Back to hotel info

Very good 7.5
Based on 25 reviews
Excellent 8.1
Based on 792 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 25 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.5
  • Location 8.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.8
  • Service 7.4
  • Value for Money 6.7
  • Food/Dining 7.0

Sune from Denmark
Solo travelers
Good
Good location between Ipenema and Copacabana beach. Fairly close to the metro.
It was very expensive during the carnival
Reviewed February 15, 2016

BRIAN H. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in October 2010
Great location.
location, price, good sized rooms
no major weaknesses
For our first night in Rio we stayed at the Arena Copacabana Hotel, mainly so we could experience the view of Copacabana beach from the terrace, which we had read was impressive, and it was. Our room at the Arena was a standard room and had no view, so after our one night we didn’t see any point in staying any longer at the prices being charged. We moved to a ‘deluxe’ room at the South American Copacabana Hotel (SACH) which was US$50 a night cheaper. SACH is well located at the southern end of Copacabana, a couple of blocks inland from the beach. It takes maybe 7 or 8 minutes to walk to Copacabana beach from the hotel. A short 10 to 15 minute walk south of the hotel brings you to the northern end of Ipanema beach. The hotel has an ideal location. We were given a room on the second floor. It was an internal room and the only window opened onto a brick wall a couple of metres away. The height of the wall finished at the level of our ceiling so presumably rooms on higher floors would at least be able to see beyond the wall, not that there would have been a heck of a lot to see. But you don’t stay at SACH for the views. The room itself was a good size, slightly bigger than the standard room we stayed in at the Arena Copacabana Hotel. The room was a little dated, but nevertheless clean and perfectly acceptable. There was a queen bed, a small round table with two chairs, refrigerator, wall mounted flat screen TV with cable channels, a closet in which was a safe, and plenty of shelving. The bathroom was also a good size with plenty of bench space and lots of hot water. Basic toiletries (soap and shampoo) were provided. The buffet breakfast, included in the room rate, was good – selection of cereals, fruit, cold meats, cheeses, bread rolls, a couple of hot dishes, etc. It would be perfectly satisfactory for most people. If I was coming to stay in this area again this is where I would stay. Good location, good standard of accommodation, and good pr
Reviewed October 23, 2010

Grant H. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in May 2010
South American Copa
Spacious rooms and helpful staff
Pool was spa size but the beach is near(3blocks)
Arrived earlier than anticipated in Brasil and booked into here based on reviews.The desk staff were helpful and changed some money due the ATM closure at 2200 hours in Rio.The internet and room safe were free which is not always the case in nearby hotels. The hotel is situated 3 blocks from the beach and is in south Copacabana bordering on Northern Ipanema.There are a few shops nearby and the area is reasonably safe!
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Johan from France
Solo travelers
Good hotel & Great quality/price...
Excellent staff service for ordering champagne or room service !
Nothing
Reviewed February 14, 2016

Jose from Brazil
Groups
Copacabana near Ipanema
Location..close to Ipanema
Price
Reviewed February 11, 2016

Andrew T. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in May 2010
Decent hotel
Near the beach, good location, great staff
Maybe there are a few, but they're not worth listing at this price.
Stayed here for 1 night in May 2010, and for the price I doubt there is better. It's a 5 minute walk to either Ipanema or Copacabana beach so location is pretty ideal. The hotel itself has a welcoming reception area and the hotel staff were all great and could speak good English. The room was on the small side, but I expected that. It was clean for Brazilian standards, breakfast was good and wireless internet worked perfectly from my room on the 9th floor.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

Paul P. from United States
Business travelers
Stayed 4 nights in May 2010
Little Jewel in RIO
Very clean, quiet, friendly staff. centrally located near Ipanema and Leblon.
nothing. very, very comfortable.
In room high speed wi fi. Sauna, Swimming pool in the roof. great room service, Near onf of Rios best restaurnats..Terezetto. Charing breakfast room with glassed in vertical wall garden. Agoda goe us a terific rate, WE PAID MUCH, MUCH LESS.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

Stephen from Ireland
Couples
Decent Hotel Great Location
Good Breakfast, Decent WiFi, Great Location
Small Gym and Pool....
Reviewed February 02, 2016

Angela from Brazil
Couples
Good hotel with a few...
Location is fine as near Ipanema and Copacabana beaches. Breakfast is excellent.
Location,as it is neighbour to CEDAE (?), a building that deals with drains so you can get a bad small when walking towards or from your hotel. Also we needed to complain about smell of cigarretes in...
Reviewed January 25, 2016

Nicolas B. from Argentina
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in March 2011
Buen hotel pero con algunos problemas
Buena ubicacion, habitaciones limpias
el hotel es bueno en lineas generales. buen desayuno, la ubicacion es buena, estas cerca de copacabana e ipanema. la habitacion que nos dieron es algo ruidosa. pedir los cuartos mas altos. la habitacion era linda pero tenia un hueco tapado con una madera, no queda muy bien eso. la pileta es bastante chica
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Juan M. from Spain
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in September 2010
Recomendable sin lujos
Situación
Un hotel recomendable por precio y por situación. Perfecto porque está en la playa de Ipanema y cerquita de Copacabana. Las habitaciones son algo peores de lo que parece en las fotos, pero al fin y al cabo, fui a visitar la ciudad y salir por la noche, así que no importó mucho.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

June from Brazil
Families with young children
Fabulous
2 extra-bed for my kid with no problem Breakfast with good quality
Window can't open fully
Reviewed January 19, 2016

Nathan from United States
Couples
Superb
Great facilities and location. Breakfast was ample.
Reviewed January 19, 2016

Alexandra B. from France
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
agreable
grand lit, buffet petit dej varié, bon emplacement
Reviewed September 09, 2013

adriano B. from Italy
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012
un soggiorno molto piacevole ottima la colazione
camera sweet molto spazio grandi comfort
posizione abbastanza buona 300 mt dalla spiaggia servizio ottimo personale cortese e qualificato
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Sudhansh from United States
Couples
Very good
Phenomenal location for getting to Copa, Ipanema, or Arpoador. Very clean. Staff was helpful, but English was a little limited.
Beds were VERY firm. We actually slept quite well, but were surprised. Staff always tried to upsell us hotel services when we asked for recommendations on how to get places or do things.
Reviewed January 11, 2016

Danila from Italy
Groups
Good position and good breakfast
We stay only one night but I think it's absolutely lovely. Nice room, well cleaned. The bathroom is ok, good position in copacabana. Staff was very helpful. We had a problem with the atm near the...
nothing
Reviewed January 08, 2016

MARCO A. from Brazil
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in December 2009
òtimo em todos aspectos
Tudo; Perto de Ipanema e de Copacabana, sem a super e perigosa exposição dos turistas na orla, discreto, boa decoração, pessoal de primeira, café da manhã bom, piscina, sala de ginástica, quartos pra lá de confortáveis, melhor custo-benefício impossível! Voltarei sempre!
O café da manhã podia ser mais variado, mas como é já está bom.
Se você não vai ao Rio pra curtir hotel, mas a cidade, este é o melhor custo-benefício. Preço ótimo num hotel quase excelente
Reviewed January 07, 2010

Naoko Y. from Japan
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014
ロケーションが良い。
ロケーション、シンプルで快適、朝ご飯が美味しい。
ワールドカップ期間だった為、高かったが、値段がリーズナブルであればオススメできるホテルだと思います。
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Isabelle from Germany
Couples
good location and price-benefit
very good location for an affordable price
hotel personal was not very attentive to our tourist needs and more interested in selling their own tours, for a 4 star hotel the breakfast was weak
Reviewed January 08, 2016