated and tired. air con did not work; facilities are more akin to a mexican 1.5 star. if you are at all squeamish about your bathroom, you will not be pleased. a small building away from the main structure and closest to the roadway
Hotel Feature Tip: Many guest homes and other opportunities to overnight in the area, but if you are dependent upon your driver to help you may find little to like. Other locations further away from the mount provide a quicker access to other ancient sites to the north, but the distances are not significant. Internet cafe in small shops within 50 feet of the building, but not internet access at all at the Rest House.
Norma B. Couples United Kingdom, February 13, 2012
Poor value

Location
5.3
This hotel was well situated for a visit to Lion Rock but it was overpriced and poor value for money. The room was basic with a TV that barely worked and it was not very clean. No room cleaning was done during our two night stay and towels were not changed. The room had no mosquito net and there were Mosquitos in the bathroom. I would not recommend this hotel as I think it was very overpriced for the facilities compared to most other hotels we have stayed in Sri Lanka. Unfortunately we had been obliged to pay in advance booking through Agodoa.com which meant that we were unable to cancel the room when we saw the condition of it, which we would have done otherwise.
Restaurant Tip: Superb rice and curry served at a little cafe/shop in the middle of the row of shops opposite the hotel. It was cheap and delicious, and much better than the food presented at the hotel itself.
John M. Couples United Kingdom, January 31, 2012
Good location but a bit scruffy

convenient for sigiriya rock. pleasant countryside around
6
in need of updating without loosing its character (e.g. the veranda) rooms a bit scruffy breakfast only adequate.
Ka L. Couples Hong Kong, January 23, 2012
Great Location, just minutes walk to the rock

good for sightseeing
6.7
The hotel is quite old and charges too much for the service na dquality provided. Howver, the location is excellent

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Sigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - Exterior ViewSigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - Guest RoomSigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - SurroundingsSigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - Balcony/TerraceSigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - InteriorSigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - Exterior ViewSigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - Exterior ViewSigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - Exterior ViewSigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - Exterior of the RoomsSigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - Standard RoomSigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - Sitting AreaSigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - Sitting AreaSigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - Sitting AreaSigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - Sitting AreaSigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - Sitting AreaSigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - Sitting AreaSigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - CorridorSigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - Dining AreaSigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - BarSigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - GardenSigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - View of the Sigiriya RockSigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - Kandalama LakeSigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - Kandalama LakeSigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - Golden Temple DambullaSigiriya Rest House Sigiriya - Golden Temple Dambulla


AS-AGWEB-3A05