arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.3
Based on 3979 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 3978 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.4
  • Value for Money 8.6
  • Food/Dining 7.4

8 Audy W.
Singapore
August 08, 2010
sugar palm
value for money
steep slopes
My first choice hotel everytime iam at Phuket. Value for money, nice views, spacious room and very accessible pool right at your balcony. Its quite a quiet area compared to Patong, but its just a short 15 mins journey away to Patong. Would probably comment on the steep steps, slopes we have to climb everytime we return to our rooms.

7.7 Jeremy B.
Australia
August 06, 2010
Good Value
Location, Value
Rooms seemed unfinished
Great location, although a short walk up the hill at the south end of Kata, 5 mins walk to Kata beach, 15 mins to Kata Noi. Close to restaurants, shopping etc

7.7 Peak A.
Malaysia
August 06, 2010
Value for money
Modern, clean, attentive staff
A little far.
I enjoyed my stay at Sugar Palm with my husband. It's new and contemporary. We love the pool.

5.7 Michael K.
United States
August 06, 2010
Great if you like swimming pools!!
Hillside views
If your at the top buildings, it's a steep walk
Stayed at a Pool Access Room and depending on which room you get, you either share a small pool between 2 rooms, or a huge pool with the rest of the hotel and everything in between. Pools are nice, the rooms are small, roughly 350-450sq feet in US measurements or 40sqm in metric standards.

6.3 Brian C.
Malaysia
August 05, 2010
Nice swimming pool and price, but I didnt like the
The cascading swimming pool
Lack of parking space, not all levels have lifts
You get a bird's eye view of the city from the cascading swimming pool. This hotel might not be suitable for elderly or disabled because its on a hillslope, and it is a bit of a walk from your room to the lobby. Room flooring is pure cement, albeit polished and painted, which is not too my liking.

5.7 Riza B.
Malaysia
August 04, 2010
Phuket - July 2010
The location and the price
The service was really poor from the front desk to the buggy drivers which were extremely rude and unhelpful.
Our stay at in Phuket in general was good and fun as we were with a bunch of friends. The level of service at the hotel left much to be desired. The staff were not friendly and some of them were downright rude.

10 YU Y.
Singapore
August 01, 2010
A wonderful stay in Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
nice concept, clean pool, friendly hotel staffs.
upper block of the building are only acessible by slope which may prove a challenge for old couple.
the hotel room are clean, staff are on duty 24hrs to tend to your needs. The pool are cleaned thoroughly. After thunderstorms where leaves are remained in the pool, the staff efficiently clean up the pool immediately. the breakfast has a wide variety and are definitely taste good. full marks for the hospitality and the stay.

9.3 A R.
Australia
July 27, 2010
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside was a lovely place to st
The staff were friendly and helpful, cleanliness was excellent
The hill.
The staff were friendly and helpful, and the general tidiness and cleanliness was excellent. We would thoroughly recommend it to anyone.

8.7 Marcellinus J.
Indonesia
July 27, 2010
Will definitely come back...
Very cool architecture and interior design, friendly staff, love the room (spacious, trendy, and comfy)
Due to the design and the location, it's a bit complicated (and far) to go to my room...
I absolutely loved it..! It's amazing value for money. The design of the hotel is very trendy and modern, the rooms are really really nice, minimalistic design, yet very very comfy. The staff are very friendly too. There are many nice restaurants and mini markets around the hotel, so lots of options for food. Kata beach overall is not that great for shopping I found, so I wouldn't stay in Kata if shopping is my priority. I would absolutely come back and stay in this hotel again.

9.3 Robert M.
Australia
July 26, 2010
Great Again
Pools and Location
None
This is the second time we stayed at the Sugar Palm and we will stay again. Now that the elevator and pool bar are operational it is even better then last year.