arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.3
Based on 3974 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 3974 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.1
  • Location 8.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.4
  • Value for Money 8.6
  • Food/Dining 7.4

9 Jason C.
United States
September 03, 2010
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside and Grand Place to Stay
The hotel is very new and modern. The room was so comfortable and "cool" that I spent half my vacation just hanging out in the room (and i never do that). Room service, though small-portioned, but delicious and cheaper than most restaurants in the area. It is an excellent hotel!
i had an overall great stay at the Sugar Palm Grand Hillside and I would highly recommend it!

9.7 Non N.
Thailand
September 02, 2010
Great time there
Beatiful hotel
Not close to the beach
I really recommend this hotel.It was a great time there even just one night but we had fun there.The room was cool and nice.All I can say is this is the best hotel I've ever been...

9.3 Dominic L.
United Kingdom
August 31, 2010
great hotel
great room and pool
building work inconvenient
Brilliant hotel, I cannot recommend it enough. We booked the grand jacuzzi deluxe and had a great view from the balcony over kata beach. Great staff, breakfast was good and free internet access.

6.3 Jiu J.
Singapore
August 25, 2010
Great view
different sizes of swimming pools
too steep slops and makes it dangerous or troublesome during raining days.
my room was exceptionally spacious and like the raw stone flooring of the room . and the bath tub was one of the biggest one that i have seen for my holiday, very luxury. i stay on the highest floor ,at a special angle i am able to have the sea view. the only thing is the better the room is, the higher part of the hill you will be staying which happens to me and i took 2 days to get use to it and even walk down the slopes and up some times. beside the climbing , its a great choice.

8.3 Charumat T.
Thailand
August 25, 2010
Sugar Plam Grand Hillside
Sea View
The hotel is located on the hill so we have to walk through the hill even they have the cars to pick up.
I love this hotel so much. Modern deceration and full accommodation. Many restaurants around and tour agents.

9 Siti N.
Singapore
August 25, 2010
Living up to its name..
Great pool, excellent service and nice exterior.
Up the hill..
A boutique hotel that has nice accommodation. The bathroom is excellent as it consists of a bathtub and shower room. You have to experience it to feel the awesomess. You can draw the blinds in the bathroom depending if you want privacy or open concept. If you got the high floor,you will get to see the sunset as it's just a few minutes walk down to kata beach. Only downside is the hotel is located up the hill. The slope is rather steep too. But hey,the name says it all. Hillside.. So take the hill as a form of exercise after a tan at the beach or exploring the food at the different restaurants.

7.3 thien D.
United States
August 23, 2010
My Stay at the Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Good landscaping and convenient location
Uphill walk
We had a truly comfortable stay at the hotel and all the services provided was up to our expectations. The rates was reasonable and the room size provided us with comfortable space. The location of the hotel is also conveniently located near eating places, coffee shops and plenty of shopping. We had some problems walking up and down the hill, especially after lots of shopping. May I suggest that you place your concierge service at the bottom of the hill (near the main road) to provide assistance when I come back with lots of bags or shopping. Overall, service was good and staff of the hotel was efficient and helpful. I also truly enjoyed the free wi-fi internet provided in the rooms which other hotels charge for. I find this an added-value to my stay at your hotel.

7.3 Andrew P.
Singapore
August 20, 2010
Good things does not need to be always expensive
the pool facing the sea
the flexibility
the stay was good although the location is not easy to find initially as it is on top of a hill. place is clean and room are big. will not mind going for the same hotel the next time i am there. recommended

7.7 Irnie T.
Malaysia
August 16, 2010
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Review
Modern concept, architecture, interior and pool
Buggy without protective rail is dangerous, some of the pool is not clean
I must say these hotel is real bargain during low season. I like the interior but my wife don't. Easy access to foods and restaurant, great modern looking hotel, friendly staff, and away from the main road. Maintenance and ants are my complaint though...Will surely come back someday

7 Mazhar M.
Canada
August 15, 2010
Good for budget travelers and backpackers
Location, some nice shopping and restaurants around.
Breakfast
The hotel was fine for the price, location is good for some night shopping and few restaurants around. Breakfast was below standard but so was at most Thai hotels we stayed. You may like if you like Thai food. Staff wasn't really sure of what Halal or Kosher was. Some Phuket hotels in this area have a elevated road access and this hotel has as well but it is not really that bad. We though it was an issue on the first day but it is good for some calorie burns. Overall, go for the hotel if you are on a budget. No dining at the hotel, but around the area there are several restaurants including a Halal/Kosher.