Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

So Hostel

64/2 Loi Kroh Rd. T. Changklan A.Muang, Night Bazaar, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50100

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.7

based on 595 reviews

303 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.1
Location
8.6
Staff Performance
7.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.9
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
6.4
All reviews (595)
Sort by:
Chariwan A. Solo travelers Malaysia, November 24, 2015
Good
5.3
Stay was pleasant. Room was clean. Staff were pleasant and efficient. Good location
Report this review
Wendy Y. Groups Netherlands, November 19, 2015
Best hostel and so affordable!

Clean, great location, new interior
9
It's a big hostel but so clean and well arranged. The location is great and attractions can easily be reached by the red taxi's! Definitely recommended since the night market + convenience store are really nearby too.
Report this review
Ngai T. Solo travelers Hong Kong, November 18, 2015
only 1 hair dryer in hostel and near night market

good location & near night market (walk about 5mins)
7
after i washed my hair, there haven't hair dryer in the shared bathroom. then, i asked the front desk, they just answered me " we have only one hair dryer and was borrowed to other, u may ask tomorrow. " it is ridiculous that only 1 hair dryer in this hostel. i felt disappointed and the staff were not nice. But its very cheap price and many convenient shops, massages near by the hostel.
Report this review
Suthathip T. Couples Thailand, November 14, 2015
Great location, clean room

Location
6.7
Good location near Night Bazaar and Thapae gate around with many temples. Room is clean but a bit disturbing from staff who knocked the door 1 hour before check out time.
Report this review
Svetlana A. Solo travelers Thailand, November 2, 2015
Nice hostel

Good location near the sunday market, big area to mingle, nice staff which helped us with face painting for halloween
9
Report this review
Peerarat V. Groups Thailand, October 27, 2015
Convenient for travelers

Price, Location, Friendly
7
Mixed dorm was ok for me, except other guest that was drunk and talked loudly in the room. room is nice for this price but restroom should improve. staffs was friendly and gave us very helpful information.
Report this review
Rachel B. Groups United Kingdom, October 23, 2015
Ok stay, staff are rude

Location, Garden,
3.7
Our stay was just ok. The location was good for getting to local restaurants and bars but as for the price I don't think it was worth it. The staff were rude and unhelpful and there were many problems with our room and genreal maintenance that was a last priority when questioned.
Report this review
Kah Y. Couples Malaysia, September 28, 2015
Horrible staff! Bad service!

The female staff there is super unhelpful. No manners, dun even look up at your face, keep on play handphone. Location is good. Everything is okay but the service is BAD!
6.7
Right opposite is temple is good. But beside is all those bar n pub, those with lots of girl standing outside.
Report this review
Chee S. Solo travelers Malaysia, September 12, 2015
solo backpack fantastic

cleanliness.location.comfortablity
9.7
It was a good experience. The receptionists are kind enough, the room is clean and the air conditioning is well functioned. Location is strategic within walking distance to night bazaar. Overall it was just amazing.
Report this review
Ben K. Solo travelers South Korea, September 11, 2015
Pushy and unhelpful staff

location but very small shower
6
It looks so nice from outside but once you get in you realize many things are not right. First, the staff were not helpful when I asked to change bed because someone reserved the other bed but it was the next day reservation and I wanted to stay in that room one night only and move to 6 bed room instead. They lied that it was for the day perhaps the cleaning reason or something but very unclear. The next day, the cleaning guy waited outside room from 10 am to clean the room. One guy left and he came into the room right away. And still waiting outside, I wasn't sure why he was waiting as the check out and cleaning time is from 12 noon. Finally he asked me if I was staying or leaving. I told him I will check out at noon. After that the front staff came to the room at 1130 and asked me the same questions. I told her that I was trying to change room so asked her to let me stay until noon and she left angrily. What was the fuss? I paid money for 1 night and they should've pushed me around like that when the hostel was more than half empty. They should relax and not bother the guests so much. So I changed my mind and left the hostel thinking I would never come back. Besides, the shower was extremely small. Probably the smallest shower in the world. Not even the Japanese hostels can ever compete with the smallness of this hostel's shower room.
Report this review
Previous page 31 - 40 of 303 reviews Next page
So Hostel Chiang MaiSo Hostel Chiang Mai - LobbySo Hostel Chiang Mai - ReceptionSo Hostel Chiang Mai - Lobby sitting areaSo Hostel Chiang Mai - Family roomSo Hostel Chiang Mai - Family roomSo Hostel Chiang Mai - Standard roomSo Hostel Chiang Mai - Standard roomSo Hostel Chiang Mai - Deluxe double bedSo Hostel Chiang Mai - Deluxe twin bedSo Hostel Chiang Mai - Deluxe twin bedSo Hostel Chiang Mai - 1 bed in 6-bed dormitory(Female)So Hostel Chiang Mai - 1 bed in 6-bed dormitorySo Hostel Chiang Mai - 1 bed in 12-bed dormitorySo Hostel Chiang Mai - Share bathroomSo Hostel Chiang Mai - TerraceSo Hostel Chiang Mai - TerraceSo Hostel Chiang Mai - TerraceSo Hostel Chiang Mai - KitchenSo Hostel Chiang Mai - InteriorSo Hostel Chiang Mai - KitchenSo Hostel Chiang Mai - Business centerSo Hostel Chiang Mai - InteriorSo Hostel Chiang Mai - InteriorSo Hostel Chiang Mai - InteriorSo Hostel Chiang Mai - Business centerSo Hostel Chiang Mai - Sitting areaSo Hostel Chiang Mai - coffee shop/cafeSo Hostel Chiang Mai - Bicycle for rentSo Hostel Chiang Mai - ExchangeSo Hostel Chiang Mai - Hotel frontSo Hostel Chiang Mai - Hotel frontSo Hostel Chiang Mai - Hotel front


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C03