Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 8.3
Based on 2690 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 2690 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.3
  • Location 8.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.4
  • Service 8.5
  • Value for Money 7.6
  • Food/Dining 8.4

ERIC B.
United States
May 27, 2014
Nice hotel, with a price for everything.
Attentive staff, clean room, great security
Not exactly what I expected. Its situated near Mall Of Asia, great hotel staff. Very pricey dining, internet, and hotel subsidized transportation. Highly recommending waiting for metered taxi and dining at the nearby mall. Internet was slow and pricey. Cant imagine a hotel with this caliber does not offer free wifi to guests. There are other comparable hotels that offer much greater services for less. Don't be fooled by their world reknowned "Sofitel" name.

Tomaz J.
Slovenia
May 26, 2014
The best hotel in Manila, great staff
Great staff, superb breakfast, easy access to the airport
This hotel is very nice, with nice swimming pools, good bars and a fabulous breakfast buffet at the Spiral! The staff is very, very friendly too, and always willing to help with any demands. Just next to the hotel is the biggest shopping mall with more restaurants to dine out and also the access to/from the airport is very good - it takes only 20-30 minutes .... depending on chaotic traffic in Manila, of course. Overall, a straight 10 for this hotel!

Myra L.
Canada
May 26, 2014
Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila Hotel
location, restaurant, staff
I have stayed at the Sofitel 3-4 other times and loved it. This time was a challenge. We had to wait 2 hours before our room was ready. We arrived at 1:30, but no rooms were available until 3:30. Check in time was 2 so we didn't mind waiting for a while, but this seemed excessive. Also, the hotel was so incredibly busy that we had to wait 20-30 minutes to get anywhere by elevator. All elevators were full or overloaded. It was frustrating. Taking the fire escape wasn't an option so I mentioned it to a staff member who took us on the service elevator which we appreciated. When we finally got to the pool there was no place to sit (all chairs taken). We were going to just sit on the grass, but then no towels were available either. So no pool time for us. Given that we paid a lot of money to stay here it was rather disappointing. I know this isn't usual, because other times I really enjoyed my stay there, but when it is so busy and they can't accommodate guests I think they should make certain allowances. I know it is the end of Philippine summer, but I had no idea it would be so busy and it certainly wasn't restful.

Lon L.
Singapore
May 23, 2014
Great
Beautiful Sunset, great buffet & Casino
Everything went smoothly.

julio G.
United States
May 23, 2014
The most expensive hotel I have ever visited!
Nice pool, nice garden, nice rooms with balcony.
THE BAD: First, you have to get your bags ckecked for weapons and contrabad. Then you go through the metal detector to get to the front desk. After checking in, I wanted to visit my other friends, who were on a different floor. The only way up and down is via the elevator using your room key. however, your room key only works for the floor in which you room is, so I could not visit my friend's rooms. after noting that there is nothing to do within 30 minutes walk from the main entrance, I took a taxy and bought some beer and liquor for my room; I like having a few drinks in my room and don't like using the mini-bar. when I tried to bring my drinks back to the room, I was told that I could not bring outside drinks into the hotel, so if I wanted to drink, I had to buy it from the hotel. THE GOOD: Wifi was fast, but it worked better around the lobby and pool area. the rooms were very nice and clean. I had a balcony overlooking the pool. it is only a 10 minute taxi ride to the mall of asia and good restaurants.

Tze K.
Malaysia
May 22, 2014
Great location and best breakfast spread
Location, near shopping, breakfast
Stayed here few times a year for the past 7-8 years already and keep coming back. Excellent breakfast spread. Close to Mall of Asia for shopping and not too far from Makati if have to go into city. Short ride to airport also which helps avoid long manila jams.

Michael F.
Denmark
May 22, 2014
Great and good for early flight out of Manila
Pool,room,location
Wonderful and relaxing

Andrew R.
Australia
May 21, 2014
A comfortable nights stay.
Modern room, bed comfort, restaurant.
The stay at the Sofitel Philippine Plaza was excellent from check-in to check-out. Check-in and check-out was efficient. The room was modern, clean, comfortable and well-designed. The only disappointment is no free Wi-Fi and restriction of bringing outside food into the hotel. The hotel restaurant was excellent and the food was spectacular.

MARIANNE D.
France
May 21, 2014
Nice huge international hotel, quiet area,
excellent dinner buffet, nice garden and swimmingpool, gorgeous sunset
we spent 4 nights at the hotel and we attend a wedding there, facing the sea (all seems to us very well managed- we enjoyed it). We like the excellent international dinner buffet. Our room was standard, very clean, (maybe mattress not enough firm for us, but it is not a issue). we used the fitness space, and the spa (not so cheap but very good massage). the staff was very attentive and helpful. We like to walk and we walked from Fort Santiago until the hotel . We appreciate that the hotel was so no far from downtown.

Joyce R.
Philippines
May 20, 2014
It was excellent!
Food,Room,View
It was excellent! very good experience indeed.