My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Sparkling Backpacker

Jl. Kayun 2AB, Surabaya Center, Surabaya, Indonesia (Show on map)

Book now!

Sparkling Backpacker Surabaya - Bathroom Sparkling Backpacker Surabaya - Guest Room Sparkling Backpacker Surabaya - Exterior Sparkling Backpacker Surabaya - Facilities Sparkling Backpacker Surabaya - Interior Sparkling Backpacker Surabaya - Interior Sparkling Backpacker Surabaya - Guest Room Sparkling Backpacker Surabaya - Guest Room Sparkling Backpacker Surabaya - Guest Room Sparkling Backpacker Surabaya - Guest Room Sparkling Backpacker Surabaya - Interior Sparkling Backpacker Surabaya - Guest Room Sparkling Backpacker Surabaya - Guest Room Sparkling Backpacker Surabaya - Interior
Area: Surabaya Center Number of Rooms: 20
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Pleasant

6.1

based on
98 reviews

Value for Money
6.6
Location
8.4
Staff Performance
5.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
4.7
Room Comfort/Standard
6.2
Food/Dining
5.3
All reviews (98)
Sort by:
Peng L. Solo travelers China, May 9, 2014
quite nice

very nice
10
nice stay lovely staff
Orchida D. Groups Indonesia, August 4, 2013
a budget backpackers hostel near to the station

location, location, location
4.7
backpackers group who need a cheap hostel with strategic location, quite clean room & the important thing is the easy access
Nikolay K. Couples Russia, July 30, 2013
Weird hotel

Internet, location
4
It was terrible stay in all my experience. I made a big mistake moving from more cheap and clean hotel to this one just because it situated closer to the place i need to visit every day. It was more expensive and dirty. Shower has smell like toilet went from drainage because people using their shower to pee instead going to toilet which is shared. No hot water, so u must be prepared to take shower with cold water. Being at bed u can feel all the springs in mattress by ur body and beddings was in terrible condition too. They said they currently under renovation, but even renovated rooms in terrible conditions. If u'll be "lucky" and get non-renovated room u'll receive real shock as me at my 1st night. They have TV in rooms but signal so bad, it's really hard to watch it. And in my case i got remote control from different tv which wasn't worked with my tv. Breakfast in hotel is very simple and better even don't try it. In the kitchen where cooking that food a lot of rats. And other guest tell me that they using expired ingredients for cooking. Anyway, location of hotel is good, Surabaya Plaza Mall is nearby and it provide free wifi which speed could be from 0 and up to 3mbps. But it's really a bit overpriced. You can find at Agoda cheaper hotels with more clean rooms and get more comfortable stay at all
Yong Y. Couples China, July 19, 2013
terrible

location location location
4
except location I have nothing positive to share about. If it's not we are going to catch the early morning train I will never stay there... the hotel around the corner(just one street away) with a little bit higher price turned out to be much much much better. Next time I will definitely NOT stay in Sparkling Backpacker.
Christal C. Couples United States of America, May 3, 2013
Friendly and accommodating staff

Staff, they turned on our AC before arrival and made sure we had breakfast in the morning
6.7
Dong L. Solo travelers United States of America, April 25, 2013
location

location, easy access to train station
7.7
later night arrival, easy to find it by ourselve.
Daniel S. Solo travelers United States of America, April 3, 2013
Very low end budget stay

There was only one good thing about this place. It was close to the train station.
3.7
No toilet in room (there was a shower hose and sink but no toilet. The toilet was on the next floor but did not have toilet paper. The internet was too slow to even check email. I would say, "you get what you pay for" but at a night it was still not a deal.
Astrid N. Couples Malaysia, March 14, 2013
I was glad that it was for a night's stay only

The staff were friendly
4.3
Never again as the toilet was bad with cracked tiles and doors that cannot be closed. At least there is hot water available throughout the day. The lobby area is quite dusty and the furniture were shabby.Although the outlet is near a shopping mall and the availability of taxis, it is only suitable for the single backpackers who are used to the rough life
Tee H. Solo travelers Malaysia, February 12, 2013
Good location but no good hotel

Near by train station
5
Location is good. But the hotel need a lot of improvement. Breakfast is simple and may be not so enough if you are late coming down. Not recommend stay here
Ramesh B. Solo travelers Malaysia, January 21, 2013
short stay

clean, centrally located and easy access to shopping malls
4
Confortable and the staff were helpful with directions

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Sparkling Backpacker SurabayaSparkling Backpacker Surabaya - BathroomSparkling Backpacker Surabaya - Guest RoomSparkling Backpacker Surabaya - ExteriorSparkling Backpacker Surabaya - FacilitiesSparkling Backpacker Surabaya - InteriorSparkling Backpacker Surabaya - InteriorSparkling Backpacker Surabaya - Guest RoomSparkling Backpacker Surabaya - Guest RoomSparkling Backpacker Surabaya - Guest RoomSparkling Backpacker Surabaya - Guest RoomSparkling Backpacker Surabaya - InteriorSparkling Backpacker Surabaya - Guest RoomSparkling Backpacker Surabaya - Guest RoomSparkling Backpacker Surabaya - Interior


AS-AGWEB-3C02