Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.3
Based on 4033 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 4033 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.9
  • Location 8.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.4
  • Value for money 8.6
  • Food/Dining 7.4
Sort by

Penchart P. from Thailand
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in March 2010
Good View in Kata/Karon.
Good View
No lift for upper room.
Hotel located on moutain and if you room is upper of the hotel, you will be got a good view of Kata/Karon Beach but it quite high from Lobby and not convenience for move up/down. No lift for upper room (walk only).
Reviewed June 24, 2010

robin W. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 9 nights in June 2010
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel
all
lift position
We thought it was a great place to stay, offering great value for money, friendly staff all round. The pools were super and always clean and well maintained. Breakfast was good offering good variety for all nationalities. Rooms were always cleaned to a very high standard. Free internet access was also a plus. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

Adrian L. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed one night in June 2010
Chic hotel
Excellent modern and chic design, access pool is quite private
The satellite broke down just when the World Cup was on
Stayed a nite here and it was quite a pleasant stay. The staff were quite friendly and the entire design of the hotel was really nice and modern. The room was large but it was quite bear. Probably a minimalist approach in its architecture. The bathroom has a bare cement concept so it did look a bit less lavish. But it came with a nice and big shower and bathtub. We had the pool access room so it was quite something. Although private but you could actually have other guests walking along the lawn next to the pool. The main pool looked very beautiful at night as it had some really nifty underwater lights. Cool design. The main concern is also the slope, as the name implies it is on a small hill. No problem if you are willing to walk up the small incline. Food is aplenty just outside the hotel. Recommended for couples as I think it caters more for those who are into boutique style hotels
Reviewed June 22, 2010

KA M. from Hong Kong
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in June 2010
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel
Price
Breakfast
I've booked a pool access room but when I arrived, I got the room on the ground floor which everyone pass by can see us swimming, so no privacy. It's rather disappointing. I've asked to change another room but no other pool access room is available. Instead of using our pool, we use the public pool on the upper floors. Overall, the room is clean, big bathtub and comfortable bed.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Lai W. from Canada
Solo travelers
Stayed 5 nights in June 2010
A very relaxing hotel
Nice Room with lots of swimming pools
many inserts in the room
nice sea view in Jaccuzi room nice room services big room with a queen size bed but there were lot of inserts like ants in and outside the room
Reviewed June 16, 2010

CHU K. from Hong Kong
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in June 2010
Good price and location
Nice price
Water pressure from the shower is not enough
The water pressure from the shower head is low and not acceptable but overall is really nice with the budget price and the location is good. However, the car park space is small and only allow for 4 to 6 vichels only.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

jasmine T. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in June 2010
best hotel stay ever
pool access, spacious room and bathroom, clean, worth the money
the lift to the rooms smelled. If possible, place an air refresher inside to purify the air.
Just got back from a great vacation! The stay at sugar palm grand hillside made the trip much more enjoyable. My boyfriend and i had stayed there for 3 nights. There was nothing that i dislike about the hotel. The room was pretty spacious and clean. We got the access to the pool, simply open the balcony and dive straight into the pool! Although the pool was shared among 3 rooms, most of the time, you have the whole pool to yourself. I love the bathtub, big enough for a romantic bath for 2. One night it was raining, so we stayed in and ordered Room service, which was cheap and decent food. We ordered 2 main courses, lighted some candles and had a romantic candle light dinner right outside our balcony. There's free wifi in the room, dvd player, and cable tv.. Tell me, what's not to like about this hotel?
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Penelope M. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in May 2010
Lovely hotel
Beautiful rooms, great pools and facilities and really friendly staff.
There was a long steep climb up to the hotel and then on up to the room.
We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff were great, really friendly and helpful. The rooms were well kitted out and very modern with good access the pools and nice big balconies. Only drawback was a seriously long steep climb to get up to our room which was a killer in 35 degree heat. The location of the hotel was good for exploring Kata and the rest of the island.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Richard W. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in June 2010
Excellent Stay
Chic, Modern layout, quiet environment
Nil
Booked for 2 nights initially, loved it so much that we continued to stay with the hotel for the rest of the 4 days. we had a low floor pool view unit, which was easily accessible via a lift. the hotel with its array of pools were well layout. The room was designed with a modern minimalist theme. When we decided to extend our stay, our request to move up to higher ground was granted without hesitation.Good staff service. Our stay period may be in the low season, but the stay and the services that we encountered were never at the low. Will return next time to stay again.
Reviewed June 12, 2010

Azreen S. from Malaysia
Groups
Stayed one night in June 2010
Worth the hike
clean modern design. pool access rooms.
floor was somewhat slippery when wet, and we had that problem since we use the pool quite a lot.
The hotel was easy to find as you enter Kata you can already see the structure and it is on the main road. We had 2 of the pool access rooms at the highest level of the hotel but it was not a problem at all. All 4 of us loved it. The hill was indeed steep but there were buggy cars to send us up to our room. We paid just a fraction of the usual rate in June so it was all worth it. The beach was near too, just walk down from the hotel plus a few mins walk.
Reviewed June 08, 2010