or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Sophia Hotel

36-38 Thai Van Lung Street, District 1, District 1 - Japanese Area, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam (Show on map)

Book now!

Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Family Triple Bed Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Premier Deluxe Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Premier Deluxe Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Premier Deluxe Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Premier Deluxe Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Deluxe Double Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Deluxe Double Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Deluxe Double Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Deluxe Double Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Deluxe Double Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Superior Double Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Superior Double Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Superior Twin Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Bathroom Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Bathroom Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Hot Tub
Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Hot Tub Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Reception Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Reception Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Lobby Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Reception Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Restaurant Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Restaurant Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Restaurant Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Restaurant Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Business Center Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Interior Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Entrance
Area: District 1 - Japanese Area Number of Rooms: 70
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

based on
1147 reviews

Value for Money
7.8
Location
8.3
Staff Performance
7.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.8
Room Comfort/Standard
7.6
Food/Dining
6.4
All reviews (1147)
Sort by:
David B. Couples Australia, August 16, 2009
Second Stay

Location, clean rooms, friendly staff
9
We found our second stay to be better than than the first. This time we had a larger room on the 8 floor with a nice bathroom and it was very comfortable. It was possible to pick up a strong wifi signal and the TV has many channels including the Aussie channel. While i did not have breakfast at the hotel there are many places nearby to eat.
Shopping Tip: Go to the market and buy a few cloths as prices are very competitive
John P. Solo travelers Australia, August 11, 2009
A good place to stay in Ho Chi MIn CIty

Good central location Friendly and helpful staff Free access to internet
7
The Sophia is a reasonably priced hotel that is in a good central location within the city and in walking distance to important sites such as Notre Dame Cathedral and Hotel De Ville. The room was comfortable and adequately furnished, and the breakfast included within the tarrif had a vatiety of Western and Asian foods. Recommended as a good place to stay on a moderate budget.
David B. Couples Australia, August 9, 2009
Nice Hotel

location, clean and nice bathroom
6.7
The hotel is located close to many bars and shops and a trip to the post office area or market is only 10,000 to 15,000 dong. The room is rather small with no in room safe but the bathroom is very modern. Security in the hotel is door and the doormen are very helpful and keen to assist. The front desk is effient and helpful. I enjoyed my stay at the hotel which was also my firdt trip to vietnsm
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: take a day trip to the mekong delta
Denise S. Couples Australia, August 7, 2009
Sofia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Cleanliness, Position
5.3
The Sofia Hotel is well positioned being only a 10 minute walk from the Ben Than Markets, Saigon Opera House and many tourist sights. The rooms although cramped were well furnished and comfortable. There is only 1 elevator so at times you can wait awhile to get between floors, however if you are unfortunate enough to be billeted on the ninth floor, there is no elevator and you need to alight/board at the eighth floor and manouvre a very narrow set of stairs which if you are wearing glasses can be daunting due to the humidity factor in the un air conditioned foyers.
Hotel Feature Tip: Dont ask for milk with your tea and / or coffee as you will get sweetened condensed milk
Chun C. Couples Taiwan, August 5, 2009
My most pleasant stay in Vietnam

excellent location and very cosy, clean room, very friendly,helpful reception and staff though breakfast choice is very limited, you still have yogurts.
9
This was my most pleasant saty in Vietnam during these 16 days trip. We had visited 4 difference locations within Vietnam (two locations with 4 stars hotel but unpleasant experience, smelly room, limited hot water, etc) but stayed in Sophia hotel was the best experience. For sure I would stay at same hotel again and I would recommend to my friends.
Theresia M. Families with older children Indonesia, July 30, 2009
Fantastic experience at Sophia.

Good location, new hotel, clean, nice staff, free 24 hrs internet, relatively cheap.
8
Relatively new hotel, less than 1 year. Room including bathroom is nice, clean with good bedding and bathing materials. Free internet is really a special benefit for our children who spent almost the whole evening there. Helpful hotel staff who was willing to give a ride to my son to a cake shop at midnight just before my birthday - so my son could give me a surprise. Location wise is good as we could find a lot of restaurant around the hotel. Other interesting places such as Cathedral, Ben Thanh Market etc are at walking distance. Price is acceptable, not expensive. Very convenience place to stay in Ho Chi Minh.
Restaurant Tip: Pho 2000 (with their good coffee), Pizza and some other middle level restaurants.
Martin C. Solo travelers Thailand, July 30, 2009
Sophia - Safe clean and central in Saigon

The Sophia is a safe , clean and central hotel in HCMC District 1 and is well located for those who enjoy walking around the boutique shops and restaurants.
8
This was my second stay at the Sophia and I shall stay here again. My room was at the front of the Hotel on the 8th floor and was the largest room on oofer . Tehre was a spa bath in my bathroom and the bedroom furniture was dark teak French colonial style with matching dark timber doors and mouldings . The bathroom was very up market and little can be faulted except there was no carpet on the floor. THe Central Saigon area near the hotel has many good restaurants and boutiques . The staff are friendly and there is free internet in the lobby. I was not charged for late check out.
Nightlife Tip: The Apocalypse Now Night Club is just one street away.
David G. Solo travelers Australia, July 30, 2009
HCM visit

location was good for me. close to market and shops.
6.3
John C. Couples United Kingdom, July 29, 2009
A good stay at a resonable hotel

Very helpful staff Nice rooms (see below) Free internet
7.3
Our first room 807 was small but really nice although did need to change it for our 2nd and 3rd nights as there was a weird mechanical noise in the small, quiet hours that kept us awake. When I asked to change, they saw we were Agoda customer and gave us an upgrade. This new room (802) was bigger but the bathroom was nowhere near as nice. The breakfast needs improving.
Restaurant Tip: Turn left out of the hotel, take the first left and the second Indian restaurant on the right (The Ganesh) was wonderful - probably the best we've ever had.
Martin C. Solo travelers Thailand, July 26, 2009
Sofia Hotel Siagon HCMC

The Hotel is in the Central area near the shopping and nightclubs . Having a touch of old world charm with dark timber furniture and solid core doors . The best rooms are at the front of the Hotel and are a good size. There is free internet in the dining room
8.3
I have stayed at the Sofia twice and like the ambiance of the place. It is within walking distance of the best shops and boutiques. At night the bars are busy and easy to get to including an Irish Pub just down the street. There are two girly bars on either side of the Hotel that do not intrude . The breakfast is included in the price of the room and is a basic buffet . The Sofia is a clean well managed and safe place with a happy feel about the place. I shall stay here next time I am in HCMC
Shopping Tip: There are a number of boutiques in the area selling hand made ladies dresses made in house and unique in all respects. I purchased a number of these dresses for my wife and daughter.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Sophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh CitySophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Family Triple BedSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Premier DeluxeSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Premier DeluxeSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Premier DeluxeSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Premier DeluxeSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Deluxe DoubleSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Deluxe DoubleSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Deluxe DoubleSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Deluxe DoubleSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Deluxe DoubleSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Superior DoubleSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Superior DoubleSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Superior TwinSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - BathroomSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - BathroomSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Hot TubSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Hot TubSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - ReceptionSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - ReceptionSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - LobbySophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - ReceptionSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - RestaurantSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - RestaurantSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - RestaurantSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - RestaurantSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Business CenterSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - InteriorSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - EntranceSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - ExteriorSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - ExteriorSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - LobbySophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - LobbySophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - ExteriorSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Family DeluxeSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Guest RoomSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - SuperiorSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - PremiumSophia Hotel Ho Chi Minh City - Deluxe

Customer Reviews - Sophia Hotel, Ho Chi Minh City

AS-AGWEB-3A04