Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.3
Based on 4035 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 4035 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.9
  • Location 8.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.4
  • Value for money 8.6
  • Food/Dining 7.4

Maythus D.
Thailand
July 12, 2010
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel
Room, bath tub and swimming pool
The location of hotel is too hard to find
We drove to the hotel and spent about 45 minutes to find. We after found the sign was cracked down on the road. The hotel has a great view (city view) and location is not bad. There close to the beach and other famous restaurants around. We love the room, especially the bath tub. The staffs were very hospitality. The swimming pool is the highlight for this hotel. However, we suggest the main swimming pool should closed a bit late because there has sparkling in the night time. We were very happy on stay and definitely come back again very soon.

Soo K.
Singapore
July 10, 2010
The Hotel is great~!
Everything is clean, room's spacious and comfy...
The hike up to the hotel
Would definitely go back again =)Best hotel I've ever bunked in =)

Vernon T.
Malaysia
July 10, 2010
Absolutely marvellous
Friendly staff, very clean room, good view
Water pressure not strong enough (but acceptable)
I recently went to Phuket with my colleagues (my first trip out of Malaysia) and I must say, that this hotel is definitely a must and valur for money. I stayed at room 2204 and 2205 which had access to the pool. As the rooms were on the top floors, the view was great. Room was very clean and staff was friendly. Definitely a must

John G.
United States
July 09, 2010
Management needs to take control of its staff and
Good location and generally nice property.
No management in sight... Staff are passive and not very friendly.
See above.

RUIYUAN H.
Singapore
July 07, 2010
Low season travellers
nice view and beautifully located
up the hill, gradient is steep. strong calves needed
nice experience, strongly recommended, any room is ok

Alan W.
United Kingdom
July 04, 2010
Good place
Pool Access was great. Buffet breakfast excellent
The steep hill.
We loved it. Nice staff. Good location but the hill too steep for some. Everything nearby including a great restaurant the did take away. Recommended for sure. Just a few minutes walk to the beach. Staff were nice.

Katherine C.
Australia
June 29, 2010
sugar palm!
nice pools, location, great rooms
nothing!
loved staying here! wished we could have stayed longer, the staff were very friendly and organised a driver to take us around during the day. ate from stalls on the streets around the hotel and night markets were right outside. loved the pool and the room, we stayed in a jacuzzi room and it was so clean and we also borrowed dvds to watch from the lobby. will be back!

Tsang B.
China
June 27, 2010
Sugar Palm
Nice and unbelievable low price.
the breakfast can be improve.
Good and nice, good location and the room are clean and comfortable.

Shadow P.
United States
June 25, 2010
All Uphill
Nice modern rooms; clean, friendly golf cart drivers; pools are fun for the family; great cheap restaurant next door to get breakfast;
Rude and unaccomodating front desk staff; not as close to the beach as advertised. No room service or welcome drink. All rooms are uphill at a 40 degree angle. There are 2 elevators, but only take you half way. Golf carts will take you up to your room unless it's raining, then too dangerous.
I know that the hotel is called "Hillside", but after reading the reviews, I didn't think that it was that bad of a walk. We stayed almost at the top even though we requested to have a room near the bottom since we were traveling with my elderly parents and 2 young children. There are 10 40 degree slopes up to our room. In order to get to the pool outside of our room, we had to walk up 2 more flights of stairs and come down 1 and 1/2. The design is an archetectural feat, but not what I would have chosen if I had been at the beach. We mostly rode the golf carts to the room and back down, until it rained the last day. The rain made the hill so steep that the driver had to back down the entire hill. The cart drivers wanted a tip each ride, but we didn't feel that was necessary for them since it was their job and the hotel should've thought of that before having guests. The golf cart drivers were very friendly and arranged for a friend of theirs to drive us around the island for the day for $30. We had requested a family room or 2 beds in 2 rooms, but the front desk was unable to help us out. THere is a weird twin size bed at the foot of the king size bed in the room--I'm not sure if it's for in room massages, or what, but they will charge you just to put sheets on it. The hotel was about 4 blocks from the beach, first walking down steep hill, past restaurants, then a left past Kata Beach Resort, and on to the beach. I would not stay here again, even though the price was good.

Anastasia S.
Russia
June 24, 2010
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel
Nice hotel and good location
none
Nice hotel and good location despite the hill you nedd to climb up. Staff was pretty friendly and the room service was ok. Generally Phuket is a wonderful place for your vacation and I would recommend my friends to stay over there and of course pick up a room with pool access. Go to Thai and have fun!!!


1

Select your loyalty program

At the top of the page, click on PointsMAX and you’ll see many popular airline and loyalty programs to choose from.

2

Choose a room with points

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Popular! 61 travelers are considering this property right now
  • Earn up to 4900 points

Every eligible room will show the points you’ll earn with the booking.

3

Sign in and earn points!

  • Program Membership ID
  • I'm not staying in any of the rooms on this booking. I'm making this booking for someone else.

Fill in your membership ID for your selected program during booking. You’ll earn the amount of points shown at booking after you check out. It’s that easy!

Start here and select your preferred program: