Back to hotel info

Very good 7.9
Based on 214 reviews
Very good 7.6
Based on 617 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 214 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.9
  • Service 7.4
  • Value for Money 8.6
  • Food/Dining 7.7
Sort by

Wayne from United States
Couples
Lived up to long-held expectations.
I had wanted to stay at the Gran Bolivar ever since I first saw it over 50 years ago. When I finally did so this year, it was still a thrill, though the place obviously had long since peaked. It was ...
Reviewed December 03, 2015

Maria E. from Philippines
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
Hotel with great character, close to Lima Centro
Great architecture, old but lovely hotel details, close to Plaza del Armas
I loved the old world character of the hotel, beds were okay but high ceilings and charming old bathroom details were a plus.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Ka M. from Hong Kong
Couples
Stayed one night in May 2013
Old building, classic looks, but need renovations.
good location, classic building, nice breakfast
It was a nice old classic building. From the classic decoration you can tell this hotel was such a beauty in the past. Not so much now. The old windows cannot keep the sound out at all, and with the hotel's location right next to a busy square you can hear all busy traffic even in the middle of the night. To make it even worse was a disco right over the street, around 20m from my room window, blasting their music full on until 4am. With my jet lag it was impossible for me to fall asleep. I would not recommend this hotel if you want a nice rest.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Aymeric from France
Solo travelers
Poor service, awfully noisy and...
Good location
Extremely noisy if you have a room facing the plaza San Martin. Furniture and amenities from the 1950s...70s top. Old fashioned and not in good shape. Personnel is nice, tho they can give you ...
Reviewed November 30, 2015

Teresa from Australia
Couples
perfect location but unfortunately bathrooms...
Location, location, location
matrecas bed hard like table, no water for whole night, at morning warm water only for one person, all facilities run down.
Reviewed November 28, 2015

Kin C. from Hong Kong
Couples
Stayed one night in January 2013
Good hotel in historical building
Good fried eggs breakfast, great historical design building
the hotel has good and convenient location. though the breakfast was "standard", the fried eggs were unbelivably good. the historical design was attractive and the room was very large with a balony. it was a nice stay at lima! also, do try the pisco sour at the cafe, good
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Paul R. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in January 2013
old world charm in a great location
location and price
Its the sort of place you fall in love with because you feel sorry for it. In its prime it was probably stunning now needs some investment. Room spotlessly clean, super comfy bed with crisp fresh linen bathroom from the 70s plumbing from 1924. Pleasant and helpful reception staff. I would stay again.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Vincent from United States
Solo travelers
Stay elsewhere!
Great location in Old Lima.
Maybe you will like it if you can stand the smell. They make very little effort towards cleanliness .Very old and tired which is to bad for this historic landmark. Go by and visit but stay elsewhere.
Reviewed November 20, 2015

Peter from United States
Solo travelers
Stay there for the experience,...
Location is so so, middle of colonial Lima.
no A/C, noisy,
Reviewed November 14, 2015

Jeremy K. from United States
Couples
Stayed one night in January 2013
Centrally located, but too noisy to sleep.
Couldn't be more stragically located, walking distances to all the city attractions.
Love the location, however, the noise at night is unbearable due to poor sound insulation. My wife and up couldn't sleep even with ear plugs. Breakfast was pathetic - breads were stale. The coffee and fried eggs were okay and that's all we were offered for breakfast.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Michael P. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in November 2012
Great history and perfect location
The old world style is authentic and impressive. A real landmark.
We loved this hotel: a real relic from a more elegant era. While a little worn, this hotel has romance and history in its favour. The junior suite was just that a suite of roooms, and the lievely view over the street made up for the often noisy traffic. The hotel staff were friendly and efficient. Breakfast was a welcome change from the ususal indifferent buffets....and the on site original Pisco Sour bar is a tourist attraction in itself!
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Terry from United States
Couples
nice stay at this down-at-heel...
the beautiful old hotel.
poor service at breakfast. needs a lot of work to be restored to its former granduer
Reviewed November 13, 2015

Catiredan from United States
Solo travelers
It was awful, don't stay...
Not much
It was ugly, the room and bed was awful. Not safe at night.
Reviewed November 10, 2015

Melissa V. from Netherlands
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in September 2012
Large hotel, large rooms, def. outdated
In the centre, great help of staff
Upon arrival we were kindly greated by the staff. The room was large and the ceilings high. It was clearly an old building, but everything was nice and clean. The breakfast was good, with fresh juices and eggs. The hotel is close to many shops and a supermarket. We stayed there for two days, which was fine. At checkout we discovered that we did not have a roadmap, the reception staff helped us out very well.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

victoria T. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
Faded glory, antique bathrooms
Friendly and helpful staff at reception, location in the old part of town. Wonderful old building
The junior suite was large but rather basic and one of the noisiest places we have ever stayed, no double glazing and horn blowing went on constantly all night. Plumbing was rather antiquated, and water only Luke warm. But despite all this we would recommend it for a visit or stay of a night or 2. Staff were very helpful when we managed to lock ourselves out of the room late at night. Fantastic history and wonderful function rooms. Don't bother eating in the restaurant our food was very poor.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Imegens from Curacao
Groups
impressive hotel
What a beautiful hotel! Very friendly staff and great breakfast! Our room was big and the bathroom clean.
The mattress was very hard, and we saw some cockroaches in the bathroom. Must be the old building?
Reviewed November 05, 2015

Jakob from Denmark
Couples
Disappointing
cleaning and place in center of Lima
Staff service, breakfest, toilets and wifi
Reviewed November 01, 2015

Michelle H. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in June 2012
Grand historic hotel
Large rooms, with antique furniture and fittings
I loved this hotel for is olde world grandur and history. The lovely large rooms, high ceilings and what looked to be the original furniture and fittings. It's right in the centre of the city. The same reasons which make the hotel grand also make it dated and worn.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Gina N. from United States
Families with older children
Stayed one night in May 2012
Not recommended
Historical features
The hotel staff is not really helpful. The room is not comfortable. The bath tub is old.
Reviewed June 01, 2012

Patricia from United States
Families with older children
A wonderful stay
a grand historic hotel with large rooms, great atmosphere.. few tourists and situated in front of the best plaza
not a thing
Reviewed October 25, 2015