arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.9
Based on 213 reviews
Very good 7.6
Based on 563 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 213 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 10.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.9
  • Staff Performance 7.4
  • Value for Money 8.6
  • Food/Dining 7.7

5.3 Ka M.
Hong Kong
May 17, 2013
Old building, classic looks, but need renovations.
good location, classic building, nice breakfast
It was a nice old classic building. From the classic decoration you can tell this hotel was such a beauty in the past. Not so much now. The old windows cannot keep the sound out at all, and with the hotel's location right next to a busy square you can hear all busy traffic even in the middle of the night. To make it even worse was a disco right over the street, around 20m from my room window, blasting their music full on until 4am. With my jet lag it was impossible for me to fall asleep. I would not recommend this hotel if you want a nice rest.

8.8 Wayne
United States
December 03, 2015
Lived up to long-held expectations.
I had wanted to stay at the Gran Bolivar ever since I first saw it over 50 years ago. When I finally did so this year, it was still a thrill, though the place obviously had long since peaked. It was ...

5.8 Aymeric
France
November 30, 2015
Poor service, awfully noisy and...
Good location
Extremely noisy if you have a room facing the plaza San Martin. Furniture and amenities from the 1950s...70s top. Old fashioned and not in good shape. Personnel is nice, tho they can give you ...

7.7 Kin C.
Hong Kong
January 27, 2013
Good hotel in historical building
Good fried eggs breakfast, great historical design building
the hotel has good and convenient location. though the breakfast was "standard", the fried eggs were unbelivably good. the historical design was attractive and the room was very large with a balony. it was a nice stay at lima! also, do try the pisco sour at the cafe, good

8 Paul R.
United Kingdom
January 24, 2013
old world charm in a great location
location and price
Its the sort of place you fall in love with because you feel sorry for it. In its prime it was probably stunning now needs some investment. Room spotlessly clean, super comfy bed with crisp fresh linen bathroom from the 70s plumbing from 1924. Pleasant and helpful reception staff. I would stay again.

5.4 Teresa
Australia
November 28, 2015
perfect location but unfortunately bathrooms...
Location, location, location
matrecas bed hard like table, no water for whole night, at morning warm water only for one person, all facilities run down.

4.6 Vincent
United States
November 20, 2015
Stay elsewhere!
Great location in Old Lima.
Maybe you will like it if you can stand the smell. They make very little effort towards cleanliness .Very old and tired which is to bad for this historic landmark. Go by and visit but stay elsewhere.

3.7 Jeremy K.
United States
January 12, 2013
Centrally located, but too noisy to sleep.
Couldn't be more stragically located, walking distances to all the city attractions.
Love the location, however, the noise at night is unbearable due to poor sound insulation. My wife and up couldn't sleep even with ear plugs. Breakfast was pathetic - breads were stale. The coffee and fried eggs were okay and that's all we were offered for breakfast.

9 Michael P.
Australia
November 18, 2012
Great history and perfect location
The old world style is authentic and impressive. A real landmark.
We loved this hotel: a real relic from a more elegant era. While a little worn, this hotel has romance and history in its favour. The junior suite was just that a suite of roooms, and the lievely view over the street made up for the often noisy traffic. The hotel staff were friendly and efficient. Breakfast was a welcome change from the ususal indifferent buffets....and the on site original Pisco Sour bar is a tourist attraction in itself!

4.2 Peter
United States
November 14, 2015
Stay there for the experience,...
Location is so so, middle of colonial Lima.
no A/C, noisy,

8.8 Terry
United States
November 13, 2015
nice stay at this down-at-heel...
the beautiful old hotel.
poor service at breakfast. needs a lot of work to be restored to its former granduer

8.7 Melissa V.
Netherlands
September 27, 2012
Large hotel, large rooms, def. outdated
In the centre, great help of staff
Upon arrival we were kindly greated by the staff. The room was large and the ceilings high. It was clearly an old building, but everything was nice and clean. The breakfast was good, with fresh juices and eggs. The hotel is close to many shops and a supermarket. We stayed there for two days, which was fine. At checkout we discovered that we did not have a roadmap, the reception staff helped us out very well.

7.7 victoria T.
United Kingdom
August 22, 2012
Faded glory, antique bathrooms
Friendly and helpful staff at reception, location in the old part of town. Wonderful old building
The junior suite was large but rather basic and one of the noisiest places we have ever stayed, no double glazing and horn blowing went on constantly all night. Plumbing was rather antiquated, and water only Luke warm. But despite all this we would recommend it for a visit or stay of a night or 2. Staff were very helpful when we managed to lock ourselves out of the room late at night. Fantastic history and wonderful function rooms. Don't bother eating in the restaurant our food was very poor.

2.5 Catiredan
United States
November 10, 2015
It was awful, don't stay...
Not much
It was ugly, the room and bed was awful. Not safe at night.

7.9 Imegens
Curacao
November 05, 2015
impressive hotel
What a beautiful hotel! Very friendly staff and great breakfast! Our room was big and the bathroom clean.
The mattress was very hard, and we saw some cockroaches in the bathroom. Must be the old building?

9 Michelle H.
United Kingdom
June 20, 2012
Grand historic hotel
Large rooms, with antique furniture and fittings
I loved this hotel for is olde world grandur and history. The lovely large rooms, high ceilings and what looked to be the original furniture and fittings. It's right in the centre of the city. The same reasons which make the hotel grand also make it dated and worn.

3.7 Gina N.
United States
June 01, 2012
Not recommended
Historical features
The hotel staff is not really helpful. The room is not comfortable. The bath tub is old.

4.6 Jakob
Denmark
November 01, 2015
Disappointing
cleaning and place in center of Lima
Staff service, breakfest, toilets and wifi

9.6 Patricia
United States
October 25, 2015
A wonderful stay
a grand historic hotel with large rooms, great atmosphere.. few tourists and situated in front of the best plaza
not a thing

6.7 Valdis B.
Latvia
May 08, 2012
Crumbling elegance
History
I really enjoyed my stay at Gran Hotel Bolivar. I booked the junior suite at a very reasonable rate. Sure it was dated and may have been elegant in the 1960s. There is little of the last quarter century in this room but I love the history! The balcony opens to the city square and the bar serves mean cocktails- is it true that the pisco sour was seved here first? Probably not, but Orson Welles but probably was convinced that this was so. Interesting hotel- how long shall it stay as it is? Hurry before it it brought into this cewntury.