or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel

15 Ngo Quyen Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hoan Kiem District - Opera House, Hanoi, Vietnam (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Sofitel Metropole Hanoi Hotel
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Historical Wing Luxury Room Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Outdoor Heated Swimming Pool Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Outdoor Heated Swimming Pool Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Outdoor Heated Swimming Pool Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Prestige Suite Bathroom Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Grand Prestige Suite Bathroom Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - La Boutique Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Opera Wing Premium Room Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - La Veranda Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Le Club Bar Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Le Spa Du Metropole Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - La Veranda Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Historical Wing Luxury Room Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Le Club Bar Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Opera Wing Grand Prestige Suite Bedroom Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Angelina Restaurant
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Opera Wing Prestige Suite Living Room Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Le Club Bar Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Opera Wing Lobby Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Opera Wing Premium Room Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Historical Wing Reception Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Le Club Bar Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Le Balcon Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Historical Wing Lobby Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Le Club Bar Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Le Beaulieu Restaurant Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Angelina Restaurant Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - La Terrasse
Area: Hoan Kiem District - Opera House Number of Rooms: 364
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Superb

9.1

based on
835 reviews

Value for Money
8.5
Location
9.4
Staff Performance
9.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.6
Room Comfort/Standard
9.3
Food/Dining
8.7
All reviews (835)
Sort by:
Caroline P. Families with older children United States of America, November 25, 2012
Beautiful historic hotel in great location

Service, location, beautiful rooms and great restaurants
9.7
This historic hotel is located in the French quarters of Hanoi, a short distance from old Hanoi and many other attraction one wishes to see. The hotel has two wings: the new wing built in the 1990's and the old wing built in the early 1900's. in the old wing, there are two types of rooms: the opera room on the 3rd floor which was added on in the 1960's and the Metropole rooms which are the original ones. While the old wing is more expensive, I highly recommend spending the extra money and staying there. The restaurants are all excellent . We had a very good dinner at Angelina the Italian place. The breakfast buffet is fantastic with tons of choices and some of the best mango I have had in Southeast Asia. The service is excellent across the board. I recommend using the concierge to get tickets for the Water Puppets or any other event in Hanoi. Make sure to take the hotel's free historic tour including the bomb shelter.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: The Water Puppets are a must. They give an insight into Vietnamese culture and are wonderful to see. There is a screen with explanations in English and the live music is fun. A good show for kids too.
Knud E. Solo travelers Denmark, November 25, 2012
Atmosphere second to none.

A superior serviceminded,helpful and kind staff makes your stay unforgettable
10
Like before all persons at this hotel have the ability to give the customer the feeling of beeing their only focus, when you meet them. That starts at the reception with an extremely professionel handling of each and every customer and continues when meeting waiters/waitresses, cleaning personel and managers of different levels. Exellent quality restaurants at this hotel not to forget like well functioning rooms. My favorite hotel in the Far East.
Esan M. Couples United States of America, November 23, 2012
best hotel in hanoi

perfect location
10
this is a great hotel right in the center of hanoi. the service was stellar and the food and restaurants are all great. without a question, if i end up back in hanoi this will be the hotel i stay at. its also a historic building in hanoi so that makes it an added plus. there are 2 wings (a newer and an older) and many reviews suggest the newer wing is better but i stayed in the older wing and thought it had a lot of character and personality. so i think with either wing you are fine. all in a all, i think this hotel is a great choice.
Mary A. Couples Australia, November 22, 2012
A great hotel in service decay

Heritage and ambience
6
After our previous stay in 2010, which was an exceptional experience, I rated this hotel as one of the greatest in the world. My primary purpose for coming to Hanoi was to revisit my Metropole experience, let me say I was very disappointed. My impressions of this hotel now, is that it is still “Grand Hotel” however rather than making guests welcome , the hotel has adopted an approach that guests should feel privileged to stay at the hotel. From check-in we tried to upgrade our reservation to include breakfast, however there was no flexibility in this regard and were told if we wished to have breakfast we be charged the full price of $25. The service in the Bamboo Bar was best described as poor, on at least two occasions my coffee was warm and not hot, this was because the waiter had forgotten order , now if you intend to charge world-wide premium price for coffee, at minimum the coffee should be hot. We dined at Angelina’s it was one of the worst dining experiences I have encountered , the staff were not attentive , and were intent on sharing images on their I phone’s. On a nearby table there was lady who was demanding and rude, she in fact received silver service; maybe we should have adopted her approach. We were made to feel that we were hindrance and the focus , was on moving us on, our meals , came in quick succession we were not asked if wished to order wine and actually had draw staff’s attention to get service. The next morning we had breakfast in Le Beaulieu, it is the only time in my lifetime that I can recall that we were presented with the check before we had completed breakfast. Will I be recommending this hotel in the future? Yes with provisos, if you want to do business in Hanoi, then this maybe the hotel for you. If you are on vacation look elsewhere there are other hotels that represent better service and value. The hotel has been defined by its special character and values, this has been what has made the hotel great, however this has bee
Hotel Feature Tip: Having booked through Agoda I felt like I was being treated and a second class guest
Oscar L. Couples United States of America, November 20, 2012
Amazing stay at a truely great property

