Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 498 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.6
  • Service 8.6
  • Value for money 8.0
  • Food/Dining 7.3

Adrian M. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016
Cheeky Long Weekend in Melbourne
We had a great weekend away eating and drinking our way round Melbourne.
Reviewed June 15, 2016

ran A. from China
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in June 2016
It is good
It is good. But room service left something to be desired. Plus the noise around 6:30 in the morning for two nights straight (possibly coming from construction workers) were not at all pleasant.
Reviewed June 08, 2016

Elizabeth L. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in May 2016
Suggestions for improvement
The hotel is a bit tired looking. I'm sure with some investment in refurbishment like new mattresses and fixing the Jacuzzi it may be 5 star again. Bathroom is incredibly cramped; the problem is compounded with wardrobe placed inside it. Breakfast spread should provide better variety befitting of a 5 star hotel.
Reviewed May 25, 2016

Veronica C. from Italy
Business travelers
Stayed 3 nights in April 2016
Well located hotel
Near the main street in downtown Melbourne where restaurants are opened till late, Rooms are very nice and clean. Front desk very friendly,
Reviewed May 13, 2016

Katie G. from Australia
Families with young children
Stayed 4 nights in May 2016
Stamford Plaza
We're thrilled with our stay. Heaps of room for the kids and super friendly staff.
Reviewed May 08, 2016

Benjamin G. from Australia
Business travelers
Stayed 3 nights in April 2016
Good but could do better
The Stamford Plaza was comfortable, however, with such significant competition in the marketplace, this location within the chain really does struggle to maintain its 5 star rating. This is no reflection on the service of the staff, however the hotel is dated and the restaurant/bar even more so. I stayed in a King Suite which in all honestly, struggled to justify the upgrade expense.
Reviewed May 07, 2016

JORDAN N. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
Couldn't ask for more
Great value for money Good location Will stay again
Reviewed May 05, 2016

Mylinda J. from Australia
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
Always a great stay!
The staff are always exceptional in this Hotel. Friendly and Fast! Rooms are always excellent and well maintained. As a regular guest - I wish I could accumulate peak points awards even though I book through a third party.
Reviewed May 02, 2016

Sean L. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
Broken lift that almost made us late for a flight.
Waiting at the lift for over half an hour and finally got on one that then stopped at every level because almost everyone was trying to get out of a 10 story + hotel at the same time. I was amazed that the staff did not open all of the service lifts for the guests. I would have taken the stairs but my Wife and I had two large suitcases and backpacks with us. It is shocking that such a massive hotel only has two small lifts to service it.
Reviewed April 27, 2016

Winnie H. from Hong Kong
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Superb location
Only a street away to the best Chinese restaurant in Victoria, Flower Drum. Friendly staff. Room is spacious and very comfortable.
Reviewed April 04, 2016