arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.4
Based on 33 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 33 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 6.7
  • Location 8.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.1
  • Service 7.8
  • Value for Money 7.4
  • Food/Dining 7.3

8 Brooke P.
United States
April 13, 2010
Great value and steps away from Copacabana beach
Location - just a few doors down from the Copacabana Palace Hotel and steps away from Copacabana beach. Size of the rooms - huge rooms with ample space for a double bed and a large sitting area (which can easily accomodate an extra bed to turn it into a triple). Excellent buffet breakfast - delicious, filling breakfast included in the price of the room with fresh tropical fruits, eggs and sausage, huge selection or rolls, cheese, cold cut meats, juices, coffee and tea - enough to keep you going all morning and then some.
Air conditioning - the AC in our room was on its last leg. Had it been any hotter, we would have suffered because despite running it all the time when we were in the room, it never cooled the space down enough. Poor lighting - despite having lights all over the place and even a free standing lamp, our room felt dark and dim. A few of the lights didn't even work.
The very best feature of this hotel is its location right on Copacabana beach - this alone is worth the price. Everyone in our group also throughly enjoyed the breakfast buffet. It was well stocked and had something for everyone. We found the staff in general to be courteous and helpful (some more than others) and everyone working the front desk spoke English very well. The rooms are spacious but a little bare - perhaps there's too much space to fill! The air conditioners could be upgraded to something quieter and cooler (I'm glad it wasn't super hot during our visit or we would have melted in the room). The shower was great too - lots of water pressure to blast away the beach sand and plenty of hot water. The Lancaster Othon was just what we needed for our holiday. We're not ones to spend a lot of time in the hotel during a holiday, so this one is perfect for anyone looking for a decent place to sleep, a great breakfast and a fabulous location, but it's certainly not a good match for people who enjoy lounging around the hotel.

8.7 Phil P.
United States
March 31, 2010
Good Location
Location, location, location -- right on Copa beach Large room with sitting area Good breakfast buffet -- dining room looks to beach Clean
Only front rooms have any view Furnishings basic Lobby small -- only a couple of chairs Reception helpful when asked but seemed to begrudge the time
If you don't mind a basic hotel and only want to use it as a base to explore the area, this hotel fills the bill. It is right on Copacabana beach and is accessible to the entire Copa/Leme area. Don't use their tour services if money is an object. They are expensive.

6.7 EDWARD D.
Singapore
March 20, 2010
Good View Hotel
The Copacabana Beach view is great.
Hotel staff was quite arrogant, no help at all from them. Breakfast was weak with only a few dishes and always the same things. Boring...
The ocean view is good. The hotel is old, weak breakfast. The staff seems quite arrogant, and no help at all. There's a disco/restaurant two blocks away and it gets quite noisy every night and it goes on till around 6am. I could hear the music and people talking the whole night, right up to morning. Most of the rooms come with only two single beds and not a double bed. Overall, for the price i think it was an ok stay.

7.7 Christopher M.
United States
December 02, 2009
Good Location
I really like the location of this hotel and the employees working there. Both make for a good stay for me.
The rooms are dated and need an upgrade.
I like the location of this hotel and its convenience to the activities I like to do. The rooms are dated and in need of remodeling; however, the price is great in its current condition.

8 Angelika F.
Germany
November 18, 2009
Good value for money
Location
A bit old and weary
Best thing is the location directly on Copacabana. Rooms are large, also the bathrooms, but the furniture is old and weary. Very good breakfast. Helpful and friendly staff. Today in the 3 stars category, the hotel has seen better days in the sixties, when probably it was in the 5 stars category. All in all, you get good value for money!

5.7 Mirta L.
Argentina
August 09, 2012
excelente ubicación pero con necesidad de inversió
la ubicación, frente a la playa de Copacabana y el tamaño de las habitaciones, realmente muy cómodas.
El hotel es muy cómodo pero necesita mejorar sus instalaciones, es un edificio antiguo, y para mi gusto, falto de mantenimiento. El personal no es muy amable, habla poco español y fuera de la gente que trabaja en el desayunador, realmente muy atenta y simpática, el resto deja bastante que desear. La habitación doble matrimonial es realmente muy grande, con una sala de estar muy cómoda, es prácticamente un departamento de un ambiente. Incluiría secador de cabello, necesario sobre todo en invierno, y podría mejorar también el desayuno, poco variado.

7.7 FEDERICO F.
Argentina
February 08, 2010
Lancaster Othon Travel de Rio
Muy buena ubicación
El tamaño del desayunador
Es un hotel con una excelente ubicación. Yo estuve en el piso 13 con vista directa al oceano. Hermoso. Desafortunadamente el desayunador no era lo suficientemente grande para soportar todos los huespedes y era necesario hacer cola para desayunar. Aparte de eso, todo muy bien. Buen servicio

6.3 Daniel M.
Switzerland
September 15, 2014
Station Rio, Copacabana
Ort, gut gelegen, schöne Aussicht
Da ich direkt an der Copacabana übernachten wollte, und dieses Hotel meinem Buget entsprach, buchte ich es, würde jedoch nicht mehr dort gehen, den Preis Leistung stimmt nicht. Gleichwohl der Aufenthalt war angenehm.

5 Kurt B.
Germany
March 11, 2014
Wir waren zum Karneval in Rio.
freundliches Personal, Lage
Keine Kundenorientierung: Am Karneval kein verspätetes Frühstück möglich?! Unsere Heimflug war um 22:00 Uhr; es gab keine Möglichkeit nochmals zu duschen und umziehen durften wir uns in der Toilette. Von Luxus kann da keine Rede sein.

5.7 Sandra M.
Germany
April 04, 2011
freundliche Rezeption, abgewohntes Hotel
Gute Lage, freundliches Personal
Der Eindruck der guten Lage wird bereits beim Betreten der Lobby getrübt. Abgewohntes und verschlissenes Foyer. In den Zimmern sieht es nicht viel besser aus. Das Personal ist freundlich und entgegenkommend, wirkt jedoch etwas unkonzentriert. Ich war froh, ins Hotel "California" (gleiche Hotelgruppe) wechseln zu können. Viel besser!