or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel

1 Coktanote soi 3, Kata Road, Muang, Kata, Phuket, Thailand 83100 (Show on map)

Book now!

Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Restaurant Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Restaurant Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Restaurant Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Exterior Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Exterior
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Facilities Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Lobby Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Lobby Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Lobby Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Fitness Room Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Fitness Room Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Meeting Room Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Facilities
Area: Kata Number of Rooms: 106
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.2

based on
3514 reviews

Value for Money
8.6
Location
8.3
Staff Performance
8.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.5
Room Comfort/Standard
8.2
Food/Dining
7.3
All reviews (3514)
Sort by:
Chatchaphon R. Groups Thailand, April 5, 2010
a challenging stay

beautiful, modern hotel, near sea, good breakfast, beautiful and spacious room
8
We enjoyed the beautifual and well-designed hotel which is well located at Kata Beach, a smaller and quieter beach than the over-crowded Patong Beach. The distance from Kata to the airport is abut 47 km, though so you have to provide enough time to get back to the airport. At all cost, avoid rooms on higher levels unless you enjoy walking up slopes to get to and from your room everyday! This is a serious disadvantage. When we arrived, the receptionist said he was upgrading us to the pool view. I thanked him, not ralising that we're being upgraded physically!
Hotel Feature Tip: Make sure you are fit enough and enjoy walking uphill to go to your room if you get one higher up
David M. Families with older children Australia, April 3, 2010
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel

great hotel with free internet
9.7
booked two delux pool axis rooms at 20% off which was great value the rooms were excellent and the pool was good with a good view of the street below (but be prepered to walk as this hotel is built on a hill which was not a problem for us)the breakfast was very good and staff helpful i could not ask for beter and would stay here again
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: close walk to the beach and shops and resturants great area to stay make shure you see a snake show easy to get to patong for not much money
Julie L. Couples Australia, April 2, 2010
Highly recommend

location, pools
8.7
The layout of the hotel is fantastic... loads of pools with great views of Kata. The location is perfect, easy walk in to town but still far enough away to escape. Rooms are large, comfortable and clean. Would definately stay here again.... two days was not long enough.
Bonnie R. Couples Canada, March 24, 2010
Nice hotel

new hotel, clean, close to many restaurants and shopping
8
We enjoyed our stay at the Sugar Palm Grand. This was our second time staying there. The hotel is fairly new (about 2 years)and very clean. It is situated on a hillside so is a bit of a climb up to the hotel. They do have golf carts that will take you to your room and the staff operating them are very accommodating. We did find that the office staff were not as friendly and helpful as other hotels we stayed in during our two month vacation in Thailand. The hotel is located very close to many restaurants and shopping. The restaurant right across from the hotel is really quite good.
Hotel Feature Tip: We did not eat at this hotel so the rating I gave the food and dining is not correct, but it seems you have to put something there for the survey to go through.
Mikhail P. Families with young children Afghanistan, March 21, 2010
Nice hotel

Close to the beach, good restaurant just in front of the lobby, friendly staff, funny room design, opportunity to get a personal pool for a reasonable price.
8
Stayed there from 10 to 15th of March. Pretty good hotel with it's own pro-s and cons. Minimalistic design looks fine if you like it, but really that's just a way to decrease the cost of the hotel itself. The bathroom looks like it's in the beginning of the construction (raw concrete everywhere - ceiling, walls, floor). So generally it's a 3 stars hotel (slightly overpriced) wich can look like a 4-star, if you like it's design. Breakfast is not very rich in fruits, juices and meals, but quite sufficent. Staff is very helpful and friendly. There's a reason to live in Sugar Palm only if you'll take a pool acess room. This is the main hotel's advantage, cince you'll get a pool with sea view (on the higher levels) and LED lights at the bottom during nights. Be aware that you'll have to share your pool with 2-3 rooms and some people that took Garden view rooms and will use your pool too.
Restaurant Tip: One of the best restaurant on the whole Kata is just afront the lobby - it's called the "Orchid". Prices are very reasonable (comparing with the dining on the northern end of Kata wich is 50% more expensive), and the food is great. Try Tom Yam with seafood (120 THB in March 2010) - one of the best Tom Yam's that I've had in Thailand for almost 5 years (the other restauraunts will put there only a few shrimps and a few pieces of frozen squid - and here you'll get an entire aquarium with crab meat, fish, mussels, fresh squid meat etc.).
Penchart P. Couples Thailand, March 20, 2010
Good View in Kata/Karon.

