Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.6
Based on 593 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 593 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.6
  • Service 8.6
  • Value for money 8.1
  • Food/Dining 8.0

Wendy S. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Lovely birthday getaway
staff, cleanliness, proximity
We had lovely time at the Skycity Grand Hotel and I was really glad to have chosen it for our short time in Auckland (2 nights). We travelled from Australia for a wedding up north and were checking out Auckland as a bit of a stopover. As it was my boyfriend's birthday, I wanted to stay somewhere nice - and was pleasantly surprised when they delivered a couple of drinks to our room during the day (for us to receive when we returned, complimentary!). Such a nice and unexpected gesture - I think it really topped off our stay there. Staff were very friendly! We had the Premium Luxury Harbour View King Room - which was fairly standard size, nice linen, bath (big enough for one) and lovely views of the harbour. The position in town is great - as it was only a short walk to the marina (where all the restaurants are) - which is where we spent a lot of our time. I would recommend it to others visiting Auckland.
Reviewed January 13, 2016

Phillip A. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in January 2016
Great rooms
The room, size and finishings
Great stay. Large room with a super comfy bed. Would definitely stay here again.
Reviewed January 06, 2016

pramod S. from India
Families with older children
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
Ok hotel
Location is ok . Casino is in hotel . Most things within walking distance
Stay was ok . Breakfast needs to be better . Suites are also ok. Extra bed was shaking
Reviewed January 06, 2016

CELESTE L. from Philippines
Couples
Stayed one night in January 2016
Great location, value for money
location, comfort, great service
Stayed overnight at a harbour view luxury room. Room 2002. Was pleasantly surprised to find the Sky Tower directly outside our window. Our stay, unfortunately, was marred by nonstop rain, so most of the time, the harbour was not in clear sight and the tower was enveloped in fog. The room had complete amenities and housekeeping was fast in supplying me with my requests for extra toiletries. The front desk agent was very accommodating in pre-registering me, even at 730am, so I wasted no time when I just had to pickup my room key at 2pm. The hotel was just across Sky City and Sky Tower and highly accessible to most of the sights in Auckland CBD. Concierge kept my luggage while I was on tour of the city, and Hobbiton and Waitomo the ff day. They even helped me book a discount cab back to my airport hotel. Will definitely recommend this hotel to my friends!
Reviewed January 05, 2016

YANGCHEOW L. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in December 2015
Comments
Location
Good
Reviewed January 03, 2016

Vincent L. from United States
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Christmas stay with SkyCity Tower Views
Ideal location, Very comfy rooms, Free WIFI
We really enjoyed our stay at the Skycity Grand hotel. The parking access was slightly confusing but we appreciated the change in ambiance as we moved from Skycity over to Skycity Grand. The location was perfect for walking. We paid $20 for parking over 2 nights, so not too bad considering the location. This is a higher end property but you do pay for it.
Reviewed January 03, 2016

Man Y. from Hong Kong
Families with older children
Stayed 4 nights in December 2015
Recommend good hotel
Location, Sightseeing, Good outside view
Very good location of city centre, easy good to shopping & eating area. Clean & tidy room and hotel staff very friendly.
Reviewed December 30, 2015

Renel E. from Philippines
Couples
Stayed one night in December 2015
Over rated
wifi and wifi and wifi
Perhaps I've been to many hotels now,and my standard for 5-star is a bit high.But seriously,would you agree if they are a 5-star hotel,there's no complimentary water and more so,drinking tap water--thru the bathroom?! There are no toothbrush, razors, comb... basic..necessities. I can only commend the wifi of the hotel,there's no data nor device limit. In house food is a bit pricey,and they have delivery charge; imagine that. I feel they need to improve more if they claim to be luxurious and a 5-star hotel.
Reviewed December 28, 2015

Wendy O. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in December 2015
Best location on Auckland
Location, comfort, convenience
Well appointed hotel. Had everything, including capsule coffee in your room.
Reviewed December 25, 2015

Tung H. from Vietnam
Business travelers
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Excellent for everything
Great Location, reasonable price, many restaurants nearby
This hotel has its own great location, very near shopping mall, takes a walk down to ferry and beach about 10mns. There are many famous and MUST try restaurants just down in floor such as Depot and Musu. Highly recommend hotel if you have holiday or business stay in Auckland.
Reviewed December 23, 2015