Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

So Hostel

64/2 Loi Kroh Rd. T. Changklan A.Muang, Night Bazaar, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50100

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.7

based on 603 reviews

310 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.1
Location
8.6
Staff Performance
7.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.8
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
6.4
All reviews (603)
Sort by:
Joy S. Solo travelers Taiwan, August 14, 2014
Great location

Good location, clean bed, nice kitchen
8
The room is pretty good, clean very day. But the shower room is super tiny, and seems never clean it at all. Mold is all over the wall.
William C. Solo travelers New Zealand, August 14, 2014
Not Bad

Location
6.7
Kee Y. Solo travelers Malaysia, August 8, 2014
modern but not well maintain

modern design, convenient location, helpful
4
cheap and convenient. but not well maintain
Jennifer V. Solo travelers United States of America, August 3, 2014
Nice exterior, seedy interior

price
4
The hostel was worse than a frat house - the bathrooms were not clean, the mattresses and linens had holes in them, drunk guests were playing soccer in the halls until 4AM. Ridiculous. As soon as the sun came up, I packed up my things and moved to a different hostel. Never again.
Callum M. Solo travelers Australia, August 3, 2014
A pretty good choice

New rooms, Cheap, Big Dorms
6.3
Overall it was good. The only thing i can critique is that the staff will extort you at any chance they get for more money. I asked for an extra blanket because they had the air conditioners on so cold and it cost me money. I also booked a tour through the company (zip lining), so checked out that morning and put my bag in storage for the day, when i got back from my day i wanted to grab my bag and have a shower, but they also required me to pay to use the shower. Not cool.
Yani C. Solo travelers Indonesia, July 31, 2014
great stay

great location,value for money
7
Stayed for 2night at female dorm,the hostel got tour package offer so i add one more night stay. Pity the dryer was broken when my time there.
Philip G. Solo travelers Australia, July 29, 2014
Good and Bad sides

Value, Room standard, Hotel Condition
6.3
So Hostel had both it's good and bad sides. Good sides: -Great value for money, the room wasn't in perfect condition (a little rough around the edges)but I was very impressed by the standard and cleanliness for what I was paying. -Good location in regards to how it was a 5 minute walk from the night market (& therefore food/transport/etc.) -Hostel was in really good condition, it just looked very modern and clean in general and a much better state than a number of other hostels I walked past on my trip Bad sides: -Location, I don't know if it was just because of the location of my room in the hostel but every morning at 4am I would be awoken by monks ringing their morning gong and then chanting for a number of hours. Don't get me wrong, I have nothing against their prayers, I just thought I'd warn any light sleepers to rather bring some ear plugs or have a significantly reduced amount of sleep during your trip. -Reception Staff were obnoxiously rude. Normally I couldn't care less about staff in a hostel/hotel as I keep to myself but I was physically shoved out of the reception area AFTER he'd told me to come into it (to show him what form I wanted printing off). I know there are language barriers and differing customs but I can't think of any culture where being aggressive and shoving a customer is acceptable. Was extremely put off by this (though the cleaning staff were quite lovely). At the end of the day I wouldn't say the hostel was necessarily bad, if you want affordable accommodation in a good location at a pretty decent standard then I say go for it but if you have fairly high standards; like to have a reasonable night sleep; or like to be treated with basic respect by staff it might be a good idea to possibly look into other accommodation. I can't personally say I'd jump at the chance of staying at So Hostel again in the future after my experience there.
Haiying Y. Solo travelers China, July 29, 2014
Great location tiny room with a reasonable price!

Location,location,location!
9.3
GOOD LOCATION! NICE STUFF! TINY ROOM WITH A REASONABLE PRICE IN HK! THEY HAVE EVERYTHING AROUND THE NEIGHBORHOOD WHICH IS GREAT!! GOOD PEOPLE WHO ARE VISITING HK FOR ONE OR TWO NIGHTS!
Hajie D. Solo travelers Philippines, July 27, 2014
An honest review

Location
4
Nice location. But Staff weren't that accommodating. Too many people in a room c'mon
Andres F. Solo travelers Guatemala, July 23, 2014
Great stay overall

Deco, location, price
8
I liked my stay at Soho. Unfortunately I had a couple of people in my room who were always really loud, having parties in the room and then leaving all the bottles and trash in the room. Some bottles got broken, there was blood on the floor. This was not the hostel's fault at all, it was just my bad luck. The beds were comfy and had my own light and outlet which was great. The key card stopped working randomly and had to keep going to reception to re-programme it. The wifi kept disconecting and you have to be putting in the unique password for your device every time which was very annoying. Location was great I though, and the feel of the hostel is very boutiqueish. Will stay there again when I'm back in Chiang Mai
Previous page 121 - 130 of 310 reviews Next page
So Hostel Chiang MaiSo Hostel Chiang Mai - LobbySo Hostel Chiang Mai - ReceptionSo Hostel Chiang Mai - Lobby sitting areaSo Hostel Chiang Mai - Family roomSo Hostel Chiang Mai - Family roomSo Hostel Chiang Mai - Standard roomSo Hostel Chiang Mai - Standard roomSo Hostel Chiang Mai - Deluxe double bedSo Hostel Chiang Mai - Deluxe twin bedSo Hostel Chiang Mai - Deluxe twin bedSo Hostel Chiang Mai - 1 bed in 6-bed dormitory(Female)So Hostel Chiang Mai - 1 bed in 6-bed dormitorySo Hostel Chiang Mai - 1 bed in 12-bed dormitorySo Hostel Chiang Mai - Share bathroomSo Hostel Chiang Mai - TerraceSo Hostel Chiang Mai - TerraceSo Hostel Chiang Mai - TerraceSo Hostel Chiang Mai - KitchenSo Hostel Chiang Mai - InteriorSo Hostel Chiang Mai - KitchenSo Hostel Chiang Mai - Business centerSo Hostel Chiang Mai - InteriorSo Hostel Chiang Mai - InteriorSo Hostel Chiang Mai - InteriorSo Hostel Chiang Mai - Business centerSo Hostel Chiang Mai - Sitting areaSo Hostel Chiang Mai - coffee shop/cafeSo Hostel Chiang Mai - Bicycle for rentSo Hostel Chiang Mai - ExchangeSo Hostel Chiang Mai - Hotel frontSo Hostel Chiang Mai - Hotel frontSo Hostel Chiang Mai - Hotel front


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B04