Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Sigiriya Village

P.O Box 1, Sigiriya Rock Front, Sigiriya, Sri Lanka

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Excellent

8.2

based on
287 reviews

156 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.7
Location
9.0
Staff Performance
8.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.2
Room Comfort/Standard
8.1
Food/Dining
7.9
All reviews (287)
Sort by:
Ruth U. Solo travelers United Kingdom, January 12, 2016
The name says it all

Cleanliness, the Ayurvedic spa
6.7
This is a perfectly good place to stay, but just so other potential guests are aware what they are getting into when booking - this is very definitely a holiday complex, which you are expected to stay within the confines of after 7pm, spending your money on their slightly over-priced dinner buffet and in their slightly over-priced bar. A sheltered environment to say the least, which some people may really appreciate - but I personally found it very restrictive. To illustrate - one evening I tried to take a walk down the road to a local restaurant I'd spotted earlier in the day, and the security guard actively prevented me from leaving. In fairness, it was for my own safety (there are rumours of wild elephants in the area, though I don't think all local guesthouses, ones without slightly over-priced restaurants for example, would get away with such a curfew) but I did find it very frustrating. I do appreciate however that it was my mistake booking this type of hotel in the first place.
Report this review
Gerry B. Couples United Kingdom, January 12, 2016
Back to nature

Location, grounds, staff
8.3
Nice rooms set in extensive grounds. A good place to get close to nature , we saw monitors, mongoose, monkeys and lots of birds all in the hotel grounds. Has a very nice pool and the breakfast and evening buffets are good value. TV only had 3 channels working but otherwise the room and facilities were comfortable. Excellent location to visit Sigiriya Rock. Staff were friendly and helpful.
Report this review
Bishanthi K. Families with older children Australia, January 9, 2016
We enjoyed our stay at the hotel for one night.

The aruverdic treatment packages, room environment and cleanliness
9.3
Very comfortable and really appreciate the staff's extra efforts to celebrate my anniversay decorating the room and for the cake. Special thanks to Dinesha for organising it
Report this review
Amy C. Families with young children Australia, December 24, 2015
Tranquil getaway

Location, hotel grounds, pool
9.3
Sigiriya Village is in a great location with easy access to the main tourist site (sigiriya rock). The hotel grounds are amazing,quiet and tranquil location, like a little village surrounded by wildlife. The room is a fairly basic villa, but big and clean. Ours had a little pond containing turtles and plenty of fish and monkeys swinging in the trees above our head. We ate all meals at the hotel restaurant. The buffet consisted of a range of food types and was good. The service was also pleasant and efficient. Overall I would recommend this place, and go back.
Report this review
Gary V. Groups United States of America, September 23, 2015
Lovely, restful resort

Beauty of surroundings, spacious rooms, well-trained staff
8.7
We had a great time at this lovely place. The buffet meals are delicious. The only trouble that we had (ants all over our bed) was quickly solved by moving rooms. The staff responded immediately. What a beautiful, quiet refuge.
Report this review
Wah S. Couples Hong Kong, September 9, 2015
Nice resort

Comfort guest room
9
Good but the swimming pool is too small
Report this review
Matt T. Couples Australia, August 16, 2015
Good restaurant

Breakfast, dinner and general restaurant area.
7.3
Food was good, but no wifi in rooms. Would stay here again however.
Report this review
John W. Couples Australia, July 14, 2015
nice location

location, quite, cleanliness
7
this is a very peaceful hotel during the day and you can have the pool to yourself. afterwards 5pm things change. This hotel is used by big tour groups from China etc etc , so the buffet dinner and breakfast were not a great experience.
Report this review
Ameen D. Couples Sri Lanka, March 12, 2015
One nighter

Service Food , location
10
Report this review
Menchie M. Couples Philippines, February 27, 2015
Quit Location

Close to Sigiriya Rock
8
Quit and Relaxing
Report this review
1 - 10 of 156 reviews Next page
Sigiriya Village SigiriyaSigiriya Village Sigiriya - Exterior of roomsSigiriya Village Sigiriya - BathroomSigiriya Village Sigiriya - Exterior ViewSigiriya Village Sigiriya - View of the Sigiriya RockSigiriya Village Sigiriya - ViewSigiriya Village Sigiriya - ExteriorSigiriya Village Sigiriya - InteriorSigiriya Village Sigiriya - InteriorSigiriya Village Sigiriya - CasinoSigiriya Village Sigiriya - InteriorSigiriya Village Sigiriya - InteriorSigiriya Village Sigiriya - Garden


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C08