Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel

1 Coktanote soi 3, Kata Road, Muang, Kata, Phuket, Thailand 83100 (Show on map)

Book now!

Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Restaurant Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Exterior Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Deluxe Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Deluxe Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Deluxe Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Deluxe Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Deluxe Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Deluxe Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Deluxe Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Deluxe Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Deluxe Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Interior Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Exterior Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Meeting Room
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Facilities Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Exterior Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Exterior Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Lobby Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Fitness Room Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Entrance Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Lobby
Area: Kata Number of Rooms: 106
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.2

based on
3719 reviews

Value for Money
8.6
Location
8.3
Staff Performance
8.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.5
Room Comfort/Standard
8.2
Food/Dining
7.4
All reviews (3719)
Sort by:
Nicholas P. Couples Australia, March 8, 2010
Great place for the price

Multiple swimming pools, comfortable beds and spacious rooms.
8
We booked this thinking that we were getting a room at Sugar Palm on Kata Beach, but this one was further up a hill. We were taken up to our rooms on a golf buggy, but be careful if you are seated on the back of the buggy -- the hills are extremely steep and I had to hold on very tightly so as not to slide off the buggy. It's a great hotel for the price that you are paying. Rooms are spacious and the beds are comfy, but the concrete floors in the room and bathrooms don't look clean (even though they probably were). Each room has a decent sized balcony, and there were lots of little swimming pools scattered over the various floors.
Restaurant Tip: Don't eat at Kata beach if you are after authentic Thai cuisine!
Matthew S. Solo travelers Australia, March 5, 2010
Great location, Nice hotel

1 min walk to Kata shopping & restaurants Value for money if you use agoda etc Modern rooms
8
Have stayed in Sugar Palm Grand Hillside twice now, firstly in room 1907 which is a spa room & now staying in 2204 which is a pool access room close to the top of the resort that has views over Kata. Have found the staff to be helpfull & friendly, some reviews reported otherwise, but this is not my experience. The rooms are spacious, no complaints, but you somehow feel that they have not been completely finished, as there is bare concrete floors in most rooms. I realise that this is part of the design, however you feel that the tiles are missing. I would stay here again, room 2204 is better with view & pool access.
Restaurant Tip: Right accross from the hotel enterance is a restaurant, orchid restaurant I think, but great value for money & supberb Penang chicken.
Andrew S. Solo travelers United States of America, March 4, 2010
Great Pool-Poor Service

The pool
5.3
The Sugar Palm Hillside Hotel was a much different stay for me this year then it was for me last year. The staff this year spoke little to no english at all. They were very difficult to communicate with. This made some of the normal things a hotel is responsible for very hard to change or excute in the way I wanted it. I wanted to cancelle a fishing trip I booked and I asked the hotel to cancelle the trip for me and they said they would and didn't. On a more positive note, the hotel has made some improvements to the property. They added a elevator and a pool bar.They have great swimming pools at the hotel.They have a great pool bartender named Joe who was very good at his job. Overall, my stay was just fair and I am not sure if I would stay at the Sugar Palm Hillside Hotel again.
Hotel Feature Tip: Be careful a lot of the cabbies try to charge an extra 50 Bhat to drive you up the hill to the front door of the hotel.
San S. Couples Singapore, March 4, 2010
Our Stay at Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Resort

Beautiful pool and view. Staff are friendly. Comfortable place to stay in.Love the pool access room, esp romantic for couple. Free Wi-fi within the resort and internet access at the main reception area.
8
Would like to stay at the resort again should we go phuket again.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Try the ice-cream at the italian cafe just down walk down from the resort steep pavement and turn right, 2nd unit. The restaurant that's opp the resort lobby serve food that are quite salty, try the one along the kata beach, mama seafood restaurant instead. Taxi from kata to patong is about 350 to 400 bahts and from airport to kata is about 800 bahts. Getting resort to book the taxi can cost 50 bahts more..kata beach is much beautiful than patong but patong night entertainment are much happening...We also catch cinema movie at the Big shopping mall at patong. Try shopping at the premium outlet is like factory outlet.
Kent W. Solo travelers Canada, March 2, 2010
Disappointing Experience

