arrow-up-icon Get points on your miles program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.3
Based on 3976 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 3976 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Staff Performance 8.4
  • Value for Money 8.6
  • Food/Dining 7.4

9.7 Stanley H.
Singapore
December 09, 2010
Great place for personal retreats.
Infinity pools, rooms with direct pool access from their balcony. The awesome view of Kata beach from room balcony
Wifi connections kind of weak and quite slow. Needs improvement.
Upon arrival, I was given a free upgrade by the hotel staff to Grand Seaview room when I check-in with my fiancee. The room given is very spacious with an awesome view of the beach and the hotel pools at one glance. I am very impressed by the details which the hotel had taken into consideration of each guest's stay. They room comes with extra beach towels, beach sandals (Crocs) and even a pair of umbrellas if it rains. Although it's about 5mins away from the beach, the hotel offers a quiet retreat if they prefer to chill out within the hotel ground. It's a good place for retreat!

9.7 Keely W.
United Kingdom
December 08, 2010
We LOVED this hotel!
Modern. clean, great view, free internet
lots of steps and slopes if you're in a high up room
we stayed here for 5 nights. we asked for the highest room to get the best view. it was a slight trek to get there (2 elevators, 3 steep slopes and some stairs) but it was well worthit for our amazing view of kata! the staff were soooo friendly and helpful. we had free wifi in our room. the pools were great and never busy. the swim up pools looked lovely too. poolside food was really nice. we loved our room - it was very modern with an amazing bed and plasma tv and dvd player etc. this was really good value for money too - compared to other hotels in the area. in the very centre of kata and 3 minute walk to the beach.

5 Irina F.
Latvia
December 08, 2010
Très moyenne, bruit horrible de conditionner
Rien
Chambre très sombre, conditionner tellement bruyante on est oblige dormir sans, mouvez odeur dans la sale de bain.
N’allez pas dans cet hôtel, il y a mieux, Avista par exemple

8.7 Petteri V.
Finland
December 07, 2010
Good value for money
Location and pool
Poor gym
Hotel is worth the money, very well located, staff is friendly, rooms are clean even if the modern design might not be for everybody’s taste. We liked it anyway. Pool is very nice, but gym is pretty basic. Breakfast was nothing special and expensive, but restaurant cross the road has very good breakfast with half of the price.

9 ESTEFANIA S.
Argentina
December 05, 2010
Great hotel.
Nice design, great location.
None
Great hotel, great price, excelent location. Hotel location is really near beach, markets and restaurants. Also bars at night are at a walking distance from the hotel. The hotel structure is very modern. It is equipped with several swimming pools, a/c in room, mini bar and other accessories that make your stay better.

8 Widyada C.
Thailand
December 03, 2010
Nice View
Nice ocean view, nice pool, a minute walk to restaurants
Walk up/down the hill isn't that fun after the 2nd round
Sugar Palm Grand Hill has a nice ocean view. At first we got the room at the the top level which was quite challenging for a pregnant women. So we asked for a room at lower level and got it at the 3rd fl closed to an elevator. The room is nice decorated, bed is comfy and clean. I think this is supposed to be a 3-3.5 stars hotel instead of 4 comparing to what 5 and 6 stars hotels that I've stayed before. Bottom line is, I would stay here again.

7.7 Patricia Q.
United Kingdom
December 02, 2010
Relaxing hillside corner
Spacious clean rooms with nice balconies, helpful friendly staff
None that come to mind
Helpful 24 hour staff because I arrived late at night. The room I had overlooked the pool but to be honest there is not much difference to the view over the garden. Might have been nice to have a room with direct access to the pool but then this comes with less privacy because everyone can see in unless you have the curtains drawn. The atmosphere is chilled and quite which is great for relaxing by the pool(lots of loungers available) but also close to the beach and shops. Great location.

8 Serena K.
Australia
November 27, 2010
Great modern hotel!
Concrete bathroom, spacious shower, comfortable bed.
Very steep driveway to access hotel.
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside (not to be confused with Sugar Palm Hotel) is a beautiful hotel with great views of Kata Beach. The rooms were very modern, with concrete walls with gives it a cool, funky feel. As it is set on the side of the hill, the design is quite unique and you must take several lifts to get to your room if it is situated on a higher level. Overall though, beautiful hotel in a great location.

9.3 Timothy C.
Australia
November 25, 2010
Awesome hotel. Best option in Phuket.
Beautiful accommodation.
About and hour from the airport.
We completely loved this place. It's not in Patong, which is where most tourists stay. Kata is much nicer and more quiet. Absolutely beautiful. Staff are fantastic, the restaurant is great. View is great, rooms are excellent. Very modern.

7.7 Yu T.
Taiwan
November 21, 2010
Spacious room with a big bathtub.
The bed is clean and the enviroment is quiet.
The location is difficult to find at night as the signboard is very small and the big signboard is on top of the hill.
The hotel is loacted on the hill, and its a bit difficult to loacte at night, advive to check in in the day. The room is big and clean. Its come with free wi-fi access but its slow. Staff are friendly and approachable but not very fluent with english.