or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Sophia Hotel

36-38 Thai Van Lung Street, District 1, District 1 - Japanese Area, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam (Show on map)

Book now!

Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Family Triple Bed Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Premier Deluxe Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Premier Deluxe Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Premier Deluxe Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Premier Deluxe Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Deluxe Double Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Deluxe Double Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Deluxe Double Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Deluxe Double Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Deluxe Double Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Superior Double Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Superior Double Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Superior Twin Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Bathroom Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Bathroom Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Hot Tub
Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Hot Tub Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Reception Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Reception Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Lobby Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Reception Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Restaurant Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Restaurant Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Restaurant Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Restaurant Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Business Center Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Interior Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Entrance
Area: District 1 - Japanese Area Number of Rooms: 70
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

based on
1124 reviews

Value for Money
7.8
Location
8.3
Staff Performance
7.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.8
Room Comfort/Standard
7.6
Food/Dining
6.4
All reviews (1124)
Sort by:
Lim P. Couples Singapore, July 21, 2009
Maiden Trip in Sophia Hotel, Ho Chi Minh City

Location of hotel was central. Room clean, spacious and comfortable. Ventilation was good and environment was quiet. Breakfast was fairly better than expected.
8.7
The hotel is located in a central and easily accessible location. The hotel staff especially the porters were friendly and helpful. IT was our maiden experience in HCMC and our friend recommended us this hotel. Sophia Hotel exceeded our expectations of a small local hotel, especially its warm and friendly staff offering excellent help and service. I would definitely go back to Sophia Hotel if I were to visit HCMC again.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Most of the travel attractions were within walking distance from the hotel . Lotteria (*local fast food chain) was just around the corner in case you need a bite at night!
Oleksandra O. Families with older children Ukraine, July 20, 2009
Nice hotel for a short stay

nice and clean. hotal very close to the main attractions and market
7
Hotel is located in the District 1 perfectly located, very clean and cheap. The famous Dong Khoi Street and Nguyen Hue Boulevard are just a short walk away. Breakfast is not very good, no choice, foods are cold. Internet is available at the lobby, as well wifi is also available in the room. The hotel staff are very good and the bellboys are always eager to help. The housekeeping forgot 2 times to put complimentary tea and drinking water. Very cheap taxi in Saigon, around 1 $ in District 1 and approximately 4-5 $ to the airport.
Adam S. Couples Australia, July 19, 2009
Ho Chi Minh

Helpful staff and good location attractions
8.7
This hotel is close to a lot of major attractions. The door staff are very helpful recommending places to eat. Would recommend to any traveler to Ho Chi Mihn
Rachel H. Families with older children United Kingdom, July 17, 2009
value for money

Good location for budget hotel.
8.3
Good location, able to walk to everything we wanted to see ( Notre Dame, Post office, Market etc). Easy to walk to a wide selection of restaurants. Hotel was clean, staff were helpful and polite. Booked family room which had a proper 3rd bed. Had a problem with door lock, promptly sent someone up to help us move bags to another family room. No frills but good budget hotel to lay your head after a day of sight seeing. Worth booking a private taxi to sight see out of city. Don't forget your visa!
Patrick D. Couples United States of America, July 16, 2009
Great location with newly built and clean Hotel.

Hotel is new and at good location; even a walking distance to Diamond plaza shopping, Cho Ben Thanh, famous restaurants, coffee shops. Rooms are new and clean. Staffs are polite and provide good services.
9.3
I would stay at Sophia hotel again and would recommend it to anyone who visit HCM city.
Yu M. Families with young children Singapore, July 16, 2009
Sophia Hotel

