arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.1
Based on 56 reviews
Excellent 8.2
Based on 2324 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 56 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.5
  • Service 7.9
  • Value for Money 8.0
  • Food/Dining 7.4

Jana G.
United Kingdom
November 15, 2011
Great location but the hotel is tired
Great location
Breakfast adequate though there could be more choice or variety. The surrouding restaurants and cafes fine, some offering a deal for lunch etc. The restaurant in front of the hotel was by far the most expensive one, with no deal for lunch, drinks, and therefore, remained empty for most of our stay.

Barry
Australia
January 04, 2016
Definitely recommended as an ideal...
The location could not be better. It is opposite Recoleta cemetry and close to the weekend markets.

Alek
United States
December 30, 2015
Terrible, dirty rooms, bathrooms in...
Location and view from my room
The room is dirty, the bathroom is dirty and terrible, need major renovations, can't sell this rooms in this conditions! Booking.com should not sell this hotel until they will fix and and clean ...

Bryan K.
Australia
September 28, 2011
Wonderful location
Adequate accomodation, reasonable breakfast, generally friendly staff, great viws from the pool area.
Excellent location for central Buenos Aires. Good selection of restaurants in the immediate area. Safe to walk around at night.

Risa O.
Japan
August 29, 2011
Lovely hotel in great neighborhood
Great location in safe beautiful Recoleta district, nice view from terrace,
The hotel is clean and nicely furnished though the size of room is small. It is located in a safe, beautiful neighborhood of Recoleta. There are quite a few good restaurants within a couple of blocks; a pharmacy store and a supermarket are located nearby the hotel as well. The hotel staffs are polite and helpful enough. Cons- no free wifi in a room (free wifi only in a lobby). Poor water pressure.

Anonymous
United States
December 29, 2015
Very good
Wonderful location and very helpful staff with all our requests. Good place to stay in BA.
Rooms are spacious but are in serious need of updates

Oscar
United States
December 28, 2015
Hotel needs major upgrades
Location
Huge cockroaches. Wifi was terrible.

Douglas R.
United States
June 07, 2011
way oversold as a four star should be 3 star max.
location
The hotel is tired and would rank as a 3 start or less. The workout equipment had to be at least 20 years old. This was a bad deal with many newer nicer properties at lower prices.

Vibeke G.
Norway
April 06, 2011
Great Hotel in the middel of everything
We love the big family room we got and the swimming-pool.
the hotel was nice, if we go back to buenos aires we will use the same hotel.

David
United States
December 27, 2015
Fabulous
Location
Room, very dirty and falling apparat need major renovation can't sell In this condition

John
United States
December 23, 2015
Exceptional
friendly staff who were also helpful about, where to go for dinner, which excursions are suitable excellent value

Jeffrey T.
Canada
February 16, 2011
Great location, good service.
Great location. Clean, well maintained rooms. Free inter-net in lobby. Breakfast included.
Great location, within walking distance of many major attractions. Our room with a balcony overlooked the park. Front desk staff were very good, all of the ones that we in contact with spoke english, so language was never a problem. They were helpful with maps, tips, and advice. Our room was large, well equipped, clean and well maintained. We forgot our converter but there was at one standard (NA) electrical outlet in each room, so we could charge our cameras. Hotel was surrounded with a wide variety of reasonably priced restaurants.

Jeffrey T.
Canada
February 15, 2011
Recoleta area hotel
Great location. Personal service.
wonderful area to start tour of buenos aires. clean bright good-sized rooms. front desk was very helpful with maps, tips, and advice. hotel felt safe and very comfortable. we would stay here again on our next visit.

Value_booker
United States
December 08, 2015
Only for the deeply discounted...
Great location, 500 sq ft room, wonderful breakfast, good value from a deep discounted rate.
Old room needing renovation, chipped and stained bath tub and toilet. Only one drinking glass, and one bathroom glass. Extra glasses are charged!!! Professional but chilly front desk staff.

Siaw
Malaysia
December 02, 2015
Good
Good location
NIL

alan M.
United Kingdom
January 15, 2011
Huge rooms, great location but definately outdated
Big room, great location, friendly and helpful staff, great barman, breakfast buffet except toast
old, virtually everything needs to be updated, jacuzzi bath tub doesnt work well, seatin area at breakfast is too small, food and drinks over priced, pool isnt nxt to bathing area, bathing area very small, gym equipment very old, many things dont work correctly correctly eg sauna and turkish bath
Overall enjoyable with friendly staff throughout the hotel, very helpful and accomodating as they moved us to room with a better view when we found jacuzzi bathtub wasnt working. However, the whole building needs restoring to achieve its supposed 5 star status.No doubt a palace in the 90s but hasnt been touched since then!

Lauren K.
United States
January 07, 2011
Great location in Recoleta
central location,large rooms, good value, clean, free breakfast was decent
old bathrooms, pool/fitness center close in evening,
the hotel reception is very helpful and nice. they had no problem storing our luggage more than a day after checkout (we did a quick trip to iguacu falls). only ate breakfast there, didn't try the hotel restaurant because there are many good restaurants outside the hotel, all along a pedestrian walkway. this neighborhood feels the safest at night, however you must travel elsewhere (ie palermo) for more exciting night life. the sun deck over looks the cemetery, city and river, which is very beautiful and a little creepy. the rooms were very large and had all the basics, shower was a little worn but didn't bother me. best thing about rooms was the blackout curtains so you can fall asleep as the sun is coming up (typical for a night in ba) taxi's are easily accessible from this hotel, never waited more than 5 at any time. there's a good weekend market right there too.

Laura
Australia
December 01, 2015
Pleasant
Location is fantastic, in the heart of Recoleta within easy walk of surrounding suburbs, but of course there's plenty of public transport options too. Great breakfast spread, large rooms.
If you want reliable wifi, forget Hotel Etoile. Rooms are well and truly ready for refurbishment. Pool area is great but bring a light microfibre towel, you get charged everytime you use a hotel towel...

Karen
Australia
November 26, 2015
Great place to stay
Great location with good views over the Recoletta cemetery. Wonderful breaky.
Nothing

MAURIZIO R.
Italy
December 02, 2010
Well Run hotel with great location and huge suites
Location
Gym
Great modern Hotel in the heart of Recoleta, very safe and well run. Gym needs upgrade, but the breakfast buffet is well assorted. Great outdoor area for a drink or a snack. The concierge is very helpful with exchanging dollars and making reservation. I wish they had wi-fi in the rooms as well, but they have free wi-fi in the lobby.