arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.3
Based on 3977 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 3977 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.4
  • Value for Money 8.6
  • Food/Dining 7.4

John G.
United States
July 09, 2010
Management needs to take control of its staff and
Good location and generally nice property.
No management in sight... Staff are passive and not very friendly.
See above.

RUIYUAN H.
Singapore
July 07, 2010
Low season travellers
nice view and beautifully located
up the hill, gradient is steep. strong calves needed
nice experience, strongly recommended, any room is ok

Alan W.
United Kingdom
July 04, 2010
Good place
Pool Access was great. Buffet breakfast excellent
The steep hill.
We loved it. Nice staff. Good location but the hill too steep for some. Everything nearby including a great restaurant the did take away. Recommended for sure. Just a few minutes walk to the beach. Staff were nice.

Katherine C.
Australia
June 29, 2010
sugar palm!
nice pools, location, great rooms
nothing!
loved staying here! wished we could have stayed longer, the staff were very friendly and organised a driver to take us around during the day. ate from stalls on the streets around the hotel and night markets were right outside. loved the pool and the room, we stayed in a jacuzzi room and it was so clean and we also borrowed dvds to watch from the lobby. will be back!

Tsang B.
China
June 27, 2010
Sugar Palm
Nice and unbelievable low price.
the breakfast can be improve.
Good and nice, good location and the room are clean and comfortable.

Shadow P.
United States
June 25, 2010
All Uphill
Nice modern rooms; clean, friendly golf cart drivers; pools are fun for the family; great cheap restaurant next door to get breakfast;
Rude and unaccomodating front desk staff; not as close to the beach as advertised. No room service or welcome drink. All rooms are uphill at a 40 degree angle. There are 2 elevators, but only take you half way. Golf carts will take you up to your room unless it's raining, then too dangerous.
I know that the hotel is called "Hillside", but after reading the reviews, I didn't think that it was that bad of a walk. We stayed almost at the top even though we requested to have a room near the bottom since we were traveling with my elderly parents and 2 young children. There are 10 40 degree slopes up to our room. In order to get to the pool outside of our room, we had to walk up 2 more flights of stairs and come down 1 and 1/2. The design is an archetectural feat, but not what I would have chosen if I had been at the beach. We mostly rode the golf carts to the room and back down, until it rained the last day. The rain made the hill so steep that the driver had to back down the entire hill. The cart drivers wanted a tip each ride, but we didn't feel that was necessary for them since it was their job and the hotel should've thought of that before having guests. The golf cart drivers were very friendly and arranged for a friend of theirs to drive us around the island for the day for $30. We had requested a family room or 2 beds in 2 rooms, but the front desk was unable to help us out. THere is a weird twin size bed at the foot of the king size bed in the room--I'm not sure if it's for in room massages, or what, but they will charge you just to put sheets on it. The hotel was about 4 blocks from the beach, first walking down steep hill, past restaurants, then a left past Kata Beach Resort, and on to the beach. I would not stay here again, even though the price was good.

Anastasia S.
Russia
June 24, 2010
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel
Nice hotel and good location
none
Nice hotel and good location despite the hill you nedd to climb up. Staff was pretty friendly and the room service was ok. Generally Phuket is a wonderful place for your vacation and I would recommend my friends to stay over there and of course pick up a room with pool access. Go to Thai and have fun!!!

Penchart P.
Thailand
June 24, 2010
Good View in Kata/Karon.
Good View
No lift for upper room.
Hotel located on moutain and if you room is upper of the hotel, you will be got a good view of Kata/Karon Beach but it quite high from Lobby and not convenience for move up/down. No lift for upper room (walk only).

robin W.
Australia
June 23, 2010
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel
all
lift position
We thought it was a great place to stay, offering great value for money, friendly staff all round. The pools were super and always clean and well maintained. Breakfast was good offering good variety for all nationalities. Rooms were always cleaned to a very high standard. Free internet access was also a plus. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Adrian L.
Malaysia
June 22, 2010
Chic hotel
Excellent modern and chic design, access pool is quite private
The satellite broke down just when the World Cup was on
Stayed a nite here and it was quite a pleasant stay. The staff were quite friendly and the entire design of the hotel was really nice and modern. The room was large but it was quite bear. Probably a minimalist approach in its architecture. The bathroom has a bare cement concept so it did look a bit less lavish. But it came with a nice and big shower and bathtub. We had the pool access room so it was quite something. Although private but you could actually have other guests walking along the lawn next to the pool. The main pool looked very beautiful at night as it had some really nifty underwater lights. Cool design. The main concern is also the slope, as the name implies it is on a small hill. No problem if you are willing to walk up the small incline. Food is aplenty just outside the hotel. Recommended for couples as I think it caters more for those who are into boutique style hotels