arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.3
Based on 3976 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 3976 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Staff Performance 8.4
  • Value for Money 8.6
  • Food/Dining 7.4

9.3 daniel Y.
Singapore
April 03, 2011
Modern and stylish room!
The minimalistic design is so simple yet extremely stylish with the play on concrete floors and white walls.
a really fantastic hotel with a great view and stylish rooms, if you don't mind walking up the steep hill. it's worth the climb because the view is excellent. bathroom is nicely designed with 2 wash basins placed outside of the bathroom for easy access and less grief. forget the buffet breakfast, dine in bed while enjoying the view of the sunrise over the andaman sea with affordable room service. would stay at this place again.

10 wendy C.
Australia
April 02, 2011
10 out 10!
stunning hotel room with gorgeous pool
cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. we absolutely loved everything about it. we were in a pool access room, one of the first ones going up the hill so the steps not a problem for us. (can see that it could be for the top ones). the decor was stunning, the room and bathroom huge and it was lovely having our own pool (sharing with the unit beside us but no one was there).

6.7 Chen C.
Malaysia
April 01, 2011
Value for money
NIce hotel concept
a very good hotel for couple or those people who want a relax and leisure holiday.. they given us a free upgrade to jacuzzi room.. location quite good at just away from the crowded street..but need to climb up a short distance of steep hill before reach the hotel. the orchid restaurant in front hotel offer nice food in reasonable price.. going down the hill toward main road, across the junction and walk about 3 minutes, there is a very nice and clean massage shop "phu" at right hand side..

8 XUEMEI P.
Malaysia
March 30, 2011
Modern Hotel with a nice room
Jacuzzi of the balcony
I love this hotel very much. Just 15 min walk to the Kata Beach. Modern style with free wi-fi but I can not connected the Wi-fi every time, sometimes speed very slow. If you did not bring your laptop you can get free online at the reception there. Breakfast delicious and many choose every day. Room very clean with one single bed and one queen size bed.

6 Adrian C.
United Kingdom
March 26, 2011
you need to be fit
quiet hotel with a decent view
whoever designed this hotel is crazy! we had a room on the top floor and everytime we wanted to get to our room we had to take a lift to the 4th floor, walk along a corridor to get another lift up another couple of floors and then walk up a steep path and more stairs to get to our room - it was exhausting in the Thai heat. we managed to talk the concierge guys to give us a lift up to the 7th floor in their golf buggies on a couple of occasions (they use these to take your bags to your floor)- think they felt sorry for us! The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the breakfasts were nice with a good selection. wouldnt stay here again unless i has a lower level floor.

9.3 BOGA I.
Indonesia
March 26, 2011
Lovely hotel for Honeymoon in Phuket
Very clean, room with privacy, located at hill, good view, very quiet, room with pool access, very good room decoration for honeymoon
We went to Phuket in March 2011 for our Honeymoon. To be honest, we never visit Phuket before and it was our first time going to Phuket. We did not know where should we stay but after searching Hotel thru Agoda and read the reviewers comment, we decided to stay in Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel. The main reason was we read good comments about this Hotel. We’ve requested the very highest room floor with pool access and honeymoon decoration inside the room. When we arrived at the Hotel, we got what we’ve requested. Very lovely room, very clean, room with grand pool access and good view from our room (we can see beach and Kata city from our room). We also have room privacy and we were very satisfied with the Hotel Service because they were very helpful especially when helping us on arranging our transportation. The other best thing staying at this Hotel, it’s located at the hill side but very close to the beach probably about 10mins walk and also about 20 mins drive to the port for going to the Phi Phi island. Overall all, this hotel is a very good hotel and for sure we will come back again to this hotel later.

8.3 Hannele L.
Finland
March 25, 2011
Value for money
Large room, Nice wiev
This time we stayed only one night. The location of the hotel is good. No so far from the beach and Kata center. From the hill side you have a nice wiev to Kata bay. Rooms are large with nice balcony (we have got jaguzzi room).

9.7 Christopher W.
Canada
March 25, 2011
Beautiful hotel, great pool(s)!
Large rooms, very clean, infinity pools, view
we really enjoyed our stay here. they upgraded our room for no apparent reason, and we had terrific views of the garden, pools, and the beach. the layout is terraces, so getting to and from your room can be a little time consuming as you wait for elevators, but it's a very small issue. the rooms were really nice, probably my favorite design and decor of any place i've stayed at in thailand. we didn't get breakfast included, but the other guests said it was good. i'd recommend to friends and family and would stay again for sure!

9.3 Pedro K.
United States
March 24, 2011
Great Hotel, good location and excellent service!
location and service
the hotel is located in a hillside as the name says it, and most of the rooms have ocean views. some of them have garden and pool views only. and a few rooms have direct access to the pools. the pools are in a cascade type, so you have small pools in different floors and they all end in a massive pool at the bottom. really picturesque!!! the buffet breakfast is good, with many choices of food, western and asian, and the service is really nice and with a smile. the room is very modern and decorated in good taste. other than that everything else was just perfect!

7.7 Russell L.
United Kingdom
March 23, 2011
Good Hotel, Convenient Location
Helpful Staff, Convenient Position
We enjoyed our stay here. We booked a Grand Pool View Room,but paid to be upgraded to a Pool Access Room. The 'view' room was fine,but by upgrading you could step from your balcony straight into the pool which was very convenient.From the 'view' rooms you could see the pools, but did not have the convenience of instant access.The hotel is built into a hill,so all walking around the hotel is up steep inclines,particularly the road up to the hotel.It is all manageable if you are able bodied,but not good for people with walking disabilities.It is close to shops and the beach.Breakfast is good.