Back to hotel info

Very good 7.2
Based on 28 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 28 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Location 8.4
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.0
  • Service 6.7
  • Value for money 6.9
  • Food/Dining 7.8

Robert E.
Sweden
February 09, 2012
Copacabana beach the view will make you aaawwww.
beachview, close to all copacabana action.
I extended my stay for another night, did'nt get the great rate I got initially, but the average rate for my 4 nght stay was ok, the lobby is a good place to sit around for some people watching, and all of copacabana is just around the corner. the lobby bathrooms are really clean and maaintained.

Everaldo F.
Brazil
November 27, 2010
California Othon Classic Hotel
Location - In front of the Ipanema Beach
Decay hotel. Asking for urgent maintenance.
Maybe once in was a 3 stars hotel. Old room, bed with torn sheets and thick matress, needs urgent maintenance on almost everything: from the broken parts on the floor untill the mould walls. Disgusting breakfast.

Shabbir M.
India
April 11, 2010
Nice Budget Friendly Hotel
Good Price Nice Location - Front of the beach, in proximity to the tourist places. Courteous Staff
Old Decor and ambiance.
We had stayed in the hotel for attending a conference and from a business traveller perspective the hotel offers a good location, nice facilities and has a courteous and helpful staff. However the ambience and décor was on the lower side so if you plan to have meeting with your clients at the hotel this might not be the best choice.

Shabbir M.
India
April 11, 2010
Beachfacing budget hotel
Good view of the beach Excellent Location Courteous staff
Should provide pickup and drop services from the airport
The staff was very helpful at the hotel, because I was on a business conference trip and hence did not have much time for sightseeing in the 4 days stay that I had, however they helped me work around my schedule and advised and even arranged for sightseeing trips in between my busy schedule. Also the location of the hotel is in a good place at the price it provides.

Min Y.
China
March 23, 2010
Value for money at California Othon
close to beach, just across the road, large water flow, abundandant breakfast choices
Old facilities, no indoor swimming pool
I would recommend the hotel as a choice of value for money. It is close to the beach and other dining facilities. It is actually next door to JW Marriot and Tulip. However, the bath room and elevator are fine but really old as you can tell from its appearance. Current in-house Rio-USD exchange rate is 1.7 Rio for 1 dollar.

Josias S.
Brazil
January 30, 2010
California Othon Rio de Janeiro
Great location in front of Copacabana Beach, courteous staff, decent breakfast.
Old building, only 1 elevator working during the time we were there, wireless internet additional on bill, phone calls from hotel very expensive.
When we arrived, staff was very courteous, from doorman to recepetion desk. As we came in at 10 am and the check-in time was 3 pm, we would have to keep the baggage in the hotel storage, but the front desk manager allowed us to check in early. We were given a room facing the sea, as we requested, and the staff was very courteous during the whole stay. Rooms very old, air conditioning functional but was dripping water in room. Elevators very old and slow, we used the stairs most of the time, only 1 elevator was working. Parking is pretty easy in front of hotel if you rent a car, no hotel garage. Overal, was very satisfied with the hotel which was very affordable as compared to other hotels in the area.

Seema D.
India
September 10, 2009
Awesome location, good value for money
Location, Prices, Helpful english speaking Staff
No view from room, Construction in hotel
The hotel is located right on Copacabana beach which makes it perfect for any holiday, and given the great deal that we got it was totally worth it especially compared to other hotels on this street (Av. Atlantica). The staff at the hotel was very helpful (Marcelo) and arranged a tour to Corcovado and Rio city, and helped with directions to places we wanted to visit. The room was on a high floor and was pretty good sized with three twin beds for three people. The only con was we did not have a view of the beach from our room-I forgot to specify this while making the booking. However they did let us check in early without any extra charge, which was really sweet of them. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and sumptous. If I went back to Rio, I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

julio D.
Argentina
February 08, 2009
Its Ok...
Stylish
kind of old
Califonia Othon Hotel is well located beach front in the middle of Copacabana beach. Is not a quiet location but has a great view. High ceilings and boiserie walls give it and interesting vintage flavour. Dont expect a newly recycled hotel but its really ok for the price I paid.

Carolin E.
Sweden
March 27, 2008
Very chic for a low price.
Cute staff!

Brigitte S.
Austria
January 08, 2010
Urlaub an der Copacabana
Liegt vis a vis vom Strand, Fruehstueck sehr vielfaeltig und reichhaltig
Das Zimmer ging zur Hofseite raus und beim Oeffnen des Fensters wusste ich nicht ob es schoenes Wetter gibt, oder neblig, war ein etwas deprimierendes Zimmer.
Die Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter des Hotels waren allesamt sehr hilfsbereit und nett. Egal ob man was gefragt hat oder eine Sightseeingtour oder dgl. machen wollte. Auch bei der Abrechnung war alles klar. Wie gesagt, die Lage des Zimmers mit dem deprimierenden Ausblick war der einzige Wermutstropfen, alles andere war super ok und kann ich nur empfehlen, da es die Weihnachtszeit war und trotzdem Preise, die man zuhause nicht findet.