or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Sophia Hotel

36-38 Thai Van Lung Street, District 1, District 1 - Japanese Area, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam (Show on map)

Book now!

Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Family Triple Bed Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Premier Deluxe Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Premier Deluxe Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Premier Deluxe Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Premier Deluxe Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Deluxe Double Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Deluxe Double Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Deluxe Double Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Deluxe Double Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Deluxe Double Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Superior Double Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Superior Double Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Superior Twin Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Bathroom Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Bathroom Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Hot Tub
Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Hot Tub Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Reception Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Reception Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Lobby Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Reception Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Restaurant Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Restaurant Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Restaurant Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Restaurant Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Business Center Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Interior Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Entrance
Area: District 1 - Japanese Area Number of Rooms: 70
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

based on
1107 reviews

Value for Money
7.8
Location
8.3
Staff Performance
7.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.8
Room Comfort/Standard
7.6
Food/Dining
6.4
All reviews (1107)
Sort by:
Peck Y. Couples Singapore, October 9, 2009
Good Value for Money

Good value for money
7.7
Good value for money. Adequate amenities, good bathroom facilities, free wifi and coffee and tea making facilities. Fabulous street food just down the road. The vietnam baguette is a must-try! Located near the Korean & Japanese restaurants area and major restaurants.
Restaurant Tip: Buy your breakfast (vietnam baguette) and have it at the local roadside coffee stall. The absolute vietnam experience not to be missed.
Terence F. Families with young children Australia, September 27, 2009
Excellent Hotel

Excellent location. Great service. Very clean.
10
We stayed at the hotel with two small children (aged 3 and 1). The hotel was very welcoming, child friendly and in a great location. Staff bent over backwards to help us. Highly recommended.
Travel tip: Hotel is within walking distance of all major sights and museums, as well as markets and other shopping outlets
Gregg W. Couples United States of America, September 27, 2009
VFM!!! (Value for Money)

Excellent location. Within walking distance to everything.
8.7
Being a new hotel, it is pretty well maintained and has everything working in the rooms. However while they have a restaurant they have nothing on the menu besides breakfast. On the good side the beds were comfortable and the air conditioning worked well. Also the staff is friendly and accomodating. This includes the security and bell boy.
Beatriz G. Solo travelers Costa Rica, September 25, 2009
Great as read on reviews

- Good Location - Very clean - Friendly staff - Nice beds
9.3
Very good location to stay in HCMC, close to restaurants and District 1 attraction. Easy to get a taxi.
Restaurant Tip: Across the street you can have a very good french dinner cheap, try the pepper steak. Restaurant name: "Le Jardin"
John C. Couples United States of America, September 22, 2009
Great Litttle Find in the Heart of Saigon

Clean rooms, GREAT location, very friendly staff
9.3
We stayed at the Sophia Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City for three nights and loved it! A nice little hotel right in the middle of all of the action! The staff was very friendly and remembered our room number as we came in to collect our key every evening. We loved HCMC and this hotel was a big reason why. We definitely recommend it!
Ailene A. Groups Philippines, September 21, 2009
Excellent Service

- friendly & extremely helpful staff ( i love them) - convenient online booking - great internet service - reasonable tour packages - nice food - rooms are very clean - near key tourist locations
10
The hotel staff was great! The bell men at the entrance were really friendly, they had a ready smile & would assist us in anyway they can. They would check out the taxi meter before we pay the driver to make sure that were not cheated & they would help us bring your stuff without expecting any tip. We noticed this because they did not linger after helping or bringing us the adapter & weighing scale (yes we were quite a demanding group ;-) They just politely brought the things & said thank you. Special mention to Dung, the Front Desk Manager, who went out of his way to assist us book a free & easy city tour on our first day. For USD100 all 9 of us had one van bring us to the key tourist spots in the city & to anywhere else we wanted to go. Our driver did not speak much English so every time we needed someone to explain things to him, he would call Dung on his mobile & ask us to talk to him & he would then in turn translate. It was value added service to the max! Thru this we managed to tour the city in just half a day, have dinner at Jollibee, have a blast of shopping at the Ben Than night market & conveniently brought back to our hotel by 10pm. The next day we booked a guided tour with lunch for Cu Chi Tunnel & Cao Dai Temple for USD252, again with the help of Dung. The room was just the right size, very clean & well furnished. There was even a safety deposit box in the closet (free of charge) which I have never experienced in the previous countries that I've visited. The bathroom was nice & very clean. They also have 3 internet terminals at the lobby & serve you water while surfing. Overall i give them a 100% rating for a job well done. For those who are thinking of going to Ho Chi Minh on a budget, Sophia Hotel is the best place to be. Just visit their website below for more details.
Restaurant Tip: Try out Pho 2000 which is just around the curb from the hotel. They have great spring rolls there.
Massimiliano G. Business travelers Italy, September 10, 2009
Nice hotel, good location

