or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel

1 Coktanote soi 3, Kata Road, Muang, Kata, Phuket, Thailand 83100 (Show on map)

Book now!

Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Over view Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Exterior Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Exterior Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Exterior Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Lobby Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Restaurant Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Restaurant Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Lobby Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Surroundings Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Restaurant Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest Room Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest Room Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest Room Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest Room Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest Room
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Spa Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest Room Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Fitness Room Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest Room Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Lobby Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest Room Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest Room Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest Room Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest Room Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Spa Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest Room
Area: Kata Number of Rooms: 106
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.2

based on
3431 reviews

Value for Money
8.6
Location
8.3
Staff Performance
8.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.5
Room Comfort/Standard
8.2
Food/Dining
7.3
All reviews (3431)
Sort by:
Randal O. Couples United States of America, May 18, 2010
Sugar Palm Hillside-A 3 1/2 Star Experience!

Rooms are nice although minimalistic; night front desk clerk excellent; some sea view rooms have a good view(others don't); breakfast was filling and good quality; center pool was very relaxing; our rooms have good maid service.
7.7
There are so many things to say about this hotel--some of them good and some of them not as great. Altogether the hotel is quite good--a definite 3 1/2 star experience. I say that because although the appearance of the hotel is very nice, many of the services and features of the hotel do not meet expectations. There is nothing horribly wrong with the Sugar Palm Hillside, however, there are very few services and features that I would call excellent or 4 star. Altogether though, in view of the off season price, I would say it is a good value mainly because of the attractiveness of the buildings and the general appearance. As detailed above, the services vary in quality, depending on the individual personnel. I would dare to say that unlike a 4 star hotel, the staff do not persevere to ensure a good stay for the guests. They generally do their jobs but are not that concerned about the experience of the hotel guests. If you can get a good price for the seaview rooms, it probably worthwhile, however that does not ensure you will have a great view. Our room had a partial view of the beach(as do most rooms), however, for some reason it was classified as a seaview room even though it was towards the back of the hotel on a midlevel floor. When we asked to a room with a better room, we were told one might be available 2 days later by the night staff. However, the day staff flatly refused us when we inquired 2 days later and was quite arrogant about refusing to give us a room with a decent sea view. We simply waited until the night staff started work and requested the change then. The place appeared very well cared for and has a good maintenance staff in general. However, the bell staff and many of the other staff seem uninterested in providing good service for the guests. Makes me wonder if the manager ever comes out to ensure high quality service--apparently not!
Restaurant Tip: as recommended by many, kata mama is a great place to have reasonably priced food. another closeby restauraunt called sai nam is also quite nice with an excellent owner manager who is quite friendly. across the street from the hotel, the orchid restaurant are fine for a quick meal, however "don't eat the hamburgers!" oj also is quite expensive(100 baht).
Szilard K. Couples United States of America, May 18, 2010
Upscale Hillside Hotel

Pools, pools, and pools. balcony some with direct access to pools, location was excellent, rooms are modern design, big with good amenities, tub with seperate shower, flat screen TV, my room had an ocean view. friendly staff, elevator, beach towels, big comfortable room and bed. good AC.
9.3
I stayed at the Sugar Palm Grand Hillside for almost a week very near Kata Beach, my favorite beach in Phuket. The rooms are modern, nice, big, comfortable and well equiped. I stayed here because of the great low season rate that was available and it was a new Hotel. The night life in Kata is more family oriented/ quite, but you can still find bars ajnd action if you look for it...and remember that Patong is just a 15 minute motorbike ride away. This Hotel has overnight joiner fees that will put a dent in your wallet should you decide to be a butterfly! For Couples it is perfect, for families too, but older patrons not willing to navigate the stairs should find better accomodations. I would stay here again.The largest pool had a cool light feature that would change colors only seen at night.
Hotel Feature Tip: The Hotel is somewhat a maze and there are corridors that may lead to the pools by going up hill instead of using the elevator.
Sunny H. Couples Singapore, May 17, 2010
Not Enjoyable stay

