Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

So Hostel

64/2 Loi Kroh Rd. T. Changklan A.Muang, Night Bazaar, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50100

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.7

based on
394 reviews

287 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.2
Location
8.6
Staff Performance
7.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.9
Room Comfort/Standard
7.9
Food/Dining
6.5
Solo travelers (394)
Sort by:
Yin K. Solo travelers United Kingdom, January 23, 2016
location

location, price and good kitchen
6.3
Report this review
Supunsa P. Solo travelers Thailand, January 17, 2016
cheap

cheap, clean, nice
7
location is good, need more facility like hair dryer
Report this review
Marina K. Solo travelers Australia, January 12, 2016
Good design but that's all

Bed, location and design
5.7
The staff is not friendly, there were spiders in the bathroom, and the hostel is not so clean. But it's a good location and the design is nice.
Report this review
Antonia A. Solo travelers United Kingdom, January 7, 2016
Overrated dorms

.
6.7
The dorm beds were reall wobbly and therefore the top bunk and bottom bunk were constantly waking each other up.
Report this review
Chayanis S. Solo travelers Thailand, December 29, 2015
Good location but toilet is fair

Location, staff and service (rent motorcycle)
7.3
Great time to stay in the standard room but I feel the toilet is not work and there is no water free same as hotel
Report this review
James L. Solo travelers Canada, December 25, 2015
Excellent

Nice room, location, staff
8.3
Enjoyed my stay. Rooms were big and comfortable. Good location that was 5 min walk to night bazaar.
Report this review
Wing S. Solo travelers Hong Kong, November 28, 2015
good

Good location, cheap accommodation and good staff
7.7
Report this review
Pajcoob V. Solo travelers Thailand, November 28, 2015
Not going to stay here again
4.7
It was one of my worst experiences staying in a hostel. I was on the 7th floor and there was a dead bat hanging on the wall, the wifi was HORRIBLE, and not to mention my wifi stopped working before it was check out time, my room key disabled TWICE, the bathroom was not very clean, the elevator can really only carry 2 people, although it says 3. That sucked for me because I was on the 7th floor, either I waited forever for the elevator or walked up 7 flights of stairs. I usually found myself walking up the flights of stairs... They need to make the elevator bigger and faster, because walking up 7 flights of stairs or 9, because there are 9 floors in this hostel, after walking around Chiang Mai or after your long trips... are not fun.
Report this review
Ashleigh V. Solo travelers United States of America, November 28, 2015
Worst staff I've ever experienced

Location, tons of rooms, easy to make friends
5.7
I moved here from another much nicer hostel to save some money. I made tons of new friends here and had people to do stuff with all week. The beds were pretty comfortable and there's a kitchen so you can make or heat food. Easy walking distance to markets and old town. There's so many negatives though that I would have rather stayed at a little more expensive place if I hadn't been there during a packed holiday. The staff at the front desk are awful. Most of them are incapable of speaking or understanding English even though they're the biggest hostel in town. The cleaning staff sits around all day but I can't tell when the last time the showers were cleaned. There's no soap in the bathrooms and one toilet paper roll for 5 stalls. Likewise, there's no trash can in the dorm rooms and trash sits there for days before they clean it up. It's also in the red light district so at night you walk home past bars full of girls waiting to pick up foreign men. I would not stay here again. I would find a cleaner place with better staff and a good common area for meeting new friends.
Report this review
Ninh N. Solo travelers Vietnam, November 26, 2015
Location is good but the staffs are not helpful

Good location, clean room and that's it
6.7
The location is good, just few minutes walking to night bazaar. They have cleaning room but the bathroom was a bit dirty. They don't have hair dryer even when i went to reception to borrow it. And the staffs not friendly and helpful when I try to ask some information about tours and place to go.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 572 reviews Next page
So Hostel Chiang MaiSo Hostel Chiang Mai - LobbySo Hostel Chiang Mai - ReceptionSo Hostel Chiang Mai - Lobby sitting areaSo Hostel Chiang Mai - Family roomSo Hostel Chiang Mai - Family roomSo Hostel Chiang Mai - Standard roomSo Hostel Chiang Mai - Standard roomSo Hostel Chiang Mai - Deluxe double bedSo Hostel Chiang Mai - Deluxe twin bedSo Hostel Chiang Mai - Deluxe twin bedSo Hostel Chiang Mai - 1 bed in 6-bed dormitory(Female)So Hostel Chiang Mai - 1 bed in 6-bed dormitorySo Hostel Chiang Mai - 1 bed in 12-bed dormitorySo Hostel Chiang Mai - Share bathroomSo Hostel Chiang Mai - TerraceSo Hostel Chiang Mai - TerraceSo Hostel Chiang Mai - TerraceSo Hostel Chiang Mai - KitchenSo Hostel Chiang Mai - InteriorSo Hostel Chiang Mai - KitchenSo Hostel Chiang Mai - Business centerSo Hostel Chiang Mai - InteriorSo Hostel Chiang Mai - InteriorSo Hostel Chiang Mai - InteriorSo Hostel Chiang Mai - Business centerSo Hostel Chiang Mai - Sitting areaSo Hostel Chiang Mai - coffee shop/cafeSo Hostel Chiang Mai - Bicycle for rentSo Hostel Chiang Mai - ExchangeSo Hostel Chiang Mai - Hotel frontSo Hostel Chiang Mai - Hotel frontSo Hostel Chiang Mai - Hotel front


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C06