or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel

1 Coktanote soi 3, Kata Road, Muang, Kata, Phuket, Thailand 83100 (Show on map)

Book now!

Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Over view Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Exterior Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Hotel Exterior Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Exterior Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Exterior Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Exterior Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Kata Beach Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Pool Bar Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Deluxe Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Pool Access Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Jacuzzi Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Jacuzzi
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest Room Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest Room Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest Room Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest Room Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest Room Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Towel Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Pool Access Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Balcony Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Jacuzzi Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest Room Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Lobby Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Lobby
Area: Kata Number of Rooms: 106
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.2

based on
3369 reviews

Value for Money
8.6
Location
8.3
Staff Performance
8.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.5
Room Comfort/Standard
8.2
Food/Dining
7.3
All reviews (3369)
Sort by:
Bonnie R. Couples Canada, March 24, 2010
Nice hotel

new hotel, clean, close to many restaurants and shopping
8
We enjoyed our stay at the Sugar Palm Grand. This was our second time staying there. The hotel is fairly new (about 2 years)and very clean. It is situated on a hillside so is a bit of a climb up to the hotel. They do have golf carts that will take you to your room and the staff operating them are very accommodating. We did find that the office staff were not as friendly and helpful as other hotels we stayed in during our two month vacation in Thailand. The hotel is located very close to many restaurants and shopping. The restaurant right across from the hotel is really quite good.
Hotel Feature Tip: We did not eat at this hotel so the rating I gave the food and dining is not correct, but it seems you have to put something there for the survey to go through.
Mikhail P. Families with young children Afghanistan, March 21, 2010
Nice hotel

Close to the beach, good restaurant just in front of the lobby, friendly staff, funny room design, opportunity to get a personal pool for a reasonable price.
8
Stayed there from 10 to 15th of March. Pretty good hotel with it's own pro-s and cons. Minimalistic design looks fine if you like it, but really that's just a way to decrease the cost of the hotel itself. The bathroom looks like it's in the beginning of the construction (raw concrete everywhere - ceiling, walls, floor). So generally it's a 3 stars hotel (slightly overpriced) wich can look like a 4-star, if you like it's design. Breakfast is not very rich in fruits, juices and meals, but quite sufficent. Staff is very helpful and friendly. There's a reason to live in Sugar Palm only if you'll take a pool acess room. This is the main hotel's advantage, cince you'll get a pool with sea view (on the higher levels) and LED lights at the bottom during nights. Be aware that you'll have to share your pool with 2-3 rooms and some people that took Garden view rooms and will use your pool too.
Restaurant Tip: One of the best restaurant on the whole Kata is just afront the lobby - it's called the "Orchid". Prices are very reasonable (comparing with the dining on the northern end of Kata wich is 50% more expensive), and the food is great. Try Tom Yam with seafood (120 THB in March 2010) - one of the best Tom Yam's that I've had in Thailand for almost 5 years (the other restauraunts will put there only a few shrimps and a few pieces of frozen squid - and here you'll get an entire aquarium with crab meat, fish, mussels, fresh squid meat etc.).
Penchart P. Couples Thailand, March 20, 2010
Good View in Kata/Karon.

Good View
8
Hotel located on moutain and if you room is upper of the hotel, you will be got a good view of Kata/Karon Beach but it quite high from Lobby and not convenience for move up/down. No lift for upper room (walk only).
Matthew J. Couples United Kingdom, March 20, 2010
Contempory design great service

Good location. Modern clean rooms.
9.3
We enjoyed a 5 night stay in a jacuzzi balcony room. The location is good but ther is quite a steep hill road to climb to get to the hotel. Rooms were clean and uber modern and the jacuzzi on the ,balcony over looking the beach was a great touch. Probably the best contempory hotel for the money anywhere in Kata beach. We would definately go back.
Richard F. Couples United Kingdom, March 15, 2010
What a pleasant surprise

Excellent location, Peace and quiet, 200 metres from everything, very good room size and amenities, comfortable bed and quality fittings. The swimming pools, and the pool lights at night!!
9.7
This was by far the best hotel of the four we stayed in whilst travelling around Phuket. The room was very well maintained, quality fittings, free wi-fi, 32" LED TV in room, with DVD player, powerful shower, and we were upgraded free of charge to a sea view room, with spectacular views of Kata Beach. The reception area is welcoming and staff were more than helpful with any requests or advice. We were amazed that when sitting on the balcony a mere 200 metres from the main road of Kata, all you could hear were the birds in the tree opposite, no traffic horns or bar noise at all from the town. Wholeheartedly recommended. We will be back.
Restaurant Tip: The Oyster restaurant opposite the hotel offers a cheaper alternative to breakfast at half the price.
Matthew S. Solo travelers Australia, March 13, 2010
Great Kata Location