Room is big with big balcony. New. Good internet connections. Nice pool.
5.3
First day reach the hotel, I had change 4 rooms. First water dripping, second foul smell in the toilet,third not my kind of booking and finally the forth is jaccuzzi room which I booked. Hotel staff need more smile, especially those serving in the restaurant. Hotel situated up the hill, very tiring walking up and not suitable for the elderly. Breakfast is just a simple layout though, not delicious at all. The pool is the best part of the hotel and the room is not bad either with free WiFi. Not recommended to stay here unless the staffs change their attitude,we tourists like someone who smile rather than pulling their face to us.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Hiring a car is the best options. Visit this restaurant uphill (Baan Chom View), very attractive view and nice food. If to rent a car, kucarrent is the best choice.
Chantelle L. Groups New Zealand, May 16, 2010
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside

Really clean, modern rooms. We were in a pool access room which was great. Value for money was amazing.
9.3
Had an amazing stay. Breakfast was great and had a large variety of food. Pool was amazing. The whole hotel was presented excellently. I would definitely stay there again.
Jennifer D. Groups United Kingdom, May 16, 2010
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Review

Gorgeous room with a huge bath/bathroom. Stunning black infinity pool to relax in. Local amenities close by - beach, shops, restaurants, bars, massage parlour etc.
8.7
The hotel was amazing, my friend and I had a wonderful stay there. The location was good, in the quieter end of Kata, away from the main road up a little hill. The hotel room itself was gorgeous, very 'boutique hotel' like and minimalist. The room provided adequate facilities for us on our stay and had a lovely balcony overlooking the area and pool. The two level, black infinity pool was stunning too. It was just what we needed!
Restaurant Tip: Italian Restaurant along the main road and down a side street just after the 7 eleven.
Ng M. Couples Singapore, May 13, 2010
Phuket Kata Sugar Palm Grand Hillside

The clean design of the room.
7
The hotel is location at the end of kata which is pretty quiet. The room was quite clean, the lobby was not what i expected with two desks and a few chairs. But the internet, book and DVD are free to use and borrow. Lobby staffs are pretty ok with service. But the staff that give us a ride up the hill have no service at all and expected us to tip him for giving my wife and i attitude. But there are also staffs with good attitude and service who greet and smile whenever they saw us.
Chantelle L. Groups New Zealand, May 10, 2010
Amazing Hotel

Everything about this hotel was great, clean rooms, pool access, big rooms, nice staff, good breakfast
10
Stayed here twice now and it was great. We had to get picked up at 5.30am for our airport transfer and the staff even made us a packed breakfast box to take with us
Elaine C. Couples Singapore, May 8, 2010
Grand Jacuzzi Deluxe

- Peaceful, quiet surroundings - Spacious - Value for money during off-peak season and great discount from Agoda - View from balcony was not bad, could see the sea in the distance - Hotel used Crocs as bedroom slippers which were very convenient to move around (out of the hotel) in
6.7
It is a pretty cool place to chill out in if you want a beach nearby, but with peaceful surroundings. Quite conveniently located as well, with restaurants, convenience stores, massage places, tour agents to bring you around the island. For guests whose flights are way after check-out time, hotel has a shower room which you may request to use upon return from outdoor activity.
Paul M. Couples United Kingdom, May 7, 2010
Perfect place for a relaxing stay...and excellent

Clean, spacious, DVD player in room, nice swimming pools, great value
8.3
This hotel represents fantastic value for money in the quiet resort of Kata Beach.
Restaurant Tip: Orchid restaurant directly opposite hotel offers a wide range of Thai and Western dishes at very good prices.
Graham H. Couples Canada, May 7, 2010
Very Comfortable

breakfast
9.3
Enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We had a pool view room that we were very happy with. Beware of the jaccuzi rooms as they have a good location in the hotel, but are geared more for families than couples. There is no actual bath in the room design itself and the jaccuzi is a dog dish style tub out on the balcony visible to all. The breakfast is great, but meagre room service, not even ice.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel PhuketSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Over viewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ExteriorSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ExteriorSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ExteriorSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - LobbySugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - LobbySugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - SurroundingsSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - SpaSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Fitness RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - LobbySugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - SpaSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - GardenSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest Room

Customer Reviews - Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel, Phuket

AS-AGWEB-3B02