Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Silver Fern Lodge

118 Tamamutu Street 118 Tamamutu Street, Taupo Central, Taupo, New Zealand

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Excellent

8.2

based on 72 reviews

67 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.6
Location
8.4
Staff Performance
8.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.6
Room Comfort/Standard
8.4
Food/Dining
6.9
All reviews (72)
Sort by:
Louise C. Solo travelers New Zealand, November 29, 2015
Cycle stay at Silver Fern

Very friendly staff, clean and roomy Dining area for the Dormitories, storage for bikes for those who can't keep them in the room.
8
Great! Very close to Taupo central. Wonderful friendly staff, clean, big dining area for Dorms, towels supplied was a plus. Though bit concerned about having unisex dorms.
Report this review
Tan B. Couples Singapore, November 13, 2015
Good for bagpackers

Big kitchen and lounge.10 min walk to the shopping area.
6
We need to purchase wifi card as it did not provide and it can only be used in the lobby area. Rooms cannot be access. But the reception guy told us it can be used. Furniture a bit old.
Report this review
Phil M. Couples New Zealand, January 4, 2015
Nice place

Clean, tidy, as per photos
8
Great
Report this review
Jill J. Couples New Zealand, December 30, 2014
Great Place to stay in Taupo

Location, Staff, facilities
9
I will recommend this place to family and friends
Report this review
Rithy H. Solo travelers Cambodia, November 12, 2014
A nice hostel

Value for money, clean, friendly owner
7.7
It was a pleasant stay though there was not many people staying as it was weekdays and not holiday season.
Report this review
Chan M. Solo travelers Hong Kong, September 30, 2014
No private bathroom

Clean, great location
6.7
When I book in agoda, it stated there is private bathroom. However, actually that's a public bathroom / toilet outside our rooms, very much disspointing and not to what we expected. As we don't have mobile phone there, it was to my suprise the host wasn't very willing to lend us the phone, which made our journey very inconvenient as we have to confirm some local your booking upon arrival. I was quite worry about the noise generated from the function room just next to my room. But it really did close at 10:00pm sharp as stated.
Report this review
Stephen R. Couples New Zealand, September 28, 2014
Time out

Close to town, clean and friendly staff
8.7
We had an enjoyable time. The room was spacious and comfortable, easy walking distance to town and staff were friendly
Report this review
Robyn G. Families with older children New Zealand, May 4, 2014
Exc

good price, cage for the bike, close to the track
10
Report this review
Kim L. Couples Singapore, March 12, 2014
clean kitchen

clean n big
8
Big and clean shared kitchen. Free parking. Staff clean the kitchen daily. She checked every plates and utensils to MaKe sure they are clean n she will wash them all over again. Friendly staff. Abit far from lake though, but its fine if drive. No free wifi.
Report this review
Sarah L. Groups New Zealand, December 8, 2013
Would be back again.

Price, location, friendly staff
8.3
It was great. A very busy weekend with lots of groups staying but we weren't disturbed.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 67 reviews Next page
Silver Fern Lodge TaupoSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - BathroomSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - BathroomSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - Guest RoomSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - Guest RoomSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - Guest RoomSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - Guest RoomSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - Guest RoomSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - Guest RoomSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - Guest RoomSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - ExteriorSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - InteriorSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - InteriorSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - InteriorSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - InteriorSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - InteriorSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - InteriorSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - ExteriorSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - ExteriorSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - ExteriorSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - ExteriorSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - ExteriorSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - ReceptionSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - King BedSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - ReceptionSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - King BedSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - Dining AreaSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - Living AreaSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - LoungeSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - InteriorSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - SurroundingsSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - ExteriorSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - ExteriorSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - Guest RoomSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - Guest RoomSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - InteriorSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - BathroomSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - BeachSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - Guest RoomSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - Guest RoomSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - Guest RoomSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - Guest RoomSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - Guest RoomSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - Guest RoomSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - Guest RoomSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - Recreational FacilitiesSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - ExteriorSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - Guest RoomSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - Guest RoomSilver Fern Lodge Taupo - Interior


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A07