Close to Kata shops, restaurants & beach. Just a 15 min walk to Kata Noi beach. Free wifi.
8
Have stayed twice at the Sugar Palm Grand Hillside, & enjoyed both stays. I had room 1907 the first time with the spa on the balcony, which seemed a little strange unless you are into bathing in full view of other guests. Second dtay I had room 2204, a litle further away from reception & higher on the hill, but with pool access, & bath in the room. Large rooms with free wifi. The Orchid 3 restaurant across the street from reception is good value & great food, comes out fast & fresh. There is laundry service 2 shops down from the Orchid 3 restaurant THB65 per kilo ironed, great value & much less than the hotel laundry service, massage there too. Will stay at Sugar Palm again if looking for cheaper accommodation, although would not want to pay much more. Small supermarket on the corner of the main street, 2 mins walk down the hill, excellent price on local beer & snacks.
Hotel Feature Tip: Watch out for thr slippery steps near the lower pool.
Nicholas P. Couples Australia, March 8, 2010
Great place for the price

Multiple swimming pools, comfortable beds and spacious rooms.
8
We booked this thinking that we were getting a room at Sugar Palm on Kata Beach, but this one was further up a hill. We were taken up to our rooms on a golf buggy, but be careful if you are seated on the back of the buggy -- the hills are extremely steep and I had to hold on very tightly so as not to slide off the buggy. It's a great hotel for the price that you are paying. Rooms are spacious and the beds are comfy, but the concrete floors in the room and bathrooms don't look clean (even though they probably were). Each room has a decent sized balcony, and there were lots of little swimming pools scattered over the various floors.
Restaurant Tip: Don't eat at Kata beach if you are after authentic Thai cuisine!
Matthew S. Solo travelers Australia, March 5, 2010
Great location, Nice hotel

1 min walk to Kata shopping & restaurants Value for money if you use agoda etc Modern rooms
8
Have stayed in Sugar Palm Grand Hillside twice now, firstly in room 1907 which is a spa room & now staying in 2204 which is a pool access room close to the top of the resort that has views over Kata. Have found the staff to be helpfull & friendly, some reviews reported otherwise, but this is not my experience. The rooms are spacious, no complaints, but you somehow feel that they have not been completely finished, as there is bare concrete floors in most rooms. I realise that this is part of the design, however you feel that the tiles are missing. I would stay here again, room 2204 is better with view & pool access.
Restaurant Tip: Right accross from the hotel enterance is a restaurant, orchid restaurant I think, but great value for money & supberb Penang chicken.
Andrew S. Solo travelers United States of America, March 4, 2010
Great Pool-Poor Service

The pool
5.3
The Sugar Palm Hillside Hotel was a much different stay for me this year then it was for me last year. The staff this year spoke little to no english at all. They were very difficult to communicate with. This made some of the normal things a hotel is responsible for very hard to change or excute in the way I wanted it. I wanted to cancelle a fishing trip I booked and I asked the hotel to cancelle the trip for me and they said they would and didn't. On a more positive note, the hotel has made some improvements to the property. They added a elevator and a pool bar.They have great swimming pools at the hotel.They have a great pool bartender named Joe who was very good at his job. Overall, my stay was just fair and I am not sure if I would stay at the Sugar Palm Hillside Hotel again.
Hotel Feature Tip: Be careful a lot of the cabbies try to charge an extra 50 Bhat to drive you up the hill to the front door of the hotel.
San S. Couples Singapore, March 4, 2010
Our Stay at Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Resort

Beautiful pool and view. Staff are friendly. Comfortable place to stay in.Love the pool access room, esp romantic for couple. Free Wi-fi within the resort and internet access at the main reception area.
8
Would like to stay at the resort again should we go phuket again.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Try the ice-cream at the italian cafe just down walk down from the resort steep pavement and turn right, 2nd unit. The restaurant that's opp the resort lobby serve food that are quite salty, try the one along the kata beach, mama seafood restaurant instead. Taxi from kata to patong is about 350 to 400 bahts and from airport to kata is about 800 bahts. Getting resort to book the taxi can cost 50 bahts more..kata beach is much beautiful than patong but patong night entertainment are much happening...We also catch cinema movie at the Big shopping mall at patong. Try shopping at the premium outlet is like factory outlet.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel PhuketSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Over viewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ExteriorSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Hotel ExteriorSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ExteriorSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ExteriorSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ExteriorSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Kata BeachSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Pool BarSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand DeluxeSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Pool AccessSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand JacuzziSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand JacuzziSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - TowelSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Pool AccessSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - BalconySugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand JacuzziSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - LobbySugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - LobbySugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - SpaSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - SpaSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - SaunaSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - FitnessSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - LobbySugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - SurroundingsSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - SpaSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Fitness RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - LobbySugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - SpaSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - GardenSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Guest Room

Customer Reviews - Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel, Phuket

AS-AGWEB-3B04