Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Skycity Grand Hotel

90 Federal Street, Auckland City Center, Auckland, New Zealand

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Excellent

8.6

based on 64 reviews

489 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.0
Location
9.3
Staff Performance
8.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.1
Room Comfort/Standard
8.6
Food/Dining
8.1
Solo travelers (64)
Sort by:
April L. Solo travelers New Zealand, March 31, 2016
Okay
4.3
Found the staff at the counter very flippant asked a question about the lifts treated very flippantly Voucher said a room that overlooked the harbour the room I got looked straight. Into the plaza hotel
Chua S. Solo travelers Singapore, March 13, 2016
Spacious room in Prime location
6
Conveniently located in Auckland city, nearby Queens Street. Bus stop just outside the hotel, which offers easy access to other areas in Auckland. Many restaurants and cafes in the vicinity. Good and helpful concerige. Front desk personnel helpful too. Only issue is the renovation noise that affects good sleep in the early morning.
Tyler W. Solo travelers Canada, September 6, 2015
This is a great place to stay

Luxury King Room, Location, Cleanliness
9.7
In my opinion there are no negatives regarding this hotel. The luxury king room was exactly as described on Agoda - big, clean and new. It was spotless and very well equipped. The wifi was fast and I never experienced a drop out. The hotel is located a short walk (10 min if you're slower) to the waterfront and within range of a number of different bars, pubs, restaurants and shopping. The gym is smaller but everything is new - 2 treadmills, 2 ellipticals, lighter dumbbells, balls and mats. There is a deck on level 7 for the smokers. The room service is 24 hours. The staff was professional and polite. I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family. I read some complaints about the street noise - I was on the 18th floor - it wasn't an issue for me.
Mahima A. Solo travelers Canada, August 18, 2015
my stay was awesome!

hotel rooms, location and staff
10
Sandy C. Solo travelers New Zealand, August 16, 2015
Comfortable and Convenient

Service, Location and free macarons
9.3
I was very impressed by the helpfulness and service of the staff at Sky City Grand from the valet who we met first to the concierge when we left. Free macarons at reception are also lovely. The atmosphere in the lobby was lively due to the visitors for the Bledisloe Cup and the best bar in Auckland is right across the road, Bellota! Great location and the staff were nice enough to look after our bags after check out time. Only one complaint, the carpet was damp next to my bed but otherwise, a grand experience.
Craig W. Solo travelers Australia, August 7, 2015
overnight stay

late check in, bed, location
9.7
great. would stay again
Andrew R. Solo travelers New Zealand, July 30, 2015
Living off the past

The helpful concierge staff, always going that step further.
6.3
I was less impressed with the front desk staff who appeared disorganised and not careful when checking the bill or offering assistance. The Spa was too expensive for what was offered and the staff appeared slightly out of their respective depth. Little information was available in the rooms as to what to do and see in and around the vicinity of the hotel apart from the casino.
Elizabeth P. Solo travelers Australia, July 19, 2015
Good Location

Room size, comfortable bed
8
There was a make-up stain on my bed but they changed the sheets straight away but it meant I had to wait until I could take a sleep, not so convenient after traveling for two days. Could have better lighting in the bathroom. Overall a good hotel.
Logan B. Solo travelers New Zealand, July 14, 2015
SkyCity Grand - July 2015 Stay

Location, Reputation, and Lobby
5
The experience I had was pretty poor; the hotel is rated at 5 stars, but I felt like I had more of a 3 star experience. When I arrived the concierge did not help at all with bags - I had to unload from the taxi all my luggage myself, and ask reception for someone to assist with a trolley. From there it was about the same - nobody answered the phones when I called reception, and there was no organisation for the team down in the dining room. Not something I'm eager to repeat - will be staying elsewhere next time... feel like SkyCity runs its operation based on the promise of: location , lobby, and reputation. The actual product is sub-par.
Logan B. Solo travelers New Zealand, July 13, 2015
SkyCity Grand - July 2015 Stay

Location, Lobby and Reputation
5.3
The experience I had was pretty poor; the hotel is rated at 5 stars, but I felt like I had more of a 3 star experience. When I arrived the concierge did not help at all with bags - I had to unload from the taxi all my luggage myself, and ask reception for someone to assist with a trolley. From there it was about the same - nobody answered the phones when I called reception, and there was no organisation for the team down in the dining room. Not something I'm eager to repeat - will be staying elsewhere next time... feel like SkyCity runs its operation based on the promise of: location , lobby, and reputation. The actual product is sub-par.
1 - 10 of 579 reviews Next page
Skycity Grand Hotel AucklandSkycity Grand Hotel Auckland - Grand PoolSkycity Grand Hotel Auckland - Grand GymSkycity Grand Hotel Auckland - East Day SpaSkycity Grand Hotel Auckland - Superior SuiteSkycity Grand Hotel Auckland - Grand Presidential SuiteSkycity Grand Hotel Auckland - Grand Presidential SuiteSkycity Grand Hotel Auckland - Grand Presidential SuiteSkycity Grand Hotel Auckland - Superior SuiteSkycity Grand Hotel Auckland - Grand Presidential SuiteSkycity Grand Hotel Auckland - Grand Presidential SuiteSkycity Grand Hotel Auckland - Superior Suite BathroomSkycity Grand Hotel Auckland - The GrillSkycity Grand Hotel Auckland - One of many RestaurantsSkycity Grand Hotel Auckland - Lobby LoungeSkycity Grand Hotel Auckland - Guest RoomSkycity Grand Hotel Auckland - Guest RoomSkycity Grand Hotel Auckland - BathroomSkycity Grand Hotel Auckland - BathroomSkycity Grand Hotel Auckland - BathroomSkycity Grand Hotel Auckland - Guest RoomSkycity Grand Hotel Auckland - Guest RoomSkycity Grand Hotel Auckland - Sky TowerSkycity Grand Hotel Auckland - Guest RoomSkycity Grand Hotel Auckland - Guest RoomSkycity Grand Hotel Auckland - Guest RoomSkycity Grand Hotel Auckland - BathroomSkycity Grand Hotel Auckland - Guest RoomSkycity Grand Hotel Auckland - Guest RoomSkycity Grand Hotel Auckland - Grand Luxury Twin RoomSkycity Grand Hotel Auckland - BathroomSkycity Grand Hotel Auckland - Sky TowerSkycity Grand Hotel Auckland - Grand Luxury King RoomSkycity Grand Hotel Auckland - Guest RoomSkycity Grand Hotel Auckland - BathroomSkycity Grand Hotel Auckland - Guest RoomSkycity Grand Hotel Auckland - Guest RoomSkycity Grand Hotel Auckland - Guest RoomSkycity Grand Hotel Auckland - Grand Luxury BathroomSkycity Grand Hotel Auckland - Guest RoomSkycity Grand Hotel Auckland - Guest RoomSkycity Grand Hotel Auckland - LobbySkycity Grand Hotel Auckland - Entrance


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B05