Good location to easy reach restaurants, bars and central HCMC
8.3
The hotel is nice, good location for HCMC. Room was cleaned and quiet, really small window. Staff is friendly, could be more attentive (found people chatting at the desk, ignoring guest presence). Overall thumbs up for value for money.
Nigel C. Couples United Kingdom, August 31, 2009
Sophia Hotel, District 1, Saigon

the free, very fast Wi-Fi great glass-walled shower with rainforest showerhead comfortable if small room fast elevator very good breakfast
8.7
Must be one of the greatest values in Saigon. I paid less for 4 nights in a queen bedroom with unlimited free Wi-Fi (which is very fast), buffet breakfast which is excellent and plentiful (mostly Vietnamese/Chinese food) with different food each day. I slept much better here than I did in another hotel that cost more. The best value and best overall experience of the three hotels where I stayed in Saigon on this 10-day visit.
Restaurant Tip: I highly recommend the Ashoka Indian restaurant located within a 1-minute walk of the Sophia Hotel, address: 17/10 Le Thanh Ton. This could be some of the best Indian food I've ever eaten, and I'm a big fan of this type of food. Prices are quite low too.
Sitoh L. Couples Malaysia, August 26, 2009
Wonderful Second Stay In Sophia Hotel

Modern hotel,clean,located at central,quite place,friendly and helpful staffs,free wifi in the room and internet at the lobby and room.
10
This is my second stay in Sophia. All the staffs treat us like family and giving us a warmest smile while everytime we go back to hotel. Stay in Sophia Hotel is a amazing experience. Language was not a problem. Most of the staffs can speak English quite well. The signal of internet is very strong and a lot of channels can watch. At the noght time Sophia Hotel is very quite. Just a few minutes walking distance to famous Dong Khoi street. A lot of restaurant nearby. I very enjoyed and pleasure second stay in Sophia hotel. I would definitely come back again and recommend to my friends and family.
Hotel Feature Tip: First,the front desk is effient and helpful to provide and explain tour information. Second, the hotel provide currency exchange at the reception. Third, Sophia Hotel has a good signal of internet access.
David B. Couples Australia, August 16, 2009
Second Stay

Location, clean rooms, friendly staff
9
We found our second stay to be better than than the first. This time we had a larger room on the 8 floor with a nice bathroom and it was very comfortable. It was possible to pick up a strong wifi signal and the TV has many channels including the Aussie channel. While i did not have breakfast at the hotel there are many places nearby to eat.
Shopping Tip: Go to the market and buy a few cloths as prices are very competitive

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh CitySophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Family Triple BedSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Premier DeluxeSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Premier DeluxeSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Premier DeluxeSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Premier DeluxeSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Deluxe DoubleSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Deluxe DoubleSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Deluxe DoubleSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Deluxe DoubleSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Deluxe DoubleSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Superior DoubleSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Superior DoubleSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Superior TwinSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - BathroomSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - BathroomSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Hot TubSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Hot TubSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - ReceptionSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - ReceptionSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - LobbySophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - ReceptionSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - RestaurantSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - RestaurantSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - RestaurantSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - RestaurantSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Business CenterSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - InteriorSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - EntranceSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - ExteriorSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - ExteriorSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - LobbySophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - LobbySophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - ExteriorSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Family DeluxeSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Guest RoomSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - SuperiorSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - PremiumSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Deluxe

Customer Reviews - Sophia Hotel, Ho Chi Minh City

AS-AGWEB-3A02