Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 4035 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.9
  • Location 8.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.4
  • Value for money 8.6
  • Food/Dining 7.4
Sort by

Alexandra B.
United States
April 05, 2011
Beautiful hotel but very slow service.
Gorgeous infinity pools cascading down. Near the central area of Kata Beach. Great check-in service.
when we arrived they did a great job of driving us up to our rooms (hotel is built on a very steep hill), and they explained where and what everything was in the room and how to use stuff and answered questions. i was impressed with that. we got a grand pool access room, and the infinity pool was right outside our room. it was very pretty.

jodi B.
Australia
April 05, 2011
we had the best room available
semi-private pools, views, lovely staff, beautiful rooms
we had a lovely stay at this hotel - yes the hill is a bit steep, and we aren't incredibly fit people, but we managed just fine. our room was at the very top, in the middle with the best view- in fact we think it would have been the very best room in the entire place! the bathroom was huge, with a lovely shower and massive bath. bed was really comfy, and the mini mac was a great addition! really lovely stay, and will stay again

Soon K.
Singapore
April 04, 2011
Great hotel, would stay again
Gorgeous pool and gardens, close to beach
did not have high expectations of the hotel after reading some reviews before my trip, but i was pleasantly surprised. the room was spacious, bright, clean and nicely furnished and the tiered pools and garden were very nice too. had a room on the 6th floor, so i only needed to take 2 elevators to get to my room. staff were also consistently polite, helpful and adequately fluent in english. in terms of location, the hotel is at one end of kata road, a bit of a walk to some of the most popular restaurants but close enough to others, plus the beach is less than a 5 min walk, shorter than many of the hotels blocked from the beach by the club med.

Brandon K.
Singapore
April 04, 2011
1 of the best in Kata
Pool & Jaccuzi Deluxe Room
me and my girlfriend booked a jacuzzi room and we loved it. the rooms were huge and the view was simply splendid. my room has a seaview and complete view of 3 pools a the garden. if you want cheap seafood, opt for mali restaurant! breakfast was good, adequate spread and they serve real good fruit punch and juices!

daniel Y.
Singapore
April 03, 2011
Modern and stylish room!
The minimalistic design is so simple yet extremely stylish with the play on concrete floors and white walls.
a really fantastic hotel with a great view and stylish rooms, if you don't mind walking up the steep hill. it's worth the climb because the view is excellent. bathroom is nicely designed with 2 wash basins placed outside of the bathroom for easy access and less grief. forget the buffet breakfast, dine in bed while enjoying the view of the sunrise over the andaman sea with affordable room service. would stay at this place again.

wendy C.
Australia
April 02, 2011
10 out 10!
stunning hotel room with gorgeous pool
cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. we absolutely loved everything about it. we were in a pool access room, one of the first ones going up the hill so the steps not a problem for us. (can see that it could be for the top ones). the decor was stunning, the room and bathroom huge and it was lovely having our own pool (sharing with the unit beside us but no one was there).

Chen C.
Malaysia
April 01, 2011
Value for money
NIce hotel concept
a very good hotel for couple or those people who want a relax and leisure holiday.. they given us a free upgrade to jacuzzi room.. location quite good at just away from the crowded street..but need to climb up a short distance of steep hill before reach the hotel. the orchid restaurant in front hotel offer nice food in reasonable price.. going down the hill toward main road, across the junction and walk about 3 minutes, there is a very nice and clean massage shop "phu" at right hand side..

XUEMEI P.
Malaysia
March 30, 2011
Modern Hotel with a nice room
Jacuzzi of the balcony
I love this hotel very much. Just 15 min walk to the Kata Beach. Modern style with free wi-fi but I can not connected the Wi-fi every time, sometimes speed very slow. If you did not bring your laptop you can get free online at the reception there. Breakfast delicious and many choose every day. Room very clean with one single bed and one queen size bed.

Adrian C.
United Kingdom
March 26, 2011
you need to be fit
quiet hotel with a decent view
whoever designed this hotel is crazy! we had a room on the top floor and everytime we wanted to get to our room we had to take a lift to the 4th floor, walk along a corridor to get another lift up another couple of floors and then walk up a steep path and more stairs to get to our room - it was exhausting in the Thai heat. we managed to talk the concierge guys to give us a lift up to the 7th floor in their golf buggies on a couple of occasions (they use these to take your bags to your floor)- think they felt sorry for us! The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the breakfasts were nice with a good selection. wouldnt stay here again unless i has a lower level floor.

BOGA I.
Indonesia
March 26, 2011
Lovely hotel for Honeymoon in Phuket
Very clean, room with privacy, located at hill, good view, very quiet, room with pool access, very good room decoration for honeymoon
We went to Phuket in March 2011 for our Honeymoon. To be honest, we never visit Phuket before and it was our first time going to Phuket. We did not know where should we stay but after searching Hotel thru Agoda and read the reviewers comment, we decided to stay in Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel. The main reason was we read good comments about this Hotel. We’ve requested the very highest room floor with pool access and honeymoon decoration inside the room. When we arrived at the Hotel, we got what we’ve requested. Very lovely room, very clean, room with grand pool access and good view from our room (we can see beach and Kata city from our room). We also have room privacy and we were very satisfied with the Hotel Service because they were very helpful especially when helping us on arranging our transportation. The other best thing staying at this Hotel, it’s located at the hill side but very close to the beach probably about 10mins walk and also about 20 mins drive to the port for going to the Phi Phi island. Overall all, this hotel is a very good hotel and for sure we will come back again to this hotel later.