Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel

1 Coktanote soi 3, Kata Road, Muang, Kata, Phuket, Thailand 83100 (Show on map)

Book now!

Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Deluxe Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Deluxe Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Deluxe Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Deluxe Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Deluxe Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Deluxe Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Deluxe Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Jacuzzi Deluxe Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Jacuzzi Deluxe Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Jacuzzi Deluxe Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Jacuzzi Deluxe Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Pool Access Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Pool Access Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Pool Access Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Pool Access Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Jacuzzi Deluxe
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Deluxe Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Deluxe Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Interior Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Fitness Room Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Fitness Room Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Restaurant Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Restaurant Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Restaurant Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Lobby Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Lobby Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Lobby Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming Pool
Area: Kata Number of Rooms: 106
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.2

from 3750 reviews

Value for Money
8.6
Location
8.3
Staff Performance
8.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.5
Room Comfort/Standard
8.2
Food/Dining
7.4
All reviews (3750)
Sort by:
Radoslaw W. Couples Canada, April 28, 2010
Well priced clean contemporary hotel steps in Kata

Clean & contemporary rooms, with all the necessary amenities well laid out. Free wifi in the rooms. Friendly service from all staff. Nice views of Kata town and the beach. Pool access rooms available at a very affordable price.
9.3
We absolutely loved this hotel, it was one of the better resorts we have stayed at in our lifetimes. We both appreciate good architecture and interior design, and this place was literally jaw dropping upon arrival. The concrete interior might be cold for some, but we love the industrial-like simplicity of the design! We opted for the pool access room, instead of the beach view, as both were equally priced, and we made the right choice, as pool access rooms usually cost lots more elsewhere. We loved having our midnight swims in what felt like a private pool, or just having a pool to jump into after hiking up the hill from town drenched in sweat. Wifi was free and the connection was excellent, the staff were very friendly, and we never felt that they were hard to communicate with, yes some did not speak good English, but we still understood each other. We had breakfasts included, and they were wonderful, with lots of choice, it felt more like a brunch buffet. We would recommend this resort to all our friends. Its very close to the beach, shopping, restaurants etc.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: The travel desk at the hotel is overpriced, same with the laundry. Instead, book your ferries or excursions at the travel office on the little road leading to the hotel. Same with laundry, get it done at the massage place on this same road.
Report this review
Yu-Tin L. Couples Taiwan, April 27, 2010
Great value for money

Location was great, the room was spacious, the pool access was great! Since we got the bar right across the pool too! At night the pool view is very beautiful too. Room service was reasonably priced too so we didn't have to walk all the way down the hill and up again just to fill our stomache.
9
Over all it was a really nice hotel with a young atmosphere with the matching price! The hotel staff were very nice and Agoda price is always the best! Thank you Agoda. Also we visited the hotel the night before (we were staying at the sugar palm at first) and requested the room that we were shown to, and at our request we got the exact room that we wanted which was great!
Report this review
Jo S. Groups Singapore, April 24, 2010
Fantastic Stay

Modern and contemporary design Clean, spacious rooms with huge bathroom Rooms come with semi-private pools
8
The 3 of us booked 2 pool access rooms and we practically get the pool to ourselves as the pool was only connected to the 2 rooms. It felt pretty exclusive and convenient. Especially when, we were given rooms higher up the hill where the pool comes with nice view. The rooms came with a DVD player and free wi-fi. I loved the huge bathroom which came with a huge bath tub and shower area. Upon check in, the counter staff got a golf-cart to drive up the hill to our rooms. The staff didn't warn us of the steep ride and it almost scared the hell out of me. Luckily, we held on tightly to the rails. The hotel is just 5 - 10 minutes' walk to the beach and everything and anything can be found along the walk to the beach. The only bad experience would be with an unfriendly guy counter staff. He didn't smile and gave us a "No" when we enquire if he could help us arrange a taxi for us the next day. Overall, We enjoyed our stay and would love to go back again.
Report this review
Ong R. Couples Singapore, April 23, 2010
sugar plam hillside

nice private swimming pool,and nice desined bedroom
8.3
my wife and i with anoher 2 friends spent our lovely 5 days there at Kata sugar palm hillside,the rooms(Pool access) are lovely with spacious bath room and bath tube,Nice LCD Tv and DVD PLayer,there is even a DVD library at the recept counter,my wife and i love the swimming pool and even at nite we can swim privately,the rooms we choose is the top of the rooms selection,so therefore we will have to climb high up to our hotel rooms,so therefore if u are those kinda of person that doesnt wanna walk too far or climb stairs.u will have to choose a lower floor room,the hotel also have a nice parking space ,if u decide to rent a car at the airport,u can safetly park the car at their own designated carpark with security 24/7. Overall a nice place for us and we will def be back next time!!!!
Report this review
Katherine C. Couples Australia, April 20, 2010
sugar palm!

