Sign in and see our lowest prices
×

or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel

1 Coktanote soi 3, Kata Road, Muang, Kata, Phuket, Thailand 83100 (Show on map)

Book now!

Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Restaurant Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Restaurant Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Restaurant Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Exterior Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Exterior
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Facilities Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Lobby Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Lobby Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Lobby Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Fitness Room Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Fitness Room Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Meeting Room Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Facilities
Area: Kata Number of Rooms: 106
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.2

based on
3487 reviews

Value for Money
8.6
Location
8.3
Staff Performance
8.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.5
Room Comfort/Standard
8.2
Food/Dining
7.3
All reviews (3487)
Sort by:
Janinne N. Groups Australia, May 23, 2010
Consider your Guests

It is very modern, centrally located.
6
While the hotel is brand new and looks great the administration is poorly organised. We were three single guests requesting 3 separate beds. On arrival we asked if there were three beds. 'Yes'. Of course when we reached our room there was a king sized bed and a trundle (which we paid extra for) but no elusive third bed. There seemed to be no understanding that we required three beds and it had been a request at booking. The next morning more time was wasted without the third bed being a possibility. Eventually a third trundle bed was delivered to our original room. The room also did not have fascilities for three guests. It is not hard to make people feel welcome by ensuring there is water for everyone and tea cup and glass! Maybe due to our poor start the staff then did not inform us of any fascilities like the lift! We trudged up to our room in the rain! They did apologise and offered us a plate of fruit.
Ang H. Couples Singapore, May 21, 2010
Pool Access Room

The location of the hotel is great. There's two 7-11 nearby & there are many restaurants & a bank within a 1 min walk from the hotel.
9.3
The rooms are designed with a chic, minimalist and industrial concept with concrete floors & walls in the bathroom. The rooms are big and mainly white. So if you prefer hotels with elaborate details, this will not be the place for you. We stayed at the lower floors & love the pool access room. It feels great that the pool is just at your doorstep! The walk uphill to the hotel from the junction is about 1/2 a min walk & it was no problem to us.
Restaurant Tip: Make a left turn at the junction of the hotel & there is a Black Canyon Coffee which serves great chilled coffee & food. Walk further down & you can see Two Chefs & Sai Nam which serves good local thai food.
Owen L. Families with young children Indonesia, May 20, 2010
nice and simple hotel

- strategic located - nice view - the rooms are clean and spacious
10
Its a nice hotel! Brand new, the design is minimalist ! They have a comfortable bathroom a jacuzzi and shower inside! The rooms are clean and tidy, quite spacious and the most important things they really have a big balcony ! You're gonna love this hotel as much as I do, for sure Ill be back to this hotel! And one more thing they have a free internet and they provide 4 computers with internet for free at the lobby ! Welldone !
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: This hotel is located near the kata beach, phuket... A very nice beach, nice wave for surfing or body board
Sen W. Couples Singapore, May 19, 2010
Great Hotel to stay

Nice hotel and rooms, big TV, good shower.
9.7
The hotel is situated on a uphill, which gives us a superb view from the balcony. I had a room with jacuzzi tub on the balcony, and I spent my mornings soaking in the tub, overlooking the sea. The hotel room is very nice, forget carpetted floors. Think zen and minimalistic, white and walnut combination. I was lucky to get the room with direct lift access, thus not requiring any upslope walking. Pool access rooms will probably get higher floors but is not directly accessible from the lifts. All in all, it was excellent value for money for a great hotel. I will definitely stay there again.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Rent a motorbike for your trip, and you won't be too bothered by the uphill walk to the hotel lobby. There are 3 nearby massages places near the hotel, and all 3 were great. I particularly liked the one on the right after you reach the bottom of the hill. Across the road is another one but the masseurs isn't too chatty.
Adeline N. Couples Singapore, May 18, 2010
Modern hotel with great view

Modern design room, clean and spacious with private jacuzzi on balcony and a good view of the sea & sunset.
8.3
We were on honeymoon and stayed in sugar palm for the first 3days of our trip. Room was very modern,new,clean,spacious and comfy. We got a private jacuzzi bathtub on the balcony with a good view of the sea and sunset but not all rooms comes with unblocked view and ours happen to be facing a small hotel opp so its not really that private using the jacuzzi. We liked the bathroom with the see through glass to the room but the rain shower is running all over the place. The hotel is on uphill so you need some steep climbing but not a prob for us, maybe not for the elderly. Breakfast is not fantastic but acceptable as there are many restaurants in the area. The main pool is nice and quiet as most people have their own pool access in the room. Hotel is rather quiet as mostly staying there are caucasians and no families so no noisy kids which we liked and enjoyed. Location wise, Kata is more quiet and it is good if you want to be near the action yet away from the crowd. We do find it quite ex getting around always as there is really more to see in Patong. Hopefully the hotel can provide free shuttle to Patong in future. Overall, we do enjoy our stay here and will definitely go back again.
Randal O. Couples United States of America, May 18, 2010
Sugar Palm Hillside-A 3 1/2 Star Experience!

