My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach

542/1 Patak Road, Karon, Phuket, Thailand 83100 (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Sugar Palm Resort - Karon Beach

Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Hotel Entrance Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Hotel Signage at Night Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Lobby Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Deluxe Room Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Deluxe Room Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Deluxe Room Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Deluxe Room - Bathroom Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Deluxe Room - Bathroom Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Deluxe Pool View Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Deluxe Pool View Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Deluxe Pool View - Bathroom Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Deluxe Pool Access Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Deluxe Pool Access Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Deluxe Pool Access Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Deluxe Pool Access - Bathroom Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Tann Tanod Restaurant
Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Tann Tanod Restaurant Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Tann Tanod Restaurant Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Tann Tanod Restaurant Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Swimming Pool Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Lawn Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Internet Corner Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Internet Corner Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Fitness Room Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Tour Information Desk Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Car Park Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Installation Art Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Art Team Member
Area: Karon Number of Rooms: 146
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.3

based on
1359 reviews

Value for Money
8.6
Location
8.8
Staff Performance
8.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.4
Room Comfort/Standard
8.3
Food/Dining
7.4
All reviews (1359)
Sort by:
Prasert P. Solo travelers Thailand, July 20, 2009
Nice hotel - Nice People

- Decoration - Design - The pool
9
The hotel is nicely located around Karon beach (nearby the circle). Its not difficult to find even riding on the public bus. I took around 1 hour from Airport to the hotel. The hotel staffs are also full with service mind. They always smile and helpful. I left my swimming goggle a day around the pool. Later I ask the staffs and they were really helpful. Eventually, I got it back with their smile. The room and hotel design is cool. It is one of the cheapest I've stayed but worth paying.
Richard M. Couples United Kingdom, July 17, 2009
what a bargain

great pool
7.3
This was the third time i have stayed at the sugar palm in the last 7 months, the last two times with two other couples. The hotel is simple but really well thought out, the pool has got to be the best feature. The staff are welcoming and friendly with good command of english, however this first class overall impression can be destroyed by the apparent arrogance and at times bad attitude of the lady that appears to run the reception. On check out she insisted we pay for a misplaced laundry bag, which I assured her we hadnt used. As we started to leave she bullied my friends girlfriend into making a payment! We turned the taxi round and went back to the room collecting the illusive laundry bag and retuning to reception to confront the supervisor. Really this is not how i have come to experience Thai hospitality and customer service! I really hope this was a one off. Otherwise this is a really great place to stay.
Hotel Feature Tip: get a pool access room
Karthik D. Couples India, July 16, 2009
Worth staying, peaceful stay

Hotel was worth for money, nice stay..enjoyed very much, nice staff, nice room, good bathtub, very clean.
7.3
stay was very nice which is worth for money.Its very near to the karon beach.only 5minutes walk.lots of resturants & bars near by. only 15mins to patong beach by tuk tuk..30mins to phuket town.totally our phuket trip was excellent..hotel was good. my wife liked it too.will definitely stay again.
Andrea H. Couples United States of America, July 13, 2009
Sugar Palm Karon

Close to the beach. Modern, nice pool, quiet, and helpful staff.
9
We really enjoyed our stay here and would come back again. It was a great value. Very nice and modern hotel with good amenities. The hotel is very close to the beach and does have a nice pool. There are good restaurants in walking distance. Good area but Karon may not be the bast location for families, Kata may be better.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Close to the beach and to great food.
Bruce, K. Couples Malaysia, July 13, 2009
Value for money stay

Clean, tidy and comfortable rooms. Good location and within walking distance of the beach. Free internet connection. Good stock of DVDs to borrow from. Pleasant staff.
9
The price is really reasonable for the kind of accommodation you get. It was everything the pictures indicates and more. Everything is within walking distance, food and convenience store. I would definitely come back to this hotel the next time I visit Phuket and recommend it to others. Two thumbs up for Sugar Palm Karon Resort, Phuket.
Restaurant Tip: Right next to the hotel is a massage parlour that offer thai massages for only 200baht (one of the cheapest in the area). A few metres away is a store that serves yummy padthai and spicy pork rice for only 40 and 50 baht respectively. This is considered cheap as compared to the surrounding stores which range from 60 to 70 baht.
Tom V. Couples Netherlands, July 11, 2009
Good deal next to the beach