Pool, breakfast, staff, everything was fantastic
9.7
the location is unbeatable, you can walk to all the major markets and take stroll around the lake if you are willing to brave the hanoi motor bikes!!! crossing the street is a life threatening experience but the same all over the city. the rooms have old world charm and the staff went above and beyond what we expected in giving our room a special touch as we were on our honeymoon even though we stayed for only one night. we would definitely stay again the next time we come back even though it is a bit on the expensive side, in our opinon the metropole is worth splurging for.
Hotel Feature Tip: Historic wing is charming and would highly recommend!
Bangalore A. Couples India, November 19, 2012
excellent hotel and location

Nice location, spacious rooms. value for money
8
Nice place and good staff. Location is good and convinient for both business and liesure travellers
Patricia L. Couples Indonesia, November 18, 2012
Great Hotel with great location

Cozy room and easy to access to all tourist attraction
8.3
Love this hotel very much. Nice room and very cozy. The location is great. Easy to go to all tourist attractions.
Helena D. Groups Australia, November 17, 2012
Beautiful hotel with great ambiance

Lovely architecture
8.3
Wonderful hotel with lovely restaurants and bar area. They have a tour desk to help with your needs. Quaint rooms and close to everything.
Patricia L. Couples Indonesia, November 16, 2012
Great location

Location
8.3
Beautiful and very nice hotel in center of the tourist objects.
Alessandra C. Couples Italy, November 16, 2012
Sofitel wins for lack of service

nice pool, nice rooms. elegant hotel with rude service.
6
we arrived at the hotel and promptly someone picked up our luggage. we entered the hotel, immediately on the left side there is the concierge, i was still dealing with the luggage and i saw my mother in law who was travelling with us asking one of the girls were the reception was. one of the three girls answered her to just walk straight and not in a nice way. i was a bit shocked as i have been to this hotel before and i had good memories on the service and clearly that was not the way to treat a customer! chech in:we went to do the check in desk and the girl who deal with us basically ordered us to sit down on the chair and wait. we all went to my parents in law's bedroom first, the check in girl left the key to them before entering the room, a key to my husband and i (who were on a different floor) and left. dinner: the asian restaurant food was disgusting. the service very poor. the worst dish was a chicken rice who tasted of a 4 days leftover being fried over again. the waiter saw we did not eat lots of the food and asked us. i told him the food was not great. they insisted for us to have a free dessert to apologize. breakfast: service: terrible. many tables were occupied and the ones not occupied were full of dirty dishes. i asked the waiter if she could clean one of the tables on the terrace and she told me: we have other restaurants in the hotel why don't you go there? i told her we wanted to stay. the coofee came late and very cold, we asked for hot ones as i lost my patience at that point but they still came cold a second time and once again the stuff is so rude!!!!!! the food at breakfast was excellent though. dinner at the french restaurant: disgusting again!! i have been to this restaurant on my previous stay a year and half ago and i loved it i wondered what happened !! and once again free dessert to apologize. i really like the hotel but the service overall was so bad i won't come back ever again.
Travel tip: Go somewhere else where they will treat you nicely

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel HanoiSofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Historical Wing Luxury RoomSofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Outdoor Heated Swimming PoolSofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Outdoor Heated Swimming PoolSofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Outdoor Heated Swimming PoolSofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Prestige Suite BathroomSofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Grand Prestige Suite BathroomSofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - La BoutiqueSofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Opera Wing Premium RoomSofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - La VerandaSofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Le Club BarSofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Le Spa Du MetropoleSofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - La VerandaSofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Historical Wing Luxury RoomSofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Le Club BarSofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Opera Wing Grand Prestige Suite BedroomSofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Angelina RestaurantSofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Opera Wing Prestige Suite Living RoomSofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Le Club BarSofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Opera Wing LobbySofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Opera Wing Premium RoomSofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Historical Wing ReceptionSofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Le Club BarSofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Le BalconSofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Historical Wing LobbySofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Le Club BarSofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Le Beaulieu RestaurantSofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Angelina RestaurantSofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - La TerrasseSofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Le Spa Du MetropoleSofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Opera Wing Prestige SuiteSofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Outdoor Heated Swimming PoolSofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Outdoor Heated Swimming PoolSofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Opera Wing Lobby

Customer Reviews - Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel, Hanoi

AS-AGWEB-3A05