Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Sophia Hotel

36-38 Thai Van Lung Street, District 1, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.5

based on
1212 reviews

643 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.8
Location
8.3
Staff Performance
7.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.8
Room Comfort/Standard
7.5
Food/Dining
6.3
All reviews (1212)
Sort by:
Leif G. Couples Finland, November 7, 2009
new hotel

clean and fresh
8
First time in Ho Chi Minh City. Hotel close to everything but a bit dificult to walk around as the sidewalks was in very bad condition. And when sidewalk was OK it was used for parking of motobikes. But it seems that they are concerting the sidewalks now. Breakfast was OK but not too many things but I have seen much more simples. Internet was free and worked perfect. The staircais after a long work in city was a bit hard but I think you can take elevater from the garage. Small rooms but OK for single or couple but if you travel with a friend I would recomend two rooms, and no problem as it is cheep. Will not hesitate to use the hotel again on my next visit to Ho Chi Minh City
Report this review
Thao D. Families with older children Canada, November 5, 2009
great value in hcmc

prompt service, nice showers, yummy breakfast
9
The Sophia Hotel is a great hotel for great value. The service is friendly and courteous. The location is very central to sightsee and shop by foot, if one is leary of constantly using taxis. All rooms are air conditioned, which is essential for HCMC. The hotel also offers currency exchange at competitive rates.
Restaurant Tip: Quan An Ngon is a very good restaurant on Pasteur Street, which is a short walk from the Sophia Hotel.
Report this review
J. B. Business travelers Canada, November 4, 2009
Sophia hotel

clean, good location
10
great location for markets and points of interest. plenty of good resturants in the area. Staff is very helpful and friendly. would definatly stay there again and would highly recommend this hotel. We booked a double room and got a single. The night manager was great and got us a family room for no additional cost. They helped book some excursions and got us a ride to the airport ata discount.
Report this review
Kum Y. Families with young children Malaysia, November 2, 2009
Two nights stay in HCM City (First experience)

New & comfortable room. Good location (walking distance to major tourist attraction places). Friendly & helpful service by hotel staff.
9.3
I booked a family room and stayed in HCM city for three days two nights. The room can accomodate up to 4 persons (Max). I was surprised as the room is huge and clean. Air-con and water heater are working well. I was told by friend that traffic in HCM city is busy and noisy during night. Luckily I stayed at 7th floor and surprisingly a quiet room given by the staff. There are Pizza Hut & a Vietnamese Restaurant nearby the hotel (less than 100 meter). If you want to buy mineral water, there is a Mini Mart nearby as well.
Report this review
Alex L. Couples Austria, November 2, 2009
Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Mingh City

Reasonable price, nice location, friendly personnel, very good guidance- you may ask any question and get a solution in NY minutes
8.3
We stayed for couple days w/o any particular plans but to explore Ho Chi Mingh city. Unlike in Ha Noi, there were some communication gaps - English is not the first need personnel want to know, but the rest was great. We've been searching for a good place to eat snakes and all other things (which we thought would be easy to find) - only with the reference of the reception we were able to show such restaurant. The conclusion is simple - if you need a 3,5* hotel for the price of 2* - that's a nice place to stop by.
Travel tip: go to Mekong trip... not from the official harbor side, but taking a ferry boat and hiring a tiny boat... you may find more funny places for the same money...
Report this review
Yee H. Business travelers Malaysia, November 1, 2009
Sophia Hotel-HCMC

Internet connection-excellent. Clean. Location, staff -good.
7.3
It is better than the hotel in Hanoi for the same price. Staff spoke English. I could get my work done after my business meetings. Overall the hotel served my purpose, a clean place, with good internet access, my Vietnamese associates could meet with me. Taxi's were also easy to find. I noticed the portions they served in HCMC are much much smaller than Malaysia. Eating out is much more expensive in HCMC than Kuala Lumpur.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Close to the tourist areas.
Report this review
Mohammed F. Families with young children Malaysia, October 31, 2009
2 nights @ Sophia Hotel

-comfortable -near to attractive place -friendly staff -easy to find
8
It was my first time stayed at Sophia Hotel, but it is worth it with what I have payed. The hotel is comfortable and the staff is very friendly. The most important thing is I have a good rest in this hotel. This hotel also is located very near to attractive places such as ban tham market, reunification palace, municipal hall, opera house, post office and museum. For those muslim who stay at this hotel it also very easy and near to get "halal" food.
Shopping Tip: Please make sure you have changes in VD and USD during your shopping time to avoid the trader cheating on you.
Report this review
Douglas S. Solo travelers Canada, October 29, 2009
Great hotel in great location

Very friendly staff. Nicely laid out rooms.
8
Excellent value for the money. Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice, clean room with comfortable bed. Lots of hot water in a nice shower. Great location only a few blocks from the Opera House and lots of great bars and restaurants. All together a very nice stay.
Report this review
Douglas S. Couples Canada, October 29, 2009
Very nice stay

Nice hotel in a very convenient location. Close to the main shopping area. Very nice rooms for the price.
7.3
Very quiet, comfortable rooms. A nice oasis in noisy Saigon. Staff were efficient and helpful. Breakfast was only so so. Good value for the money.
Travel tip: Don't eat at the French restaurant across the street. We all had terrible meals - unusual for a french restaurant.
Report this review
Nicholas G. Solo travelers United States of America, October 29, 2009
Great location, a good deal

location, price, view
9.3
This is a good choice for tourists, the location is very good for sightseeing and the price is a good deal. There is a great view from the higher rooms. As it is on a busy street, there is some background noise from the motorcycles but not so bad as to make it unpleasant. Staff is helpful and there are plenty of food options within walking distance.
Report this review
Previous page 461 - 470 of 643 reviews Next page
Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh CitySophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - RestaurantSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - RestaurantSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Business CenterSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - ExteriorSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - ExteriorSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - ExteriorSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Family DeluxeSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Guest RoomSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - SuperiorSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - PremiumSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - DeluxeSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Guest RoomSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Guest RoomSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Guest RoomSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Guest RoomSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Guest RoomSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - LobbySophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - BathroomSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - LobbySophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - RestaurantSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - BathroomSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - ReceptionSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - LobbySophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - RestaurantSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - BathroomSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - ReceptionSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - BathroomSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - RestaurantSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - LobbySophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Bathroom


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A02