arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.3
Based on 3976 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 3976 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.4
  • Value for Money 8.6
  • Food/Dining 7.4

8.7 Lesley L.
Australia
July 25, 2010
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Well situated, minimalist room good ocean view with jacuzzi overlooking the Andaman sea.
Room service cheap but childsize serving and luke warm, No information on the hotel facilities in your room.
I really enjoyed this hotel I like the minimalist style. Very short walk into main part of town only a few minutes to beach. Great restaraunt adjacent to hotel as the hotel only offers breakfast which I did not bother with. Ocean view great view of the Sea the ninth floor. Need to take 2 separate lifts to get to the room. I went in low season and it was quiet which I enjoyed. Staff pleasant.

8 SOO L.
Singapore
July 21, 2010
Great hotel value for money
Pool access is great
Steep slope
Lovely hotel wit beautiful ppl..pool access is definetly a plus!breakfast could be better.overall a nice place to stay.be back for sure.

10 Sharifah A.
Singapore
July 19, 2010
5 stars for a low cost traveller!
Cheap during low season
channels were fucked. but hey I can borrow dvds downstairs at the lobby.
Excellent location. It might be a climb (short one) but its a good cardio for lazy big fat travellers, for me I'm good. My room located at the 2nd last storey grand-pool excess, excellent view, great cost, awesome awesome breakfast! I got the room for 47USD so its like a dream come true. Will come back again next year. Sugar Palm 10 stars for you!

9.3 Matthew J.
United Kingdom
July 17, 2010
Contempory design great service
Good location. Modern clean rooms.
Steep road to hotel reception. Lack of sun beds
We enjoyed a 5 night stay in a jacuzzi balcony room. The location is good but ther is quite a steep hill road to climb to get to the hotel. Rooms were clean and uber modern and the jacuzzi on the ,balcony over looking the beach was a great touch. Probably the best contempory hotel for the money anywhere in Kata beach. We would definately go back.

7 Anthony L.
Singapore
July 14, 2010
HIllside Sugar Stay
New and clean. Quiet and peaceful.
Steep slope, but there is lift.
The bed is comfortable and the room is clean. The pool is clean and nice to hangout in the evening. Cons is the steep slope and steps. Otherwise, I would recommend to my frens. GD value.

8.3 Evelyn L.
Singapore
July 12, 2010
Serenity
Quiet, away from the husle and busle of kata. Cozy room.
Steep slope up to the hotel can be a chore.
We moved over to this hotel after spending two nights at the sister hotel - sugar palms resort. We prefer this hotel - newer place, friendlier staff, more facilities (poool), cable tv etc.

7 Maythus D.
Thailand
July 12, 2010
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel
Room, bath tub and swimming pool
The location of hotel is too hard to find
We drove to the hotel and spent about 45 minutes to find. We after found the sign was cracked down on the road. The hotel has a great view (city view) and location is not bad. There close to the beach and other famous restaurants around. We love the room, especially the bath tub. The staffs were very hospitality. The swimming pool is the highlight for this hotel. However, we suggest the main swimming pool should closed a bit late because there has sparkling in the night time. We were very happy on stay and definitely come back again very soon.

8.7 Soo K.
Singapore
July 10, 2010
The Hotel is great~!
Everything is clean, room's spacious and comfy...
The hike up to the hotel
Would definitely go back again =)Best hotel I've ever bunked in =)

9.7 Vernon T.
Malaysia
July 10, 2010
Absolutely marvellous
Friendly staff, very clean room, good view
Water pressure not strong enough (but acceptable)
I recently went to Phuket with my colleagues (my first trip out of Malaysia) and I must say, that this hotel is definitely a must and valur for money. I stayed at room 2204 and 2205 which had access to the pool. As the rooms were on the top floors, the view was great. Room was very clean and staff was friendly. Definitely a must

6.3 John G.
United States
July 09, 2010
Management needs to take control of its staff and
Good location and generally nice property.
No management in sight... Staff are passive and not very friendly.
See above.