Back to hotel info

Very good 7.4
Based on 43 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 43 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.4
  • Location 7.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.4
  • Service 7.3
  • Value for Money 7.1
  • Food/Dining 7.6
Sort by

Kelly R.
United Kingdom
February 08, 2010
Rio de Janiero Hotel
Excellent location to Leme Beech (Three block down from Copacabana Beech). For Brazilian 4* standards, hotel and room was very clean and is on par with "Western Standards". Breakfast choice and quality was very good, we were pleasently surprised when comparing our previous trips to Brazil and Rio in particular. Room service was excellent too, and our room was a reasonable size with adequate furniture - no complaints here. Good Gym and swimming pool facilities as well. The hotel gives you free 20 minutes internet access a day whilst we stayed here (peak session).
The breakfast choice and quality was very good, and it therefore, came to a shock that the choice of lunch/dinner was rather "limited". We were disappointed and never ate in again. The quality was slightly lacking as well when comparing to 4* standards.
Overall our stay was very good and would recommend this hotel to anybody who was thinking about staying here in Rio. We found the staff very helpful and friendly, and on call when needed (Eg: Reception, Room Service, Cleaner). The pros I have listed are above so I will not outline them again. We have been to Rio countless times, and it is clear that the local government are getting their act together - Eg: Roads more cleaner, less beggers, feels more safer at night, less traders on beeches that do not harrass you all the time with their products. Prices have gone up by about 25% - 50% comparing to when we was here last time, the R$ is gainning in strength, so please be warned. Excellent for a family holiday with lots of things to do at hotel and in Rio - Recommend you see all obvious sights, go on a boat trip around the islands, and see Buizo's if you have time. Carnaval is Carnaval and no doubt you will have a brilliant time, but please remember it is commercial, and locals tend to avoid. Have a good trip as we always have !!!

Kelly R.
United Kingdom
February 08, 2010
Hotel in Rio de Janiero
See our previous review, we liked so much, we decided to stay a few extra days.
Lunch/Dinner choice is limited
We have stayed here before. For full details see our previous dairy. It goes without saying that this hotel comes highly recommended, and although we never tend to stay in any hotel twice, we would here. Would add though, if you fancy a lazy day away from the beech, the hotel swimming pool on the roof is both relaxing and has amazing views of Rios beeches.

Yotam L.
Israel
December 27, 2009
Average at best
Cheap and location
Not the cleanest hotel, noisy and poor reception services.
I was expecting a lot more. It was dirty and lauod and I would not spent a minut too long there. The price is way too high.

VICTOR A.
Ecuador
August 27, 2009
review of Hotel Golden Tulip Continental
- Excellent location, close to Leme and Copacabana beaches and also a 5 min drive to Sugar Loaf. - Had a nice gym with fantastic views over the beaches - Excellent breakfast buffet
- Rooms are a bit old-fashioned, bathroom had a door that didn't close properly - The use of the safe box is not free and a charge of 3 USD per day was applied, which I believe is not normal for a 4* hotel
I would definitely recommend this hotel. Its situation is ideal if you want to be both close to the most famous beaches (Copacabana and Leme) as well as close to the city centre and other major attractions such as the Sugar Loaf, Botafogo Bay and the Tijuca Forest with Corcovado. The hotel features a nice gym with fantastic views over Leme beach and top of the range work out machines. The buffet breakfast was very good, very varied, the fruit was always fresh and everyday they served different kinds of pastries and cakes. The only negative points were that the rooms look a little bit old fashioned and would need to be refurbished, the fact that a fee is charged for the use of the safety box and during the week-ends the street where the hotel is situated could be very noisy as there are a few canteens and bars just across the street from the hotel, but I guess this is very common all over these neighborhoods which are near the beaches. Apart from that, everything was fine.

Redwan Z.
United States
July 27, 2009
Rio
position
saifty
the position of the hotel is great , it is a few steps in front of the copacapana beach . also the service is very good , the breakfast is very good . and the front desk is very helpful in giving the info related to the city and the safty . which you have to be very careful about it .

Donald M.
United States
January 25, 2009
Golden Tulip Continental Hotel - Rio De Janeiro
Clean, convenient, exceptional continental breakfast, extraordinary helpful staff, near Copacabana beach, bag storage after checkout.
I would advise anyone traveling anywhere to contact Agoda for rooming and anyone traveling to Rio De Janeiro to contact Agoda and request the Golden Tulip Continental Hotel. Desk staff were extremely helpful with cash conversion, advise on travel information and details on how to get to and use the cable car to Sugarloaf mountain and the cog line to Christ Redeemer and helpful in obtaining and directing taxi service to special points of interest.

Wayne T.
Canada
December 26, 2008
Top staff at Rio Golden Tulip- Continental
Staff were outstanding ... all the extra little things to help. Rooms are comfortable ... a wonderful roof-top pool and bar for snacks and views. nicely situated one block away from the north end of Copacabana Beach. We would stay again for certain !
It is not on the beach ... but only a short walk. Watch the traffic here ... it is amazingly hectic.
This hotel is a gem in this very hectic City, with it's staff and simple comforts being the highlights of our comfortable stay. when we had some lost luggage issues from our cruise landing, the front desk personnel were most accommodating in trying to help us track down the missing bag ... many calls at a busy time for them. The room and other facilities were comfortable, with a first class complete breakfast buffet served in a large dining area. The pool is on the roof with views of nearby Copacabana Beach, and a nice snack menu and bar. We would definitely recommend this hotel and we would stay again. Great value for the money.

Alain N.
United States
July 29, 2008
Be warned!!! Keep valuables with you at ALL times.
Do yourself a favor and stay away from this hotel. Dishonest staff and lax management could spell trouble.

Victor B.
Paraguay
January 24, 2011
Excelente hotel pero la habitación standard es peq
Atención muy cordial, desayuno muy bueno
estuvimos de vacaciones y la verdad el hotel es muy bueno, la habitación standard podria ser mejor, siendo la categoria del hotel 4*, también el acceso a internet deberia ser full sin pago. el desayuno fantastico, ubicación del hotel muy buena, zona tranquila, excelente playa.

Ricardo C.
Panama
June 18, 2010
Hotel Golden Tulip Continental
buena ubicación, trato amable y mucha colaboración del counter
ruido, algo viejo, elevadores poco modernos
La estadía fue agradable aunque sólo permanecimos el tiempo de dormir en la habitación, de noche algunos ruidos raros como explociones y gente gritando, por lo general muy seguro y muy centrico de las àreas de restaurante.