Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Sophia Hotel

36-38 Thai Van Lung Street, District 1, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.5

based on 1218 reviews

647 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.8
Location
8.3
Staff Performance
7.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.8
Room Comfort/Standard
7.5
Food/Dining
6.3
All reviews (1218)
Sort by:
Gerald A. Business travelers United States of America, November 17, 2009
good value stay

good location to the center, for tourist &business.many restuanrants near by. small but nice room with comfortable bed ,clean bath room, very friendly staffs
7.7
good value price to stay for tourist or business trip, not so fancy but they keep everything clean. free wirless to check your mail. would stay there again for next visit.
Report this review
Roland D. Couples United Kingdom, November 14, 2009
1st time in HCM

Location location location
7.7
The hotel is clean and friendly. It seems to be ideal for accessing all the places of interest within the city, at least we found it so on this our first visit - I would use the same hotel again if coming back to HCM but mainly because there would be no learning to find the way around. We even used it as the base for some day tips to places near HCM such as Vung Tau, tunnels and Meekong.
Restaurant Tip: Lots of good eating places nearby
Report this review
Hans L. Solo travelers Norway, November 13, 2009
New hotel. Dirty outside

Ok breakfast. wifi was working all the time. spotless and new room. Location is close to many good restaurants.
8
When I arrived they told me the room type I booked was occupied so I had to pay 10 usd extra for an upgrade. I think they should have given me the upgrade for free. In general it was good value for the money. If I come back to Saigon next year I will choose this hotel but at the moment its too much dust from the construction works outside.
Nightlife Tip: Lots of good restaurants within a 200 meter range from this hotel.
Report this review
Yan C. Solo travelers Hong Kong, November 9, 2009
A cozy place to stay

breakfast, cleanness, friendly staffs
7.7
The hotel room is very nice and cozy if you checked into the family room, breakfast is great, but it is quite far from the popular areas for shop and touring yet there are many options of restuarants in a few blocks, you will get to have good food before you start sweating:>
Report this review
Leif G. Couples Finland, November 7, 2009
new hotel

clean and fresh
8
First time in Ho Chi Minh City. Hotel close to everything but a bit dificult to walk around as the sidewalks was in very bad condition. And when sidewalk was OK it was used for parking of motobikes. But it seems that they are concerting the sidewalks now. Breakfast was OK but not too many things but I have seen much more simples. Internet was free and worked perfect. The staircais after a long work in city was a bit hard but I think you can take elevater from the garage. Small rooms but OK for single or couple but if you travel with a friend I would recomend two rooms, and no problem as it is cheep. Will not hesitate to use the hotel again on my next visit to Ho Chi Minh City
Report this review
Thao D. Families with older children Canada, November 5, 2009
great value in hcmc

prompt service, nice showers, yummy breakfast
9
The Sophia Hotel is a great hotel for great value. The service is friendly and courteous. The location is very central to sightsee and shop by foot, if one is leary of constantly using taxis. All rooms are air conditioned, which is essential for HCMC. The hotel also offers currency exchange at competitive rates.
Restaurant Tip: Quan An Ngon is a very good restaurant on Pasteur Street, which is a short walk from the Sophia Hotel.
Report this review
J. B. Business travelers Canada, November 4, 2009
Sophia hotel

clean, good location
10
great location for markets and points of interest. plenty of good resturants in the area. Staff is very helpful and friendly. would definatly stay there again and would highly recommend this hotel. We booked a double room and got a single. The night manager was great and got us a family room for no additional cost. They helped book some excursions and got us a ride to the airport ata discount.
Report this review
Kum Y. Families with young children Malaysia, November 2, 2009
Two nights stay in HCM City (First experience)

New & comfortable room. Good location (walking distance to major tourist attraction places). Friendly & helpful service by hotel staff.
9.3
I booked a family room and stayed in HCM city for three days two nights. The room can accomodate up to 4 persons (Max). I was surprised as the room is huge and clean. Air-con and water heater are working well. I was told by friend that traffic in HCM city is busy and noisy during night. Luckily I stayed at 7th floor and surprisingly a quiet room given by the staff. There are Pizza Hut & a Vietnamese Restaurant nearby the hotel (less than 100 meter). If you want to buy mineral water, there is a Mini Mart nearby as well.
Report this review
Alex L. Couples Austria, November 2, 2009
Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Mingh City

Reasonable price, nice location, friendly personnel, very good guidance- you may ask any question and get a solution in NY minutes
8.3
We stayed for couple days w/o any particular plans but to explore Ho Chi Mingh city. Unlike in Ha Noi, there were some communication gaps - English is not the first need personnel want to know, but the rest was great. We've been searching for a good place to eat snakes and all other things (which we thought would be easy to find) - only with the reference of the reception we were able to show such restaurant. The conclusion is simple - if you need a 3,5* hotel for the price of 2* - that's a nice place to stop by.
Travel tip: go to Mekong trip... not from the official harbor side, but taking a ferry boat and hiring a tiny boat... you may find more funny places for the same money...
Report this review
Yee H. Business travelers Malaysia, November 1, 2009
Sophia Hotel-HCMC

Internet connection-excellent. Clean. Location, staff -good.
7.3
It is better than the hotel in Hanoi for the same price. Staff spoke English. I could get my work done after my business meetings. Overall the hotel served my purpose, a clean place, with good internet access, my Vietnamese associates could meet with me. Taxi's were also easy to find. I noticed the portions they served in HCMC are much much smaller than Malaysia. Eating out is much more expensive in HCMC than Kuala Lumpur.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Close to the tourist areas.
Report this review
Previous page 461 - 470 of 647 reviews Next page
Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh CitySophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - RestaurantSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - RestaurantSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Business CenterSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - ExteriorSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - ExteriorSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - ExteriorSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Family DeluxeSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Guest RoomSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - SuperiorSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - PremiumSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - DeluxeSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Guest RoomSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Guest RoomSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Guest RoomSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Guest RoomSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Guest RoomSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - LobbySophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - BathroomSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - LobbySophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - RestaurantSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - BathroomSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - ReceptionSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - LobbySophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - RestaurantSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - BathroomSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - ReceptionSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - BathroomSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - RestaurantSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - LobbySophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Bathroom


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B08