Back to hotel info

Very good 7.7
Based on 25 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 25 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.6
  • Location 7.9
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.0
  • Service 7.7
  • Value for Money 7.4
  • Food/Dining 7.5

Cheryl F.
Canada
March 22, 2010
good tme in rio
Hi the hotel had a great location, helpful staff & fantastic meals
Not much to complain about - although towels at the pool would have been nice
We had a great time at this hotel. This was our first trip to Rio (mother & teenage daughter) and the location was perfect for us. It is a very short walk to the beach and there are also many other things in easy walking distance. The nearby grocery store was handy - altough with included huge breakfasts and great dinners easily avalable we just got water & the odd thing for lunch. THe pool was smaill (although consistent or even good for Rio standards) but was handy for a late dip or for days when the weather was a bit uncertain. We ate more at the hotel than we originally planned since it was so convenient and great.

Kelly R.
United Kingdom
February 08, 2010
Hotel in Rio de Janiero
The buffett/Dinner was very good in choice and quality. Staff friendly, Bedrooms was comfortable as well.
The location is not too good in terms of where beech is located, and is about a 10 minute walk away.
I would recommend this hotel to anybody, providing if you do not mind the 10 minute walk to the beech. The standard and quality of the hotel was very good when comparing to western standards. We all enjoyed our stay very much. We would definately come back here again. The hotel is ideal for small children and families.

Kevin H.
Canada
January 03, 2010
Merlin Copacabana
convenient location, friendly staff, spacious room, good breakfast, good value for $
bed was a bit hard
We were very pleased with this hotel given that we paid only $90 US per night. Although the bed was a bit uncomfortable, the room was spacious and clean. The location of this hotel is excellent if you wish to combine both the beach and Rio's other attractions, as it is along major bus routes.

Kevin H.
Canada
January 03, 2010
Merlin Copacabana
Very good location, 5 minute walk to Rio Sul Mall and Copacabana/Leme beaches. Friendly staff and decent breakfast provided.
Pool attendant seemed to never be there ... hard to get a towel.
This hotel was very good value for the price we paid. The room was simple, yet spacious and comfortable. The hotel is also in an excellent location, close to shopping, the beach, and right along a major bus route. The rooftop pool was also pleasant, although we were only once able to get towels as the attendant was rarely there.

Liv R.
Norway
August 20, 2009
Merlin Copacabana Hotel
Location very good. Nice restaurant, good breakfast.
The swimming pool was closed due to renovation. We were disapointed that this was not said in the description of the hotel.
We have stayed at the hotell many times when we have been in Rio. It has become our favorite hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The location is very good, near shopping and near Copacabana beach. The rooms are spacy. The bed is very good. Safe in room. Free internet access (cable).

Bo H.
Sweden
November 24, 2008
Rain and Robbery in Rio
Great entrance, imposing building
No ironing device in the room
Arriving after a long night in a plane and in airports, it was a very positive experience to be taken care of by the hotel personnel. The breakfast - (lunch/dinner for us) - made us comfortable. However, we assume that the hotel is observed by robbers. Obviously we were followed by a group of experienced robbers when we took a walk to the Avenida Atlantico. Few people were around, but suddenly we were attacked and robbed. No people reacted, not the local police, nor the beach vendors. To get more guests in the future, I suggest that the city of Rio - sponsored by Copacabana Hotels - would take actions to reach "no-tolerance" levels when it comes to robbery. This time it was no blood-shed, but possibly that potential was there hidden in the background.

Torbjorn A.
Norway
August 22, 2008
Merlin Copacabana Hotel
Good location, friendly staff, decent sized rooms
No particular weaknesses, in my opinion
This was my second stay in Merlin, Copacabana hotel, and I will recommend this hotel for other users. The location is fine, only 3-4 minutes walk from the Nortehrn Part of Copacabana. Its also restaurants nearby, a good one only 100 meters down the street. Through the tunnel, its only a 5-10 minute walk to a shopping center. The hotel has a friendly staff.

Eva S.
Uruguay
February 22, 2010
Carnaval en Merlin Copacabana
Habitaciones amplias, buen aire acondicionado. Muy buen desayuno. Personal muy atento.
El hotel en general esta bien, lo que no es demasiado buena la zona para andar por la noche.
Estuvimos muy conformes con el hotel, y estuvo de acuerdo al comentario de viajeros. Buenas habitaciones, espaciosas, buenas camas. Buen tamaño de frigobar. El desayuno muy abudante y el televisor acorde al tamaño de la habitacion. El sistema de cofre en la habitacion muy confortable. Personal muy gentil y siempre bien dispuesto.

jose P.
Switzerland
April 18, 2011
Bon emplacement mais chambres tristes
le petit déjeuner
nous avons choisi cet hôtel grâce aux photos d'agoda, malheureusement la réalité ne correspond pas du tous. l'hôtel est bien situé est cela est vraiment son seul atout . en effet la réception est quelconque , la propreté date d'hier. je ne vous parlerai pas des prix pratiqués exorbitants pour ces chambres sans intérêts aucun. si peut être une chose positive les caïperinas de la piscine sont à recommander. je suis conscient que les prix des chambres à rio sont prohébitifs mais quand même!!!

frederic M.
France
December 08, 2010
Belle piscine, chambres spacieuses, bien tenues
Près de la plage-Copieux petit déjeuner-près stations bus-bien insonorisé-personnel charmant-belle piscine
panne d'ascenseur mais réparation dans les 10mn
Séjour très agréable, après la ville trépidente on retrouve le calme dans l'hôtel, et un bon bain dans la piscine spacieuse est fort apprécié.La plage de Copa n'est pas loin, elle est très propre, aucun sentiment d'insécurité, le spectacle haut en couleurs des colporteurs est sympa: il y en a un notamment qui déambule avec un petit barbecue et vous propose des brochettes délicieuses; on peut louer un parasol et des chaises pour un petit prix, à la journée.L'hôtel est très bien placé pour les visites, notamment pour celle du pain de sucre, tout près.Bref un séjour excellent (et ce qui ne gâte rien, une des réceptionnistes de l'hôtel parle le Français couramment et vous renseigne très gentiment).