My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Sophia Hotel

36-38 Thai Van Lung Street, District 1, District 1 - Japanese Area, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam (Show on map)

Book now!

Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Family Triple Bed Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Premier Deluxe Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Premier Deluxe Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Premier Deluxe Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Premier Deluxe Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Deluxe Double Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Deluxe Double Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Deluxe Double Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Deluxe Double Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Deluxe Double Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Superior Double Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Superior Double Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Superior Twin Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Bathroom Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Bathroom Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Hot Tub
Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Hot Tub Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Reception Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Reception Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Lobby Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Reception Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Restaurant Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Restaurant Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Restaurant Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Restaurant Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Business Center Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Hotel Interior Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Entrance
Hotel Area: District 1 - Japanese Area Number of Rooms: 70
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

7.6

based on
1090 reviews

Value for Money
7.8
Location
8.3
Staff Performance
7.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.8
Room Comfort/Standard
7.6
Food/Dining
6.4
All reviews (1090)
Sort by:
Joseph L. Couples Australia, August 29, 2010
sophia hotel, hcmc..vietnam

room was comfortable,clean bathroom and spa
9
to get comfort is stay in superior dulex room.very central to shopping and eating places
John M. Couples Philippines, August 25, 2010
First Visit to Ho Chi Minh

Hotel was very accessible to all major tourist spots, it was nice clean and gives very fair value for the price, staff were couteous, helpful and honest
8.7
Would highly recommend this hotel to tourists and business travels. Atmosphere was cozy, rooms were clean and well-maintained, buffet breakfast served Vietnamese as well as western food. One of the good things about this hotel location is that it is situated in district 1, within walking distance from most of the major tourist spots. Staff were honest and polite too. I unknowingly dropped 100,000 VND when I went down the taxi upon checking in, and the bellboy picked it up and gave it to me immediately.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: from the hotel walk to the Post office beside Notre Dame Cathedral it is just around 1 km from the hotel. Ask for a map from the desk and use it to get to the post office. Once at the post office, get one of the free colored maps being offered there, buy tickets to tours or massage or the water puppet show there.You can also send out postcards there.
Matt C. Groups Australia, August 24, 2010
Good location

Very close to the main shopping area and eating places.
10
After arriving we checked in and were pleasantly surprised as they had upgraded us to a better room as there were no superiors available. The room was very nice and clean but lacked a window. Overall we enjoyed the hotel for the room.
Edwin C. Families with older children Indonesia, August 22, 2010
Nice hotel

Nearby the shopping center
9.3
Our family is very happy when stay in Sophia, especially its breakfast and all Hotal staffs are very polite and willing to help to find taxi.
Shopping Tip: Near the shopping center
Diong K. Couples Malaysia, August 20, 2010
Free WiFi in room

Relatively quiet, good location, clean rooms
8
We really like this hotel so much that we decided to extend another two days stay. We checked with the hotel and we were told that we could extend through Agoda. Since we have brought along a notebook - and there was free WiFi at the hotel even when our room was on the top-most floor - we were able to extend within minutes, saved a copy of the booking on a thumbdrive and gave it to the receptionist. For a quick Vietnamese meal, I recommend (from the hotel turn left, and turn left again after you hit the lights. Apparently, the noodles at this franchise (not linked to a similar franchise in US) was good enough for Bill Clinton to drop by when he visited - the first US president to visit Vietnam since the end of the war. There is a photo of Clinton and the staff at the mezzanine level of the restaurant. One bowl of pho there
Tracey W. Families with older children Australia, August 20, 2010
Sophia Hotel

Room had a window which was important to us as we were still adjusting to Vietnam time.
6.7
Breakfast wasn't bad though not great either. We always found something to eat. Not a bad locatation. Staff were friendly and helpful.
Hotel Feature Tip: Don't pay more than 100,000 dong to get from airport to here. We got ripped off when the concierge of the hotel went halves with our 200,000 dong with the taxi driver.
Caroline L. Families with older children France, August 19, 2010
Sophia Hotel

Location, staff
7
Sophia hotel is very good located if you like walking around city and have good food, nice shopping. Few minutes walk to the center and few minutes walk to river side. If you like romantic place, it's not at all. The staff are friendly and attentive. The breakfast is not very good.
Alice L. Couples Canada, August 15, 2010
Decent Budget Hotel

ok location, decently clean
6.3
The best thing about the hotel was the very helpful bellhops that helped us hail a cab at an hour of the day (even 4 AM) and gave us advice about cabs. The price was reasonable but with many hotels in HCMC at this price range, I thought it could be better. The room was fairly small as was the bed (only a double for a room for 2 people). The shower was leaky and the drain was slow. Walkable to all the sites though a little bit of a hike if you're not much of a walker.
Bambang S. Couples Indonesia, August 8, 2010
What a pleasant stay we both had...

Location and price, definitely
8
Both of me and my wife had a wonderful stay in Sophia hotel during our recent trip to HCMC. Overall, the hotel was a lot better than my original expectation : We both sensed this right after entering our room. Everything was clean and in order and they put is in a higher (quiet) floor, just exactly as what we had requested. Location is in the city center, very near to main attractions (within walking distance) in city, very convenient and for the price we had paid, it was well worth staying in this particular property. I would love to stay there next time I visit this town. My suggestions to the hotel : 1. Improve choice of breakfast. 2. Be more polite when checking any female guest especially when they look alike local Vietnamese as this may annoy some guests who stay in this property.
Tracy M. Families with young children United Kingdom, August 5, 2010
Excellent Location and Value for Money

No more than 15 mins walking distance to all the major sights. Just off a main road so not as noisy as you would think
8.7
We stayed here as a base for sightseeing in Saigon. Staff were good especially with our children age 3 and 7. The hotel is within 30 metres of a really good coffee shop, a pizza hut, and an Irish Bar if you want that sort of thing. Being just off a main road, it is a quiet location (if there is such a thing in Saigon)ATM under the hotel. Staff arranged trip to Cu Chi Tunnel but could have got a lot cheaper if we had gone to the backpacker district. Managed to walk from the hotel to all teh major sites
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Don't go to the War Remnants Museum if you are of a weak nature or if you have children some of the pictures are horrific. If you have children and the time go to the Dam Sen Water Park in district 11. Great Price and good fun

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh CitySophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Family Triple BedSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Premier DeluxeSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Premier DeluxeSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Premier DeluxeSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Premier DeluxeSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Deluxe DoubleSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Deluxe DoubleSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Deluxe DoubleSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Deluxe DoubleSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Deluxe DoubleSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Superior DoubleSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Superior DoubleSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Superior TwinSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - BathroomSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - BathroomSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Hot TubSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Hot TubSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - ReceptionSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - ReceptionSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - LobbySophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - ReceptionSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - RestaurantSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - RestaurantSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - RestaurantSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - RestaurantSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Business CenterSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Hotel InteriorSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - EntranceSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Hotel ExteriorSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Hotel ExteriorSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - LobbySophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - LobbySophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Hotel ExteriorSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Family DeluxeSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Guest RoomSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - SuperiorSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - PremiumSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Deluxe

Customer Reviews - Sophia Hotel, Ho Chi Minh City

AS-AGWEB-3A03