Friendly housekeeping staff
5
Very disappointed in this hotel - I travel extensively in Asia and for the price this was a big disappointment. From front desk the room was a 10 min walk up a hill, two elevator rides and then a climb up a cement driveway followed by two sets of stairs - this wasn't indicated when I selected - would be inaccessable to anyone with mobility issues! Hotel is about 10 min walk from beach - poor views from many rooms - I overlooked the side of a building with no view. Hot water not always available, odour of sewage in room, air conditioner worked too well (couldn't control temperature). Front desk staff were not friendly.
Restaurant Tip: Don't hesitate to go to the other end of Kata beach to check out restaurants - don't just stay close to hotel.
Anthony L. Groups Singapore, March 1, 2010
HIllside Sugar Stay

New and clean. Quiet and peaceful.
7
The bed is comfortable and the room is clean. The pool is clean and nice to hangout in the evening. Cons is the steep slope and steps. Otherwise, I would recommend to my frens. GD value.
Chan W. Groups China, February 28, 2010
Value for Money

Ambience : quiet Location : near to the beach Price : value for money Service : acceptable Breakfast : good
8
I had gone through the comments from other hotel guests in the site saying that it was hard for high floor guests to go back to their rooms without using club car. Now, I can tell everybody that the elevators are in operation now. I just wonder that nobody had told me that thave had elevators for use. I am quite lucky that I had read other guestss comments before I go. That said, the elevators were being built. For the time being, it can be open for the guests' use. Given that you are residing at the high floors, you can go to your rooms easily.
Restaurant Tip: Many restaurants in the vicinity are nice.
Hannele L. Couples Finland, February 26, 2010
Modern style hotel

Room was big and nice with jacuzzi in the balcony. Nice seawiev over Kata Beach. Breakfast was good. Even we have been on 10th floor there was an easy access to the room.
7
Jacintha L. Couples Australia, February 25, 2010
Nice stay @ Sugar Palm Grand Hillside

Very clean and neat rooms. Free internet
8
My partner and I stayed on the Sugar Palm Grand Hillside on the 23rd-25th Feb 2010. The hotel is walking distance to the beach and into the streets. However the slope is very steep, but they provide golf type buggies to take you to your room. The view from this hotel is beautiful, especially at night when they had these LED lights at the bottom of the pool. However they do not allow night swimming? Our room was very clean and neat, providing a big TV and DVD player, however it STUNK of cigarette smoke. The staff here are friendly however their english is not very good. We asked if they had a cardboard box we could have, they couldnt understand. We didnt try any room service. I found my stay at Sugar Palm Grand Hillside quite enjoyable despite my minor complaints, especially seeing we had a good price from Agoda.
Mark B. Couples United Kingdom, February 22, 2010
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside review

Very central Kata Beach
7.3
Suagr Palm Grand hillside resort gave us a very warm welcome and our room was ready despite our very early arrival after an overnight fight from Europe. The rooms are furnished in a very minimalist style but are well appointed and very comfortable. The pool was very stylish. We did not use the hotel restaurant at all.Front desk service was erratic and asking to book restaurants was a new thing fro them.
Restaurant Tip: Avoid the expensive breakfast at the hotel and use the very good local place 10 meters across the road.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel PhuketSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ExteriorSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand DeluxeSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand DeluxeSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand DeluxeSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand DeluxeSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand DeluxeSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand DeluxeSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand DeluxeSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand DeluxeSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand DeluxeSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - InteriorSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ExteriorSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Meeting RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - FacilitiesSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ExteriorSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ExteriorSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - LobbySugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Fitness RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - EntranceSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - LobbySugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - LobbySugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Fitness RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Jacuzzi DeluxeSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Jacuzzi DeluxeSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Jacuzzi DeluxeSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Jacuzzi DeluxeSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Jacuzzi DeluxeSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Pool AccessSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Pool AccessSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Pool AccessSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Pool Access

Customer Reviews - Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel, Phuket

AS-AGWEB-3A04