Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.3
Based on 4035 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 4033 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.9
  • Location 8.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.4
  • Value for money 8.6
  • Food/Dining 7.4

Marcus C. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed one night in September 2010
good for value, quiet
quiet, clean, good design, friendly staff
a bit up to hill
this is the first night we stayed in the hotel. the nice swan, good bathtub, and clean, friendly
Reviewed September 29, 2010

George H. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in September 2010
Hotel on the hill
Jacuzzi on the balcony, free wi fi, very nice pool area
A very nice hotel in a good location. I was very surprised to find a jacuzzi on my balcony but soon discovered that it is a fantastic place to relax and watch the beautiful sunset over Kata Bay. Room was a good standard although I did think the bare concrete floor looked unfinished at first, it soon grew on me and I actually liked the design after a day. Breakfast buffet is quite good with plenty to choose from. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. A word of warning, the hotel is on a steep hill so may not be ideal for elderly people or anyone with walking difficulties.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Lee E. from Hong Kong
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in September 2010
Good value but staff wasn't very nice
pool access, modern style
No one staff smile, Not enough staff
It is located a hill and we couldn't drive my car up to the hill (my room), we need to rely on their golf car to pick up and drop off to the room. However, there are not enough staff, sometimes we need to wait 10 mins in the room for picking up. We called to the reception for pick up my car, then we arrived to the reception and my car wasn't arrived. The staff with no smile. But the hardware is good, new, modern, my room can be accessed to the swimming pool and can be seen a little bit Kata Beach. My husband doesn't like the toilet, no decor on the wall, but I guess it is a design style. After the staying, the jacuzzi room in 19F is the best and can be seen the Kata Beach and the pool access room in 21F is the best but can not be seen the Beach.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

LI N. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in September 2010
Good but slightly overrated
Interior of the room (spacious, modern, bathroom), privacy and quiet surroundings
More frequent buggy rides up (hotel room was on the peak of the hill), army of ants raiding the room when sweets were left on the table, swimming pool was located slightly far away for hotel rooms situated on the highest peak.
Overall it was a good stay but a little inconvenient since it was quite far from Patong beach. However, we traded the excitement and noise for the peace that was found at Kata and our hotel. The room was spacious and necessary amenities were provided but we were shocked to find ants crawling all over food that we brought back to the hotel. This may apply only to our room maybe. The hotel had a in-house spa which was convenient although we did not get to try it. Another inconvenience was access to the pool, as our room was located on the highest peak of the hill which meant that all pools (located below) were out of reach. Also, since these pools were usually connected to rooms, it was rather awkward to jump in and join since it was almost like a private pool of sorts. So potential guests might consider getting rooms with pool access instead. There were many shops near the hotel - 7-eleven, restaurants and cafes. Good for chilling out in the hot afternoons.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

May B. from South Korea
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in September 2010
cheap price and great view
pool access view
nothing special
We stayed this hotel for 3 night with booking Pool access room. Some people complained some inconvience to walk up the stairs. But for me it was just good small walk. There was no problem with using internet in this hotel. and also seeing the city from pool after sunset was so nice.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

eran M. from Israel
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in September 2010
we love the sugar palm!!
beautiful large rooms, amazing design
hard to get to elevators
we absolutly LOVED the sugar palm, it's one of the best designed hotels we stayed at, it has dvd in the rooms, and a small dvd library which you can borrow movies from for free. we went to another hotel in phuket during our stay, and it couldn't measure up so we canceled there and came back to the sugar palm. They are not so great with the room service, it takes quite a long time, but the food is very fair in price and we could forgive them because it's such a great place. Excellent location - in kata beach, the best beach in phuket... would absolutly recommend it to the ones we love.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

chai F. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in September 2010
Hotel to Relax
Nice big room with pool access n big bathroom
front office staff need better communication skills
Hotel more for relaxation. It is quite tedious to come n go as climbing up d steep hill is an issue eventhough there is a buggy service.Front office not very helpful as i hv requested d pool access across the bar n they were not able to explain why it was not available n asked me to check again d next day. Most shops close by 11 pm at nearby area.Found a place called black canyon coffee which sells good tom yam noodles just across the road.Overall a good relaxing stay.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Hong T. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed one night in June 2010
Minimal at affordable price!
the design of the room & property
we love the design of the rooms and the pools. very clean rooms and comfortable. located at the end of karon beach, makes it a good quiet location without the dodgy characters. and it is out of the tsunami zone, on a hillside!
Reviewed September 22, 2010

Wong P. from Hong Kong
Groups
Stayed 4 nights in September 2010
A nice hotel with very reasonable price
The staff are very helpful
That would be better if the swimming pool can be larger
We stay there for 4 nights and would definately come back again next time.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Daphne K. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in August 2010
awesome
Though the walking up the steep slope, back to your room is tiring, but my boyfriend & i enjoyed the walk up everyday. The whole structure of the hotel is very good, as it offers privacy. And because it was probably low season, there wasnt' much people around, so we appreciated the peace it gave to us
We ordered for room service, green curry with rice. the poriton was so small, as i'm already a small eater, but the portion was terrible. i could hardly get to drink any of the green curry.
Overall, i would say it's an enjoyable stay. It was near the beach, just 5mins of slow walk,and outside our hotel, it's a row of shops. Staff are friendly, just that except, when i lost the card key to the hotel, i was fined for it, which i wasnt very glad, because most hotels would have not asked to be charged. BUt nevertheless, its a small sum.
Reviewed September 17, 2010