My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach

542/1 Patak Road, Karon, Phuket, Thailand (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Sugar Palm Resort - Karon Beach

Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Hotel Entrance Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Hotel Signage Night  Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Deluxe Pool Access Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Deluxe Pool Access Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Pool Side Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Deluxe Pool Access Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Deluxe Pool View Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Deluxe Pool View Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Deluxe Pool View Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Deluxe Room Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Deluxe Room Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Deluxe Room Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Deluxe Room Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Deluxe Room Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Deluxe Room Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Superior
Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Superior Room Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Superior Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Car Park Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Swimming Pool Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Lawn at pool Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Overview Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Garden Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Lobby Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Tann Tanod Restaurant Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Internet Corner Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Internet Corner Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Fitness Room
Hotel Area: Karon Number of Rooms: 146
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.2

based on
1287 reviews

Value for Money
8.5
Location
8.8
Staff Performance
8.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.4
Room Comfort/Standard
8.3
Food/Dining
7.4
All reviews (1287)
Sort by:
Kenneth Y. Couples Singapore, August 15, 2009
Great hotel, Great Service, Unreal Prices

Pool access room was sweeeeet. Staff are extremely helpful and always smiling. Free Dvd Rentals to keep your kids occupied. The see-thru bathroom added an extra touch to the room. Location is fantastic, tucked in a corner away from the roads..2 mins walk to the beach.
8.3
Great place for people who are out for a quiet getaway. Extremely near Karon beach, this beach is much better as compared to Patong that is flocked by tourists. Recommended for couples. Do get the pool access room, you'll absolutely love it! jump in the pool in the night or at noon with a can of ice cold beer.
Travel tip: 300 baht for a tuk tuk ride to patong beach, Try Savoey Seafood restaurant, live seafood, prices are abit on the high side when compared to other restaurants..
Amellia R. Couples Indonesia, August 14, 2009
good hotel but poor administration

strategic location, nice and clean room, spacious bathroom, nice staffs
7.7
we stayed for 4 nights at sugar palm. I think they don't manage their room booking properly because when I arrived for check in, they didn't have room from me, while I already book the hotel 1 month before. I got transferred to sugar palm hillside at kata. Have no choice beacuse it's already 11pm and I'm tired.Really disappointed by the hotel's administration. Request to transfer back to sugar palm karon the next day and fortunaltely there is a room available. The room is quite big, comfort, and clean. The bathroom is clean and nice with a big bath tub. The staffs are nice.
Margaret A. Couples Singapore, August 11, 2009
Sugar Palm Resort karon

Value for money. clean, spacious room, modern interior
8.3
For the price a night during low season, the room is a steal. We had a pool access room and a balcony.The pool access rooms also have a open bath room concept with blinds. Unlike conventional hotel bathrooms, Bath Tub and shower areas are seperated. This way we dun have to stand in the slippery bath tub to shower. Breakfast served was consistant. The veg are fresh and has a egg station. Staffs are friendly, helpful and polite. Free DVD are available at all times, as well as the HBOs on TVs. Location of the resort is fantastic, food, shops massage are a stone throw away. Walk to the beach is around 5 mins. You need to walk out and cross a small road to the beach If you rent a motor bike for $250 baht a day, you can ride to patong in 15 to 20 mins.
Restaurant Tip: nearby thai restaurants - Papaya serves great thai food at affordable price. Give the scandinavian restaurant: little mermaid a miss.
Kimberly K. Couples United States of America, July 26, 2009
The Sugar Palm Hotel was sweet!

Clean spacious rooms Cheap rooms Great breakfast buffet Very friendly and helpful staff Free DVD rentals Free bottles of water on arrival Very central location
10
I really enjoyed my time at the Sugar Palm Hotel in Karon Beach, Phuket. It is definitely the best hotel money has ever bought me. It was clean, staff were friendly, very close to the beach, and had a lovely buffet breakfast. They had movie rentals for free, free bottled waters, pool towels and even a balcony to catch the last bits of sun. It was recommended to us by some friends and I would definitely stay there again and would recommend it anyone heading out that way. Thanks to the staff who made our weekend so nice and relaxing!
Restaurant Tip: Since we spent the most of our weekend eating through Karon, be sure to check out as many different little places as possible. The Red Onion, which is just about a 5-10 minute walk from the Sugar Palm, was very delicious and fairly cheap!! The places closer to the main road and beach were a bit more expensive. Enjoy and be sure to wear lots of sunblock!! :)
Prasert P. Solo travelers Thailand, July 20, 2009
Nice hotel - Nice People

