arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 8.4
Based on 1015 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1015 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.6
  • Service 8.6
  • Value for Money 8.5
  • Food/Dining 7.6

8.3 shaik A.
Lebanon
December 28, 2015
Nice Apartments to stay
Location, service
Nice place to stay . it is walkable from old quartrs without the hustle and bustle of old quarter. Staff are attentive and helpful. But their reservation policies are pretty inflexible. So prepare to pay for any late check out and early check ins even when it's not their peak season.

10 Luke G.
United Kingdom
December 24, 2015
Great hotel in ideal location
Friendly staff, great location and good ammenities
Our stay at Somerset Grand Hanoi was breif but great, our group all enjoyed our time there. The staff were always smiley and friendly and did everything in their power to make our time in Hanoi perfect. The location was perfect for us; situated just outside the old quarter it was accessible to all the sights whilst being quieter and less hectic than the other side of the Hoan Kiem Lake. The rooms were really lovely, spacious and tastefully decorated, with well equipped kitchen and lounge areas. It was a very comfortable enviroment! And the breakfast was superb! A good choice and quality of both western and Asian foods are offered and the buffer caters to pretty much all tastes. All in all we think that the hotel was value for money and we would definitely recommend it to all travellers, whether business or leisure.

8 Woon S.
Malaysia
December 21, 2015
Comfortable residence
1)Friendly& helpful staff,2) Convenient location to attraction area 3) Easily available taxi
satifactory

9.7 Didier B.
Switzerland
December 16, 2015
Excellent serviced apartment
Location, Room size and value for money
This hotel is great with large serviced apartments. Location is excellent between various points of interest (old city, lake, HCM memorial, army museum, etc) which can be reached by foot within 20 minutes. Friendly staff. Nice pool, tennis and playground for kids. Will definitely come back.

9.7 Kathryn N.
United States
December 16, 2015
Great Stay
the seafood buffet was delicious!!! staff was very good and great location
this is our 2nd time back to hanoi and we've stayed here twice. we really like the location and this beautiful hotel. there's also a starbucks right next door as well. the seafood buffet is really good, definitely give it a try and the staff are awesome. this will be our place of stay with each visit to hanoi.

8.7 Lip A.
Singapore
December 15, 2015
simply great! will stay here again.
service, location, convenience
Very happy to stay here.

5.7 Patrick K.
Singapore
December 09, 2015
Overrated Hotel
Except for the Duty Manager's sincere attempt to help with another room...
I want to be brutally honest about our bad experiences of staying in this seemingly reputable serviced residence. I really do not want anyone to go through the same nerve-wrecking experiences my family of 4 adults had for the 3 nights that we had stayed there. 1) The rooms were not sound-proof at all and you are as good as staying on the open road and experiencing all the loud ear-piercing horn-blaring and car engines noise directed at you (especially loud for rooms facing the roads and the traffic intersection). 2) Given alternative rooms as part of service recovery but it was a smoking room and despite attempts to refresh the rooms, the smelly strong cigarette stench continue to haunt us for the rest of the nights. 3) Air-cons were not well-maintained and was giving off loud and highly irritating rattling noise, so much so we have to switch off the air-con just to have a peaceful sleep at night. 4) It was 15 Deg outside but we have to endure shower with inconsistent hot water flow. Called the service line to inform them and was told we need to have a 30 minutes time gap between showers in order to have hot water again. 5) Toiletries used but were not replenished. 6) Contacted staff we will be out for only about 4 hours and was promised they will clean up the room within the time but nothing was done when we were back after 4.5 hours (at about 3.30pm). I’ll leave it to your own judgment but as far as my family is concerned, Somerset Grand Hanoi’s deceptive rating is definitely highly over-rated and we are absolute that we will never ever stay in this property again! NEVER!

5 D T.
Singapore
December 08, 2015
Overrated
Location.
This is by no means a 5* property or any where near. It looks old although well-maintained. Most of the staff were very friendly but the reception staff could be better trained. It is not just a matter of language skills (or lack thereof). One particular female staff could not even understand simple phrases (e.g. we booked a taxi yesterday - where is it); gave inaccurate information (inappropriate recommendation to a nightclub); and failed to give pertinent information (there is a weekly night market downtown in the vicinity of a spa SHE had just recommended - btw, spa was terrible). Also, the residences have a strange policy of not making available a room rate inclusive of breakfast, preferring instead to use the time-honoured tactic of asking guests to pay additional charges on check in (otherwise the restaurant "charges more"). Still, there is a mini-mart and shops next door (which solves the food problem) and the place is in the heart of the Old Quarter.

8.3 Alvin Y.
Malaysia
December 07, 2015
Comfortable Stay
The staff's were helpful and could speak English. They responded quickly to requests and faults. The toilet was stuck and they sent someone over pretty quickly. I would recommend this place to friends
The rooms were decent but the toilet was a little old with stains. The bath run I rather dangerous for going kids and old people to shower in. I stayed in a 2 bedroom unit. Overall a pleasant stay and would come back again.I would rate it 4 to 4.5 stars. Not quiet 5 stars yet. Staffs were helpful and friendly.

9.3 NG Y.
Singapore
December 06, 2015
Elvin
Big room and good service
Stayed in 2 bedroom Deluxe, spacious with kitchen and cable TV with excellent wifi. Short distance from tourist area.