or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Smile House Boutique

3/5 Suriyawong Road, Soi 1, Haiya, Muang Chiangmai, Wua Lai, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50100 (Show on map)

Book now!

Smile House Boutique Chiang Mai - Interior Smile House Boutique Chiang Mai - Lobby Smile House Boutique Chiang Mai - Interior Smile House Boutique Chiang Mai - Exterior Smile House Boutique Chiang Mai - Balcony/Terrace Smile House Boutique Chiang Mai - Exterior Smile House Boutique Chiang Mai - Exterior Smile House Boutique Chiang Mai - Exterior Smile House Boutique Chiang Mai - Exterior Smile House Boutique Chiang Mai - Exterior Smile House Boutique Chiang Mai - Exterior Smile House Boutique Chiang Mai - Exterior Smile House Boutique Chiang Mai - Exterior Smile House Boutique Chiang Mai - Exterior Smile House Boutique Chiang Mai - Exterior
Area: Wua Lai Number of Rooms: 14

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.4

based on
31 reviews

Value for Money
6.8
Location
8.1
Staff Performance
7.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
7.2
All reviews (31)
Sort by:
Tanyalug K. Families with older children Thailand, December 29, 2013
Very good location and close to the night market

good location, nice decoration
7.3
Really love the location close to the night market.
Barry H. Solo travelers New Zealand, November 16, 2012
Quiet Guest House just outside the Old City

Peaceful.
6
Quiet location, just a short walk from the old city. Was perfect location for me to prepare for 1 week of exploring north Thailand. Safe off street parking for my motorbike was a bonus. Staff were friendly and willing to answer all my questions. Breakfast in the morning was welcome, however appeared to be only 1 choice. Never mind, I guess I didn't have to eat it all. Rooms were comfortable and there was a relaxing 1st floor seating area.
Valerie C. Solo travelers United States of America, January 28, 2012
Cute hotel with great service

friendly service, cute place, good location within the saturday night market, close to chiang mai gate, peaceful
8.7
loved it! everyone was friendly! but this is not for you if you don't like weak walls (can hear your neighbors easily). wooden floors and walls - very simple. not super comfortable beds, but is perfect for a low cost stay and for a good rest and great breakfast!
Nightlife Tip: There is a great market just about a few blocks from the hotel. They have a lot of street food! Red trucks are within a few blocks, too, to get you where you are going for 20 baht. Taxis are much more, so be careful!!
Yasmin M. Groups United States of America, January 27, 2012
Beautiful common areas but rooms are bad

quiet location, beautiful garden, breakfast and sitting area
4.7
Our room, #6 smelled of mildew, the room was not particulary clean (dust and cobwebs), very dark, windows don't open, mosquitoes enter the room easily, and the mattresses look at least 20 years old (they sag in the middle and are so stained that the stains showed through the sheets.) Sheets are also very worn and pilled, which makes them scratchy.The other rooms might be different as we met another traveller who was very happy to extend his stay. Just check the actual room before you agree to stay.
Yasmin M. Groups United States of America, January 26, 2012
Overpriced

common area, helpful staff
4.7
I wish I could recommend this hotel but I can't. While the grounds are beautiful and the staff mostly helpful, our room (#6) left a lot to be desired. First, it had the smell of mildew and the windows don't open so you can't air it out. Second,it was not particularly clean (the AC unit had a thick layer of dirt on it that I requested cleaned.) in a general sense (cobwebs in the corners of the wall, dust and grit on the wood slats of the exterior facing wall, the shower hose was covered in other peoples hair and slime. Third, the beds were very uncomfortable- kind of saggy in the middle and they are badly stained. So much so that I could see it through the sheet. No odor but I didn't like that the only thing between me and that nasty mattress was a worn (pilled and very scratchy) sheet. To give credit, they did clean the AC but they just need to be more detailed in their cleaning and invest a little bit in good mattresses. All the mosquitoes seem to find their way in to the room also. Finally, the front desk staff told us to go find our transportation when we told her we needed to go to another guest house (already had the reservation). We pointed out that the evening staff the night before had no problem calling a tuk tuk for us. She did call two numbers and said that both drivers were not near the hotel so again, we should find our own. I almost told her that when we stayed at Feung Nakorn, in BKK, they went two blocks to find us a taxi on Chinese New Years eve because all the taxi's were busy. The good things are the gardens and they will make you Thai or American breakfast. I would stay there again if the price reflected the state of the rooms
Nadia G. Couples France, January 21, 2012
NIce place to stay, calm and charming

charming
6.7
Ask rooms upstairs because the walls are thin; otherwise everything went well. Very good breakfast and nice service
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Go to Nature elephant park; Elephant Nature Park is an elephant rescue and rehabilitation center in Northern Thailand where you can volunteer and visit to help.
Prachya Y. Couples Thailand, December 30, 2011
lovely and convenience location to town

near airport, town
6.3
the hotel is lovely and small but need to book early to get upper floor to avoid noise of footstep if you got first floor room since the hotel use the old structure house, and wood floor can make noise when you walk.
Michael F. Couples Australia, December 26, 2011
Superb little hotel with awesome service

Location tiptop,excellent service, comfortable rooms
9.7
upon arrival at 1130pm, we were greeted enthusiastically and shown our room. nice large bed and tv, clean and comfy enough especially for the price. walls are a bit thin so water running thru the pipes is easily heard, but nothing to put you off. breakfast is included and is simple eggs and bacon with toast and coffee etc and more than satisfactory. a couple of days into our stay, wifi was just set up so that's included as well with no extra cost. location is superb, just outside the city walls, nice and close to night bazaar as well. the staff are the superb, always enthusiastic to help or attend to your needs, overall highly recommended
Worawan K. Couples Thailand, November 14, 2011
Let down if you look at their website!

The staff were friendly and helpful
7
This was not our first choice of hotel but there was a little booking issue. We had looked at their own website and we said yes.It turned out quite different and misleading. The hotel used to be a big old Thai house which is charming in a way but that means the walls are thin and you can hear people from outside easily. Not recommend for people who need privacy.
Pol F. Solo travelers Belgium, October 15, 2012
hotel tres sympathique

décoré avec gout et sens de l'authentique dans un quartier très calme,
9.7
très bon service. Petit déjeuné de qualité servi jusqu'à 11h! location de cylomoteur au bout de la rue et un bar francophone également au bout de la rue. Point faible : pas de parking.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Smile House Boutique Chiang MaiSmile House Boutique Chiang Mai - InteriorSmile House Boutique Chiang Mai - LobbySmile House Boutique Chiang Mai - InteriorSmile House Boutique Chiang Mai - ExteriorSmile House Boutique Chiang Mai - Balcony/TerraceSmile House Boutique Chiang Mai - ExteriorSmile House Boutique Chiang Mai - ExteriorSmile House Boutique Chiang Mai - ExteriorSmile House Boutique Chiang Mai - ExteriorSmile House Boutique Chiang Mai - ExteriorSmile House Boutique Chiang Mai - ExteriorSmile House Boutique Chiang Mai - ExteriorSmile House Boutique Chiang Mai - ExteriorSmile House Boutique Chiang Mai - ExteriorSmile House Boutique Chiang Mai - Exterior


AS-AGWEB-3B07