arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 8.4
Based on 1025 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1025 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
  • Location 8.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.6
  • Service 8.7
  • Value for Money 8.5
  • Food/Dining 7.6

Lip A.
Singapore
December 15, 2015
simply great! will stay here again.
service, location, convenience
Very happy to stay here.

Patrick K.
Singapore
December 09, 2015
Overrated Hotel
Except for the Duty Manager's sincere attempt to help with another room...
I want to be brutally honest about our bad experiences of staying in this seemingly reputable serviced residence. I really do not want anyone to go through the same nerve-wrecking experiences my family of 4 adults had for the 3 nights that we had stayed there. 1) The rooms were not sound-proof at all and you are as good as staying on the open road and experiencing all the loud ear-piercing horn-blaring and car engines noise directed at you (especially loud for rooms facing the roads and the traffic intersection). 2) Given alternative rooms as part of service recovery but it was a smoking room and despite attempts to refresh the rooms, the smelly strong cigarette stench continue to haunt us for the rest of the nights. 3) Air-cons were not well-maintained and was giving off loud and highly irritating rattling noise, so much so we have to switch off the air-con just to have a peaceful sleep at night. 4) It was 15 Deg outside but we have to endure shower with inconsistent hot water flow. Called the service line to inform them and was told we need to have a 30 minutes time gap between showers in order to have hot water again. 5) Toiletries used but were not replenished. 6) Contacted staff we will be out for only about 4 hours and was promised they will clean up the room within the time but nothing was done when we were back after 4.5 hours (at about 3.30pm). I’ll leave it to your own judgment but as far as my family is concerned, Somerset Grand Hanoi’s deceptive rating is definitely highly over-rated and we are absolute that we will never ever stay in this property again! NEVER!

D T.
Singapore
December 08, 2015
Overrated
Location.
This is by no means a 5* property or any where near. It looks old although well-maintained. Most of the staff were very friendly but the reception staff could be better trained. It is not just a matter of language skills (or lack thereof). One particular female staff could not even understand simple phrases (e.g. we booked a taxi yesterday - where is it); gave inaccurate information (inappropriate recommendation to a nightclub); and failed to give pertinent information (there is a weekly night market downtown in the vicinity of a spa SHE had just recommended - btw, spa was terrible). Also, the residences have a strange policy of not making available a room rate inclusive of breakfast, preferring instead to use the time-honoured tactic of asking guests to pay additional charges on check in (otherwise the restaurant "charges more"). Still, there is a mini-mart and shops next door (which solves the food problem) and the place is in the heart of the Old Quarter.

Alvin Y.
Malaysia
December 07, 2015
Comfortable Stay
The staff's were helpful and could speak English. They responded quickly to requests and faults. The toilet was stuck and they sent someone over pretty quickly. I would recommend this place to friends
The rooms were decent but the toilet was a little old with stains. The bath run I rather dangerous for going kids and old people to shower in. I stayed in a 2 bedroom unit. Overall a pleasant stay and would come back again.I would rate it 4 to 4.5 stars. Not quiet 5 stars yet. Staffs were helpful and friendly.

NG Y.
Singapore
December 06, 2015
Elvin
Big room and good service
Stayed in 2 bedroom Deluxe, spacious with kitchen and cable TV with excellent wifi. Short distance from tourist area.

Rozella W.
Malaysia
December 06, 2015
Great stay, friendly and helpful staff
Staff, Comfy rooms and variety of food
We are a big family of 6, but the rooms were just nice, comfy and big enough for us it was a bit further than we would have liked from old quarters but convenient enough for tour pickups and to buy groceries. The staff were friendly, helpful with local phrases and calls. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel to friends and relatives.

Joan L.
Singapore
November 30, 2015
Friendly Staff and Clean Environment
Friendly staff, clean apartment and good location
We truly enjoyed our stay in the apartment. We actually booked a mini van to and from the airport but were disappointed that a 7 seater mpv was provided on the day of our arrival. As there are 5 adults and 1 child with 5 luggages, the mpv was real squeezy. When we arrive at the airport, the frontline staff apologize when we fedback to them. We were then compromise by charging us the rental of the car price rather than the mini van price and was assured that a mini van will be provided from Hotel to airport. We were also give free drinks to be consumed at the restaurant as the apartment is not ready. There was also a surprise cake and present for my birthday that was presented by Michelle, the hotel staff. We were pleasantly surprised by their gesture and will definitely stay there again for our next holidays!

Richard S.
United States
November 26, 2015
Spacious, Comfortable and Affordable
Spacious rooms, amenities, staff
Warning! Do not book a hotel transfer from the airport as you will be paying more than 3X the normal airport taxi fare. Secondly ask for one of the lower numbered rooms 01-04 facing the pool unless you want to wake up to early morning street traffic and announcements from the hospital across the street. After changing our rooms after the first night our stay was very comfortable. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was good and we enjoyed the fitness center and the tennis courts. Location is convenient however it can be difficult to find the hotel from a street map if you are walking. There are several good restaurants in the area and we were able to find an excellent seafood /Vietnamese restaurant 1 1/2 blocks away. The staff at the travel desk was quite helpful with our questions. The hotel stored our golf clubs for a couple of nights while we went to Halong Bay. In all I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again in the future.

Gabor H.
Hungary
November 24, 2015
Somerset
Location, room comfort
We were very pleased with the service and the room. Recommended.

Atul J.
India
November 22, 2015
perfect
very comfortable,all required things available in the kitchen, pool was too good,kids really enjoyed
we had stayed for the first time in somerset grand hanoi,the experience was really good, the location is very much inside the city,we had enjoyed the hot delivery food from nameste hanoi,a indian chain restaurant., which was just few step far,will sure stay again ,