Good View
8
Hotel located on moutain and if you room is upper of the hotel, you will be got a good view of Kata/Karon Beach but it quite high from Lobby and not convenience for move up/down. No lift for upper room (walk only).
Matthew J. Couples United Kingdom, March 20, 2010
Contempory design great service

Good location. Modern clean rooms.
9.3
We enjoyed a 5 night stay in a jacuzzi balcony room. The location is good but ther is quite a steep hill road to climb to get to the hotel. Rooms were clean and uber modern and the jacuzzi on the ,balcony over looking the beach was a great touch. Probably the best contempory hotel for the money anywhere in Kata beach. We would definately go back.
Richard F. Couples United Kingdom, March 15, 2010
What a pleasant surprise

Excellent location, Peace and quiet, 200 metres from everything, very good room size and amenities, comfortable bed and quality fittings. The swimming pools, and the pool lights at night!!
9.7
This was by far the best hotel of the four we stayed in whilst travelling around Phuket. The room was very well maintained, quality fittings, free wi-fi, 32" LED TV in room, with DVD player, powerful shower, and we were upgraded free of charge to a sea view room, with spectacular views of Kata Beach. The reception area is welcoming and staff were more than helpful with any requests or advice. We were amazed that when sitting on the balcony a mere 200 metres from the main road of Kata, all you could hear were the birds in the tree opposite, no traffic horns or bar noise at all from the town. Wholeheartedly recommended. We will be back.
Restaurant Tip: The Oyster restaurant opposite the hotel offers a cheaper alternative to breakfast at half the price.
Matthew S. Solo travelers Australia, March 13, 2010
Great Kata Location

Close to Kata shops, restaurants & beach. Just a 15 min walk to Kata Noi beach. Free wifi.
8
Have stayed twice at the Sugar Palm Grand Hillside, & enjoyed both stays. I had room 1907 the first time with the spa on the balcony, which seemed a little strange unless you are into bathing in full view of other guests. Second dtay I had room 2204, a litle further away from reception & higher on the hill, but with pool access, & bath in the room. Large rooms with free wifi. The Orchid 3 restaurant across the street from reception is good value & great food, comes out fast & fresh. There is laundry service 2 shops down from the Orchid 3 restaurant THB65 per kilo ironed, great value & much less than the hotel laundry service, massage there too. Will stay at Sugar Palm again if looking for cheaper accommodation, although would not want to pay much more. Small supermarket on the corner of the main street, 2 mins walk down the hill, excellent price on local beer & snacks.
Hotel Feature Tip: Watch out for thr slippery steps near the lower pool.
Nicholas P. Couples Australia, March 8, 2010
Great place for the price

Multiple swimming pools, comfortable beds and spacious rooms.
8
We booked this thinking that we were getting a room at Sugar Palm on Kata Beach, but this one was further up a hill. We were taken up to our rooms on a golf buggy, but be careful if you are seated on the back of the buggy -- the hills are extremely steep and I had to hold on very tightly so as not to slide off the buggy. It's a great hotel for the price that you are paying. Rooms are spacious and the beds are comfy, but the concrete floors in the room and bathrooms don't look clean (even though they probably were). Each room has a decent sized balcony, and there were lots of little swimming pools scattered over the various floors.
Restaurant Tip: Don't eat at Kata beach if you are after authentic Thai cuisine!

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel PhuketSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ExteriorSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ExteriorSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - FacilitiesSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - LobbySugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - LobbySugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - LobbySugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Fitness RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Fitness RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Meeting RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Facilities

Customer Reviews - Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel, Phuket

AS-AGWEB-3A05