The Room was very clean.What I liked was the Free Wifi in the Hotel Lobby where the resturant staff will automatically serve you with water without asking!!
8.7
The Hotel basically is clean and tidy. The hotel staff, from the recepiontist to the bell boy to the security officer were very friendly. The hotel is centrally located at Dist 1 where by walking, you can reach almost all the places you wish to visit. If really need to take a taxi to your destination, its recommneded to take 'Taxi Vinasun' whereby the starting rate is 9,500Dong. Sophia Hotel to the Airport only cost a mere 80,000Dong. Never book a taxi from the airport whom the local taxi driver will slaughter you. Once reach HCMC Airport, Go to the departure hall at 2nd or 3rd level (can't really recall) and exit out and take a local 'Taxi Vinasun' to the city. It's will cost you much cheaper. For night entertainment, You can pop by the pub beside the hotel where one can of imported beer will cost you around US2.00. As for the ladies, you can go to the city area, esp canewell hotl where all the branded goods is located. But take note is much much expensive than Singapore...kekeke...ok enjoy your HCMC trips....bye bye
Jennifer K. Couples United States of America, July 12, 2009
good

good
10
Paul L. Families with young children New Zealand, June 27, 2009
Great location

- quiet (no street noise in room) - walking distance to most attractions in district 1. - modern rooms with great bathroom - friendly and helpful staff.
8.3
Our family (two adults, 3 young children) enjoyed our stay at the Sophia Hotel, HCMC. We found the location to be perfect. We had a family room and it slept us all quite comfortably, with no street noise. The staff went out of their way to make sure that our stay at the hotel was memorable and a happy occasion for us all - even booking trips and day tours on our behalf while we entertained our children. I would recomend this hotel for short stays and especially for the business traveller. I would also recomend this hotel for those on a budget as we felt it was value for money.
Restaurant Tip: There is a great Irish pub called 'Sheridans' right around the corner. It has fabulous meals and great beers at reasonable prices.
Paule D. Couples Australia, June 20, 2009
a pleasant surprise

Clean room Very friendly and helpfull staff
8.3
A great surprise, small but adequate room with tea making facilities..bonus. The service was friendly, helpful,and polite. We were delighted to have booked this hotel sight unseen and discovered a great value for money boutique hotel
Hotel Feature Tip: the roof top of the Rex Hotel, great place for photos, but beer was over priced and the staff inattentive
Wedd R. Couples Philippines, June 8, 2009
A hotel that serves

For the amount that we paid, we were surprised to find the hotel as strangely accessible to the major attractions of Ho Chi Minh (Notre Dame, Post Office, Ben Thanh Market, even the fashionable Dong Khoi Street) and various specialty restos, mom and pop stores and fastfood joints. Hotel is 7 kilometers from the airport (we paid 78000 dong to the airport on a medium traffic).
9
The rooms might be small but the hotel more than makes up for it with its down to earth friendliness (we even got invited to Sophia's third birthday). Hotel offers buffet breakfast with varied selections (we thought we would just get ham and some toast, really) and wifi is provided on every floor and they even have three computers to use for surfing. Plus, need we mention the location? It is two blocks from the Notre Dame and Post Office, three to the City Hall, five minutes to the main shopping district in Dong Khoi and ten minutes to Ben Thanh. And for those who have not polished on their Vietnamese, the reception staff are more or less versed in English (a little hand pantomime doesn't hurt either).
Restaurant Tip: Thai Van Lung (where Sophia is located) offers several dining choices (from the Mickey Dees appeal of Lotteria - but cheaper - to the semi-fine dining atmosphere of Pizza Hut to the much publicized Mediterranean-themed Skewers). We also found this rather charming but homely Japanese ramen house right across Skewers who were run by several young individuals and we like supporting these mom and pop operations.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh CitySophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Family Triple BedSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Premier DeluxeSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Premier DeluxeSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Premier DeluxeSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Premier DeluxeSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Deluxe DoubleSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Deluxe DoubleSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Deluxe DoubleSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Deluxe DoubleSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Deluxe DoubleSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Superior DoubleSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Superior DoubleSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Superior TwinSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - BathroomSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - BathroomSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Hot TubSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Hot TubSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - ReceptionSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - ReceptionSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - LobbySophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - ReceptionSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - RestaurantSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - RestaurantSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - RestaurantSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - RestaurantSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Business CenterSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - InteriorSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - EntranceSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - ExteriorSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - ExteriorSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - LobbySophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - LobbySophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - ExteriorSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Family DeluxeSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Guest RoomSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - SuperiorSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - PremiumSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Deluxe

Customer Reviews - Sophia Hotel, Ho Chi Minh City

AS-AGWEB-3A02