Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.3
Based on 4032 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 4032 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.9
  • Location 8.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.4
  • Value for money 8.6
  • Food/Dining 7.4

Minna S.
United States
July 20, 2011
Nice view but poor service
Views, new facilities
Stayed here for two nights . Price was incredibly cheap (substantial discount thru agoda) but came for a price - we could smell molds/mildew as we checked in. I think this hotel is brand new and facilities are really nice, especially the outdoor pool area,and view is specatcular overseaing Kata beach from almost anyroom. Staff were okay, but did seem very motivated to guide us or answer our questions. Nevertheless, it is still a good price for value

Boonsit S.
Thailand
July 19, 2011
Nice location
Nice room
I came here for second time. I love the pool so much. It's quite and privacy. I recommend the honeymoon couple to stay at this hotel. The staff perormance also well done. I give 10 out of 10.

Ho W.
Thailand
July 19, 2011
Lovely atmosphere, great place for photo shooting!
Color tone, room design, quite, everything you need is there
i stayed here for 3 nights. Found the followings - Excellent color tones. The trendy white color and light beam penetrates through the curtain make it excellent place for photo shooting. You can take picture for your lovers. This naturally make the room like a photo studio with excellent lights - Quite. At night, it's very quite. You wont hear noise from the beaches or pubs. Good place to stay - Clean and tidy. The cleaning is quie detailed. From toilet seat to handrail at the balcony. I enjoyed alot - Great sauna and steam facility. You can control them your own. no one will disturb you. - It's up on the hill, dont you ever worry about tsunami! - Pool in front of the rooms are great! - Overall ; this is a great place to stay! - The only neautral comment is ; If you're a lazy person who refuses to climb a bit , then you might need the staffs to give you a ride (Golf Carts are available)

Marita F.
South Africa
July 18, 2011
lovely clean hotel
friendly staff and swimming pool
everything was wonderful we realy enjoyed our stay at the sugar palm. the only problem we had was no warm water for two days due to the geyser that was broken. The breakfast was very nice and was served till 10.30 which are nice if you want to sleep a bit later. I will not recommend this hotel for older people or people with very young kids because of lots of stairs to get to your room aswell as a steep hill to get to the hotel.

John F.
Canada
July 17, 2011
Nice Hotel
The views and location. Beautiful rooms
the rooms were quite large and modern. the bathroom was beautiful complete with large bathtub, spa like rain shower. balcony with a spectacular view of the mountain. staff was friendly and helpful. my only complaint was that my room was at the top of the hotel and it was quite the walk to get to it after taking 2 out of the way elevators. but all in all i would recommend this hotel.

Brendon C.
New Zealand
July 15, 2011
Clean, comfortable and chic!
Modern features in rooms and ample sized bathrooms with shower and bath
I found the SPG very modern and comfortable and well priced for the market in Phuket. The rooms are spacious and clean and are perfect after a day out at the beach or playing the tourist. It is centrally located to the beach approximately 3-5 minute walk away. It is on a hill so be prepared for a bit of exercise if you are walking about Kata by foot as the hill is quite steep so probably not suitable for people who are not mobile. Staff have limited english but enough to get by (most of the time). The cable tv channels often froze which was frustrating as it sometimes took a day to change back over.

Michael S.
Singapore
July 15, 2011
Great location on hill top
Excellent views from the pool
This is a lovely hotel with great service. Rooms are spacious and well maintained. Views from the pool is fantastic and good views of the surrounding area.

Fawad S.
Pakistan
July 15, 2011
Modern aesthetics in a serene environment
Clean modern rooms, pools all around, view, peace
While there is a climb for this hotel as it is on a hillside, the architecture, decor and setting make up for it all. Large rooms, extra-large bathrooms, simple furnishings. The plus point is the pool at the edge of the room for those with the Access Rooms, and views of the pool for the others. You can take a dip and then relax by the edge with views of Kata beach. The peaceful location away from the road allows a relaxing atmosphere. We dined at the restaurant opposite the hotel. Really good Thai food at the most affordable prices. No faults with the hotel service. We loved each day and will go back there again.

Saowanee J.
Thailand
July 14, 2011
Modern hotel but below common standard service
modern style hotel, close to the Kata beach just 5 min walk
The hotel is located on the hill and inside the tiny road with the little hotel sign so we couldn't find the entrance for about almost an hour. We drove through that small hotel entrance for five times with didn't recognize it. Moreover, even we asked the local people many times, we still couldn't get what was the exactly right direction to this hotel. Finally, we got the hotel phone number and called them, the hotel told us the way we couldn't believe that the tiny hole we passed the three road intersection were this hotel located. I like the step pools, the sea view from my room,and the modern style decoration with the flat plasma TV. When you stayed in the upper floor of the hotel you have to change the elevator at the fourth floor to another lift.

Simon G.
Canada
July 13, 2011
i Get the Best sea View in Kata
very conformable room
The hotel service was very good, breakfast very good, we rent motobike without any problems, make discount on Taxi. Well Located. I will go back there for sure.