nice pools, location, great rooms
10
loved staying here! wished we could have stayed longer, the staff were very friendly and organised a driver to take us around during the day. ate from stalls on the streets around the hotel and night markets were right outside. loved the pool and the room, we stayed in a jacuzzi room and it was so clean and we also borrowed dvds to watch from the lobby. will be back!
Shopping Tip: walk around first before buying!
Report this review
Elizabeth Z. Groups Canada, April 18, 2010
beautiful hotel perched on a hill

very close, about 6 minutes walk to kata beach. free wifi
8.3
this hotel should be named grand hillside sugar palm as you have to walk up a steep hill to get to it. albeit not very long distance, it is steep and can be hard if you are wearing heels. the staff were friendly but not particularly helpful. the whole hotel concept is of concrete so I'm not sure if that is the reason why the washroom fixtures were coming off the walls. e.g. our shower head screws were coming loose off the wall and houskeeping did not fix it throughout our stay. also the faucet had the same problem, it was loose coming out of the concrete counter. the pools on the different levels of the hotel are beautiful and we had a nice plasma tv in our room.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: there are millions of tours you can book for e.g. ko phi phi, phang nga bay in phuket so make sure you compare the itineraries and ensure you are booked for the one you wanted. Jenny who works at this travel agency halfway down the hill of this hotel was extremely helpful.
Report this review
Wong W. Families with older children Hong Kong, April 10, 2010
Very suitable for a quiet vacation

Very clean and neat The environment is perfect for a getaway from city The staff are very polite Swimming pool is very clean and special in design Very convenient and quick access into the free wi-fi network, need not enter username and password for every session Just a 10-minute walk to arrive at restaurants and Kata beach. Restaurants nearby are of better bargains.
9.3
1. This is an excellent hotel of very reasonable price to live in which I strongly recommend. Located in a quiet environment up on the hill but with convenient access to beaches, marts and restaurants. 2. Improve the design of the elevator button, it is very difficult to press every time. 3. Should offer shuttle to pick up customers from places like the airport, beach areas, Phuket town or downtown, especially for the elderly and children since the slope is too steep to move up.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: The hotel is very near to Kata beach. Just a 10-minute walk will do. Lots of restaurants (cheap and expensive) are located around. You can walk into different shops around the area to ask about local tours. You can surely get a good bargain after enquiring different shops.
Report this review
Kwok H. Couples Hong Kong, April 9, 2010
Nice hotel!

nice swimming pool, clean and neat room! the staff are quite helpful. there are flowers on your bed upon arrival
9
the room is a bit less good than expected, but still it is a pretty nice hotel with their low price. I had a relaxing stay at the hotel. The beach is just around the corner.you can go back to the hotel immediately after swimming which is nice. there are various tv channels. and a dvd player in the room. even if you have ur dvds. you can borrow one at the front desk. good!
Report this review
Ming K. Couples Singapore, April 9, 2010
Awesome

Clean, Beautiful, Great Location and Spacious Rooms
9
The stay was pleasant and enjoyable. Interior of the room was great. Neat, spacious and the pool side view is lovely. Location is great as Kata is a lovely place. Peaceful and quiet, unlike Patong which is very chaotic. You can rent a bike from the lobby for 250 baht. It is safe to ride around in Kata. but if you were to head down to Patong, please beware of the police as they tend to fine tourists for riding without a license. So, its best is you bring your vehicle license along to avoid the 300baht fine.
Restaurant Tip: Two chefs's English breakfast is very yummy. And if you were to go further down (opposite Oasis/Elephant Plus), they have a cafe with very good Thai food. Their pricing of the food is reasonable and the staff there is very nice. The lady even personally cooked Larp Gai for us even it wasn't on the menu. Try their Green Curry and Tom yum goong. i had it for 3 days and didnt got sick of it. =)
Report this review
Hassan H. Couples Australia, April 9, 2010
had a sugar of a time

good location modern rooms
8.7
had a very comfortable stay in a modern resort
Hotel Feature Tip: get the lower rooms fairly steep location
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel PhuketSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand DeluxeSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand DeluxeSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand DeluxeSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand DeluxeSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand DeluxeSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand DeluxeSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand DeluxeSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Jacuzzi DeluxeSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Jacuzzi DeluxeSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Jacuzzi DeluxeSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Jacuzzi DeluxeSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Pool AccessSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Pool AccessSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Pool AccessSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Pool AccessSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Jacuzzi DeluxeSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand DeluxeSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand DeluxeSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - InteriorSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Fitness RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Fitness RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - LobbySugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - LobbySugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - LobbySugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Meeting RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - FacilitiesSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ExteriorSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ExteriorSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ExteriorSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ExteriorSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Entrance

Customer Reviews - Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel, Phuket

Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A03