- Decoration - Design - The pool
9
The hotel is nicely located around Karon beach (nearby the circle). Its not difficult to find even riding on the public bus. I took around 1 hour from Airport to the hotel. The hotel staffs are also full with service mind. They always smile and helpful. I left my swimming goggle a day around the pool. Later I ask the staffs and they were really helpful. Eventually, I got it back with their smile. The room and hotel design is cool. It is one of the cheapest I've stayed but worth paying.
Richard M. Couples United Kingdom, July 17, 2009
what a bargain

great pool
7.3
This was the third time i have stayed at the sugar palm in the last 7 months, the last two times with two other couples. The hotel is simple but really well thought out, the pool has got to be the best feature. The staff are welcoming and friendly with good command of english, however this first class overall impression can be destroyed by the apparent arrogance and at times bad attitude of the lady that appears to run the reception. On check out she insisted we pay for a misplaced laundry bag, which I assured her we hadnt used. As we started to leave she bullied my friends girlfriend into making a payment! We turned the taxi round and went back to the room collecting the illusive laundry bag and retuning to reception to confront the supervisor. Really this is not how i have come to experience Thai hospitality and customer service! I really hope this was a one off. Otherwise this is a really great place to stay.
Hotel Feature Tip: get a pool access room
Karthik D. Couples India, July 16, 2009
Worth staying, peaceful stay

Hotel was worth for money, nice stay..enjoyed very much, nice staff, nice room, good bathtub, very clean.
7.3
stay was very nice which is worth for money.Its very near to the karon beach.only 5minutes walk.lots of resturants & bars near by. only 15mins to patong beach by tuk tuk..30mins to phuket town.totally our phuket trip was excellent..hotel was good. my wife liked it too.will definitely stay again.
Andrea H. Couples United States of America, July 13, 2009
Sugar Palm Karon

Close to the beach. Modern, nice pool, quiet, and helpful staff.
9
We really enjoyed our stay here and would come back again. It was a great value. Very nice and modern hotel with good amenities. The hotel is very close to the beach and does have a nice pool. There are good restaurants in walking distance. Good area but Karon may not be the bast location for families, Kata may be better.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Close to the beach and to great food.
Bruce, K. Couples Malaysia, July 13, 2009
Value for money stay

Clean, tidy and comfortable rooms. Good location and within walking distance of the beach. Free internet connection. Good stock of DVDs to borrow from. Pleasant staff.
9
The price is really reasonable for the kind of accommodation you get. It was everything the pictures indicates and more. Everything is within walking distance, food and convenience store. I would definitely come back to this hotel the next time I visit Phuket and recommend it to others. Two thumbs up for Sugar Palm Karon Resort, Phuket.
Restaurant Tip: Right next to the hotel is a massage parlour that offer thai massages for only 200baht (one of the cheapest in the area). A few metres away is a store that serves yummy padthai and spicy pork rice for only 40 and 50 baht respectively. This is considered cheap as compared to the surrounding stores which range from 60 to 70 baht.
Tom V. Couples Netherlands, July 11, 2009
Good deal next to the beach

Modern looking rooms with bathtub, flatscreen TV, dvd player and a large swimming pool.
7
The Sugar Palm resort in Karon is a nice modern hotel close to a more quiet part of the Karon beach. It has modern looking rooms with everything you need including flatscreen TV, and dvd-player (incl. free rental of a small selection of dvd's). We had no diner or breakfast in the restaurant so can not tell you about it. Unfortunately the cleaning and maintenance of the Hotel is as for most places in Thailand not very good. The sheets and towels are clean, but the rest is forgotten (hairs in the bathtub, garbage under the bed, fungus in the showercurtain and floortiles, dirty mirrors and walls). Even for the smaller price you can expect a bit better and I hope the Thai will start to understand is has to improve if you want to keep the tourists coming! But unless these problems this is still a good deal.
Travel tip: Note that for renting a motorbike at one of the many shops (+/- 200 BHT per day) they will only give it if you give your pasport as a deposit. They will not even rent it to Thai if the give their indentity card (to many thefts).

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Swimming poolSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Hotel EntranceSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Hotel Signage Night  Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Deluxe Pool AccessSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Deluxe Pool AccessSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Pool SideSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Deluxe Pool AccessSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Deluxe Pool ViewSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Deluxe Pool ViewSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Deluxe Pool ViewSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Deluxe RoomSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Deluxe RoomSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Deluxe RoomSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Deluxe RoomSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Deluxe RoomSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Deluxe RoomSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - SuperiorSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Superior RoomSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - SuperiorSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Car ParkSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Lawn at poolSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - OverviewSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - GardenSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - LobbySugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Tann Tanod RestaurantSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Internet CornerSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Internet CornerSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Fitness RoomSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Tour Information DeskSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Installation ArtSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Worldwide ClockSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Karon CircleSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Karon BeachSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Karon BeachSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Karon BeachSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Karon BeachSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Karon Beach

Customer Reviews - Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach, Phuket

AS-AGWEB-3B02