Modern looking rooms with bathtub, flatscreen TV, dvd player and a large swimming pool.
7
The Sugar Palm resort in Karon is a nice modern hotel close to a more quiet part of the Karon beach. It has modern looking rooms with everything you need including flatscreen TV, and dvd-player (incl. free rental of a small selection of dvd's). We had no diner or breakfast in the restaurant so can not tell you about it. Unfortunately the cleaning and maintenance of the Hotel is as for most places in Thailand not very good. The sheets and towels are clean, but the rest is forgotten (hairs in the bathtub, garbage under the bed, fungus in the showercurtain and floortiles, dirty mirrors and walls). Even for the smaller price you can expect a bit better and I hope the Thai will start to understand is has to improve if you want to keep the tourists coming! But unless these problems this is still a good deal.
Travel tip: Note that for renting a motorbike at one of the many shops (+/- 200 BHT per day) they will only give it if you give your pasport as a deposit. They will not even rent it to Thai if the give their indentity card (to many thefts).
John E. Solo travelers United States of America, July 10, 2009
It was ok

For the price I paid on agoda.com it was a very nice room on a very nice beach in Phuket. When I was dropped off at Sugar Palm Kata by mistake the bell boy drove me in his truck to Sugar Palm Karon.
7
I needed a cheap place to stay in Phuket for the night before meeting up with friends that were arriving the next day. I didn't have a guidebook or much time to do research on the net so based on the reviews and prices on agoda.com I went with Sugar Palm Karon Resort. The room was ok but you could see places in the bathroom that had shoddy repair work, i.e. a MOUNTAIN of caulk at one seam of the bathtub. I'm sure a lot of the damage I noticed occurred during the tsunami. The resort met my needs for a late night, affordable, and non-sleazy place to stay. Everything is overpriced in Phuket, but I think my room was a good deal.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: I didn't factor the ridiculous price of taxis and tuk-tuks into my choice of hotel. I was able to take a shared mini-bus from the airport to the hotel for a fair price, but the next day I had to pay $25US, as much as my room for the night cost, to return to the airport area where I would be staying with friends.
Murat A. Couples Turkey, July 4, 2009
good hotel at good price

in center ofkaron beach', near to kata beach and patong beach
7.7
it is a good hotel. finding hotel is a little bit difficult since it is a new hotel. room is good and large enough. must go phi phi island tour, james bond islan tour; khao soktour. phuket fanta sea is a great show. you can book all these from travel agency near to hotel. bargain well at leats half price and be sure which tour you buy. be careful
Wong N. Groups Hong Kong, July 3, 2009
Very Nice.

I love my pool-access room! The swimming pool is v nice. The resort is also close to the beach.
9.3
I love this resort so much. The staff are nice. The resort is very close to beach. The room is tidy and clean. And I really love the pool-access room so much. The Karaon town actually is quiet and so relaxing. The only bad thing is that the tuk-tuk to Patong is a bit expensive. Overall, I have a wonderful experience in this resort. The low price did exceed my expectation!
Laurel R. Families with older children Canada, July 1, 2009
Very nice!

Free internet, great price, close to great food, huge clean pool, good breakfast, 200 baht 1 hour massage on site. Nice big fluffy pillows.
9
We had three rooms for seven days and could not have been happier. We had our 1st reservation for 3 days and then loved it so much we extended our stay. We ate within 500 feet of our hotel every night. Great restaurants and great street food (banana pancakes, chicken on stick and fruit). Pool was amazing! Staff very friendly--could know more English--but no issues even with this. Free DVDs were also a life saver in the evenings for the children!
Restaurant Tip: There are 2 banana pancake stands within 2 blocks of hotel. One open mornings and afternoons, the other in the evening--Must go--very good!

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach PhuketSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Hotel EntranceSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Hotel Signage at NightSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - LobbySugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Deluxe RoomSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Deluxe RoomSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Deluxe RoomSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Deluxe Room - BathroomSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Deluxe Room - BathroomSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Deluxe Pool ViewSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Deluxe Pool ViewSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Deluxe Pool View - BathroomSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Deluxe Pool AccessSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Deluxe Pool AccessSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Deluxe Pool AccessSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Deluxe Pool Access - BathroomSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Tann Tanod RestaurantSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Tann Tanod RestaurantSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Tann Tanod RestaurantSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Tann Tanod RestaurantSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - LawnSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Internet CornerSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Internet CornerSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Fitness RoomSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Tour Information DeskSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Car ParkSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Installation ArtSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Art Team MemberSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Worldwide ClockSugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Art GallerySugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Art GallerySugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Art GallerySugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach Phuket - Walkway

Customer Reviews - Sugar Marina Resort - Art - Karon Beach, Phuket

AS-AGWEB-3B07