Rooms are nice although minimalistic; night front desk clerk excellent; some sea view rooms have a good view(others don't); breakfast was filling and good quality; center pool was very relaxing; our rooms have good maid service.
7.7
There are so many things to say about this hotel--some of them good and some of them not as great. Altogether the hotel is quite good--a definite 3 1/2 star experience. I say that because although the appearance of the hotel is very nice, many of the services and features of the hotel do not meet expectations. There is nothing horribly wrong with the Sugar Palm Hillside, however, there are very few services and features that I would call excellent or 4 star. Altogether though, in view of the off season price, I would say it is a good value mainly because of the attractiveness of the buildings and the general appearance. As detailed above, the services vary in quality, depending on the individual personnel. I would dare to say that unlike a 4 star hotel, the staff do not persevere to ensure a good stay for the guests. They generally do their jobs but are not that concerned about the experience of the hotel guests. If you can get a good price for the seaview rooms, it probably worthwhile, however that does not ensure you will have a great view. Our room had a partial view of the beach(as do most rooms), however, for some reason it was classified as a seaview room even though it was towards the back of the hotel on a midlevel floor. When we asked to a room with a better room, we were told one might be available 2 days later by the night staff. However, the day staff flatly refused us when we inquired 2 days later and was quite arrogant about refusing to give us a room with a decent sea view. We simply waited until the night staff started work and requested the change then. The place appeared very well cared for and has a good maintenance staff in general. However, the bell staff and many of the other staff seem uninterested in providing good service for the guests. Makes me wonder if the manager ever comes out to ensure high quality service--apparently not!
Restaurant Tip: as recommended by many, kata mama is a great place to have reasonably priced food. another closeby restauraunt called sai nam is also quite nice with an excellent owner manager who is quite friendly. across the street from the hotel, the orchid restaurant are fine for a quick meal, however "don't eat the hamburgers!" oj also is quite expensive(100 baht).
Szilard K. Couples United States of America, May 18, 2010
Upscale Hillside Hotel

Pools, pools, and pools. balcony some with direct access to pools, location was excellent, rooms are modern design, big with good amenities, tub with seperate shower, flat screen TV, my room had an ocean view. friendly staff, elevator, beach towels, big comfortable room and bed. good AC.
9.3
I stayed at the Sugar Palm Grand Hillside for almost a week very near Kata Beach, my favorite beach in Phuket. The rooms are modern, nice, big, comfortable and well equiped. I stayed here because of the great low season rate that was available and it was a new Hotel. The night life in Kata is more family oriented/ quite, but you can still find bars ajnd action if you look for it...and remember that Patong is just a 15 minute motorbike ride away. This Hotel has overnight joiner fees that will put a dent in your wallet should you decide to be a butterfly! For Couples it is perfect, for families too, but older patrons not willing to navigate the stairs should find better accomodations. I would stay here again.The largest pool had a cool light feature that would change colors only seen at night.
Hotel Feature Tip: The Hotel is somewhat a maze and there are corridors that may lead to the pools by going up hill instead of using the elevator.
Sunny H. Couples Singapore, May 17, 2010
Not Enjoyable stay

Room is big with big balcony. New. Good internet connections. Nice pool.
5.3
First day reach the hotel, I had change 4 rooms. First water dripping, second foul smell in the toilet,third not my kind of booking and finally the forth is jaccuzzi room which I booked. Hotel staff need more smile, especially those serving in the restaurant. Hotel situated up the hill, very tiring walking up and not suitable for the elderly. Breakfast is just a simple layout though, not delicious at all. The pool is the best part of the hotel and the room is not bad either with free WiFi. Not recommended to stay here unless the staffs change their attitude,we tourists like someone who smile rather than pulling their face to us.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Hiring a car is the best options. Visit this restaurant uphill (Baan Chom View), very attractive view and nice food. If to rent a car, kucarrent is the best choice.
Chantelle L. Groups New Zealand, May 16, 2010
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside

Really clean, modern rooms. We were in a pool access room which was great. Value for money was amazing.
9.3
Had an amazing stay. Breakfast was great and had a large variety of food. Pool was amazing. The whole hotel was presented excellently. I would definitely stay there again.
Jennifer D. Groups United Kingdom, May 16, 2010
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Review

Gorgeous room with a huge bath/bathroom. Stunning black infinity pool to relax in. Local amenities close by - beach, shops, restaurants, bars, massage parlour etc.
8.7
The hotel was amazing, my friend and I had a wonderful stay there. The location was good, in the quieter end of Kata, away from the main road up a little hill. The hotel room itself was gorgeous, very 'boutique hotel' like and minimalist. The room provided adequate facilities for us on our stay and had a lovely balcony overlooking the area and pool. The two level, black infinity pool was stunning too. It was just what we needed!
Restaurant Tip: Italian Restaurant along the main road and down a side street just after the 7 eleven.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel PhuketSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ExteriorSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ExteriorSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - FacilitiesSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - LobbySugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - LobbySugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - LobbySugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Fitness RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Fitness RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Meeting RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Facilities

Customer Reviews - Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel, Phuket

AS-AGWEB-3A03