Back to hotel info

2015
Very good 8.0
Based on 436 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 436 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.8
  • Location 8.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.2
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for Money 8.3
  • Food/Dining 6.5
Sort by

YEONSEONG K. from South Korea
Business travelers
Stayed 4 nights in May 2016
really good
best location, nice view, good staff
Reviewed July 05, 2016

Lee-Anne H. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in June 2016
Great location
Walking distance to the Esplande and shops
Reviewed June 30, 2016

SHING F. from Hong Kong
Families with older children
Stayed 6 nights in June 2016
Value for money
Facilities closed too early
Reviewed June 29, 2016

michael T. from Thailand
Couples
Stayed 7 nights in May 2016
Value for money but be prepared for the negatives
From arrival it was clear that agoda booked customers didn't get preferential treatment. No wifi provided and allocated an upstairs room with no lift and 3 flights of stairs to negotiate were difficult for we older patrons. I must thank Marlin tiles next door who started work at 5am Mon to Sat and their incredibly noisy forklift reversing beeper. A noisy air conditioner added to the disappointment. When a room change was requested, reception showed no interest in assisting us but wanted $30 room cleaning charge before they would refer it to the manager. They never got back to us! Located near the railway station and Cairns central was fine but its a good 20 minute walk to the Esplanade and the Cairns main activities. My advice is to look elsewhere and stay closer to the Esplanade. Staff should note that older capital city holiday makers expect better service of the "what can I do to make your stay more comfortable" style rather than be dictated to with terms and conditions.
Reviewed June 20, 2016

Thomas G. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in June 2016
Don't stay there!
Rude staff, noisy rooms and held my laundry hostage! I'd forgotten to pick up my laundry out of the laundry room at 20:30 it gets locked at 20:00! This was a Saturday night and needed my shirt! The "night manager" who was about 20 meters away would only unlock it for a $60 call out fee!! I will never stay there again!!!
Reviewed June 20, 2016

Jane E. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 6 nights in June 2016
Superb location.
As my husband wasn't very well during our stay in Cairns the Southern Cross apartments were ideal, the apartment had everything we needed to be self sufficient, the shopping centre was close at hand, & an easy walk to the Esplanade. We wouldn't hesitate in recommending Southern Cross Apartments.
Reviewed June 16, 2016

Prashanth S. from Singapore
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016
Good location but slightly pricey
If you don't mind walking, it's possible to walk around to most places including the reef terminal and the city centre. But, hotel facilities were not up to the mark, especially pool and gym. Room itself was fine.
Reviewed June 08, 2016

Hiew C. from Malaysia
Families with older children
Stayed 4 nights in June 2016
relaxing accomodation and within walking distance to jetty
relaxing accommodation and within walking distance to jetty to cruise to the reef . Near shopping and food is not a problem. there is a microwave, electric stove a big refrigerator in the kitchen. A washing machine and clothes dryer .
Reviewed June 07, 2016

CHANGJIA L. from Australia
Business travelers
Stayed 6 nights in May 2016
Good
good for a early flight, they can drive you from 430am to 10pm
Reviewed June 05, 2016

Wai A. from Hong Kong
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in May 2016
Nice apartment, great location
Great location just few steps away from shopping center.
Reviewed May 26, 2016