Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1226 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 6.5
  • Location 8.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.5
  • Service 7.4
  • Value for money 7.8
  • Food/Dining 6.3

Steve L. from Malaysia
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in November 2009
Value for Money
Value for money
No safe deposit box in the standard room
The hotel is clean and it is value for money. , it is the cheapest 3 star hotel in the area. Very convienent location - close to all the 5 stars hotels within 1/2 mile radius. Delicious pho for breakfast. The Asian cooking is delicious, better than what I paid $6 USD in the airport. The front desk staff are very polite and helpful.
Reviewed December 04, 2009

Joleen E. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in November 2009
Convenient Location, Nice Hotel.
Free Wireless. Very friendly staff. Clean and tidy rooms. Convenient Location.
None.
We had 2 nights at the Sophia Hotel and it was more than fine for our stay there. We were sightseeing most of the time but the convenient location in the centre made it easy to reach all tourist attractions. It is clean and tidy and the staff are very friendly, helpful and polite. The wireless is free and works very well. Overall good round hotel for a stay in Ho Chi Minh.
Reviewed December 03, 2009

Giovanni C. from Canada
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in November 2009
Good Hotel, Great Location
Location, Shower
Breakfast, Hard Squeaky Bed
Sophia Hotel is great for the price. It's located in the heart of District 1 in HCM, walking distance to a lot of the great sights and restaurants in town. The staff are super friendly, the rooms clean and the showers are fantastic. The only downsides are that the beds are hard and squeaky and the complimentary breakfast is quite disappointing. I would stay there again though.
Reviewed December 02, 2009

Aileen H. from Malaysia
Families with older children
Stayed 3 nights in November 2009
Value for Money
Reasonable price and room size. Free wifi
Pavement along the hotel under repair make it very messy and dusty everywhere.
Overall the hotel in satisfactory. It's a bit far to walk to Ben Thanh market but not much of a problem cos taking a taxi is very cheap there. Only thing is to bargain first before cos even if they go by meter, they'll a take a much longer route. Better book tour outside cos the tour arrange by hotel is more expensive.
Reviewed November 30, 2009

Chuan W. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in November 2009
Kawkaw@ HCMC
Very cleaned and well maintained. Staff are very friendly and helpful.
There room for improvement on the breakfast. Otherwise great stay.
We love the location of the hotel. It's about 15 mins to Ben Thanh Market market for good bargains and to most tourist attractions spot. There's many variety of eateries in the vicinity depending on your liking and along the way to Ben Thanh Market market. It's also close to all department store. Taxi is readily available to bring you around at reasonable rates.
Reviewed November 25, 2009

Greg L. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in November 2009
Sophia Saigon - An Excellent Hotel
Extremely well presented, clean hotel Very helpful, friendly staff. The hotel is very central to most of the main attractions in Saigon City.
None really. They have no proper restaurant for meals.
Extremely well presented, clean hotel, with very helpful, friendly staff. At least one person on the desk spoke good English. The room was compact, but very clean and well set out and had everything provided that you could need. The hotel is very central to most of the main attractions in Saigon City, but is still in a quiet area with little traffic noise. We had a late train to catch so they offerred a late check out at 7pm for a very reasonable amount. They have no proper restaurant for meals. Breakfast had a very good choice, but they had very little available for other meals. We ordered some dinner on our first night when we arrived late and were served a thin soup with instant 2 minute noodle with some pieces of dry chicken on top which was very unappetising.
Reviewed November 25, 2009

Roland D. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in November 2009
1st time in HCM
Location location location
construction nearby
The hotel is clean and friendly. It seems to be ideal for accessing all the places of interest within the city, at least we found it so on this our first visit - I would use the same hotel again if coming back to HCM but mainly because there would be no learning to find the way around. We even used it as the base for some day tips to places near HCM such as Vung Tau, tunnels and Meekong.
Reviewed November 24, 2009

J. I. from Canada
Business travelers
Stayed 3 nights in November 2009
Sophia hotel
clean, good location
none
great location for markets and points of interest. plenty of good resturants in the area. Staff is very helpful and friendly. would definatly stay there again and would highly recommend this hotel. We booked a double room and got a single. The night manager was great and got us a family room for no additional cost. They helped book some excursions and got us a ride to the airport ata discount.
Reviewed November 20, 2009

Hans L. from Norway
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in November 2009
New hotel. Dirty outside
Ok breakfast. wifi was working all the time. spotless and new room. Location is close to many good restaurants.
A lot of construciton work around the hotel makes this block even dirtier and dustier than the rest of Saigon.And Saigon is DUSTY
When I arrived they told me the room type I booked was occupied so I had to pay 10 usd extra for an upgrade. I think they should have given me the upgrade for free. In general it was good value for the money. If I come back to Saigon next year I will choose this hotel but at the moment its too much dust from the construction works outside.
Reviewed November 19, 2009

Leif G. from Finland
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in November 2009
new hotel
clean and fresh
staircais to reception
First time in Ho Chi Minh City. Hotel close to everything but a bit dificult to walk around as the sidewalks was in very bad condition. And when sidewalk was OK it was used for parking of motobikes. But it seems that they are concerting the sidewalks now. Breakfast was OK but not too many things but I have seen much more simples. Internet was free and worked perfect. The staircais after a long work in city was a bit hard but I think you can take elevater from the garage. Small rooms but OK for single or couple but if you travel with a friend I would recomend two rooms, and no problem as it is cheep. Will not hesitate to use the hotel again on my next visit to Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed November 19, 2009