Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.4
Based on 1772 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1772 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.4
  • Service 8.3
  • Value for money 8.6
  • Food/Dining 7.6

JIAO W.
Singapore
April 26, 2014
Clean, great, awesome staff, comfortable
Wonderful staff, great pool, centrally located (within Karon)
The staff were one of the best features of the hotel, and I loved the pool for relaxing. The hotel being relatively new was clean and in fantastic condition. The staff were attentive and went the extra mile, making them one of the best assets of the hotel. Also, the hotel is situated very close the the beach, and also to many restaurants. Kata and Patong beaches are a short drive or scooter ride away if you get bored of the Karon area. I highly recommend this hotel.

Christopher D.
New Zealand
April 22, 2014
great
staff great , nice pool , queit
great

Melanie L.
Singapore
April 21, 2014
Decent cleanliness with wifii
Location, design, swimming pool
It is pretty decent for the amount you pay for the regular deluxe/superior rooms. Pretty nice pool and room toilet. Bed wasnt very comfortable. Location still good. The normal room was just ok but the others like suites seem pretty awesome. Most impressive was the staff making an arrangement for us to shower before heading to the airport even after we had checked out, as there were no shower facilities other than the rooms. 6 stars out of 5 for initiative and service.

Chant K.
Singapore
April 19, 2014
Quiet environment. Feels refreshing.
private pool, clean environment and walking distance to beach
Staffs are very friendly and attentive. Will definitely recommend to friends.

Michael A.
Japan
April 14, 2014
Excellent hotel. Really nice Staff.
Friendly Staff, Quiet, Good lcation
Overall Sugar Marina Resort is excellent. The staff will go out of their way to make you happy. I requested to change my room - as I wanted something backside and more quiet - and they accommodated my request and I was really happy with the new room. Particularly Bo and Pepsi were both really nice and helped anyway they could. Also the Breakfast staff were incredibly friendly and great service. My only complaint: a specific night time male staff. Not sure his name. Balding (or shaved head Thai of course), late 20s early 30s. When checking out - I was late for my flight and he would not let me leave until they had checked the room. This was fine but he told the taxi driver I couldn't leave and basically forced me to wait, and was being very aggressive toward me. I told him to put any outstanding charges on my CC card which they had but he refused. I ended up missing my flight. Not entirely his fault, as I woke up late, but he certainly didn't help the situation and he was completely unapologetic about it all. However above withstanding Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach is a great hotel, they have a fantastic staff, pool, breakfast, location and I highly recommend as a place to stay. I will definitely stay here again when I am back in Phuket.

La-or C.
Thailand
April 12, 2014
Very disappointing when check in
Location
We chose this hotel because it's near Karon beach and we called to confirm that our rooms are twin beds two days before arriving.The reception told us that our rooms are twin beds and have been assigned.When we arrived at reception,we were informed by hotel reception that we have to move to another hotel at Kata beach because there is problem with reservation system.They don't apologise,they kept saying that we have to move.We told them that we have called and confirmed the rooms 2 days ago and we don't like Kata beach,we don't want to move.They don't listen,so finally we told them that it's no use to waste their time convincing us to move to Kata beach,please look for rooms for us. After half an hour,they were ready to show us two rooms but not check-in.We asked why they have to show us the rooms,we want to check-in.So we moved our luggages into the rooms just to find out later that one of the room is so small especially the bathroom.Another room is acceptable.Later we were told by their staff that they wanted to save these two rooms for another group of guests who stay longer than us.We were so disappoined! We will never book this hotel again.

Raul B.
United States
April 11, 2014
Adequate
The service of the staf was outstanding, storage of luggage after check out was great, excellent airport shuttle service excellent (they arrange it, but we pay for it)
Due to the vue of the parking. Lot, the outside veranda please the heat of the day, I feel the veranda was not needed, the room could have been a little larger by extending the room and eliminating the veranda, as we found the room a little to small and inadequate armoire and dresser, no space to store the suitcases, we felt that the hotel was utilizing storage space so they can reach artistic effect. Concerning the bathroom, we felt the use of glass doors does not give privacy, also my husband who is visually impaired bumped his head on the glass doors... The touch of free sundries in the refrigerator was a plus, so was welcoming icecream .

David O.
Australia
April 05, 2014
pleasant enough but not quite as good as I was exp
Location in Karon but ended up catching taxi to Patong every day. friendly staff and blackout curtains.
Ok, nothing special considering the price. Was happy with the customer services but they're trying to be a bit more upmarket then they really are.

Vit S.
Australia
April 02, 2014
excellent only point - missing brush for sump
location, swimming pool, staff
excellent location, service, pool- will come back !

Chayot S.
Thailand
April 01, 2014
Too long time for check in.
Notting