arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.3
Based on 3996 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 3996 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.4
  • Value for Money 8.6
  • Food/Dining 7.4

Chantelle L.
New Zealand
May 21, 2010
Amazing Hotel
Everything about this hotel was great, clean rooms, pool access, big rooms, nice staff, good breakfast
Nothing
Stayed here twice now and it was great. We had to get picked up at 5.30am for our airport transfer and the staff even made us a packed breakfast box to take with us

Jennifer D.
United Kingdom
May 20, 2010
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Review
Gorgeous room with a huge bath/bathroom. Stunning black infinity pool to relax in. Local amenities close by - beach, shops, restaurants, bars, massage parlour etc.
None whatsoever!
The hotel was amazing, my friend and I had a wonderful stay there. The location was good, in the quieter end of Kata, away from the main road up a little hill. The hotel room itself was gorgeous, very 'boutique hotel' like and minimalist. The room provided adequate facilities for us on our stay and had a lovely balcony overlooking the area and pool. The two level, black infinity pool was stunning too. It was just what we needed!

Sunny H.
Singapore
May 20, 2010
Not Enjoyable stay
Room is big with big balcony. New. Good internet connections. Nice pool.
Staff is rude,need more smile. Breakfast not delicious,very messy. Island tour selling in Hotel is very expensive. Need to climb up steep to the room. Not suitable for the elderly.
First day reach the hotel, I had change 4 rooms. First water dripping, second foul smell in the toilet,third not my kind of booking and finally the forth is jaccuzzi room which I booked. Hotel staff need more smile, especially those serving in the restaurant. Hotel situated up the hill, very tiring walking up and not suitable for the elderly. Breakfast is just a simple layout though, not delicious at all. The pool is the best part of the hotel and the room is not bad either with free WiFi. Not recommended to stay here unless the staffs change their attitude,we tourists like someone who smile rather than pulling their face to us.

Chantelle L.
New Zealand
May 19, 2010
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Really clean, modern rooms. We were in a pool access room which was great. Value for money was amazing.
Some people complained about the hill going back up to the rooms - we were at the very top, but the staff are happy to drive you up in a golf cart, so no complaints at all.
Had an amazing stay. Breakfast was great and had a large variety of food. Pool was amazing. The whole hotel was presented excellently. I would definitely stay there again.

graham H.
Canada
May 16, 2010
Very Comfortable
breakfast
room service
Enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We had a pool view room that we were very happy with. Beware of the jaccuzi rooms as they have a good location in the hotel, but are geared more for families than couples. There is no actual bath in the room design itself and the jaccuzi is a dog dish style tub out on the balcony visible to all. The breakfast is great, but meagre room service, not even ice.

meghan M.
Canada
May 15, 2010
phuket trip
Clean, spacious rooms, pool area, comfortable space to relax, great view
Staff were not that friendly, lots of tiny ants, deck chairs were looking really old and worn
Overall we had a really great stay at the sugar palm grand. The rooms were clean and spacious and the view is really nice. The walk to our room was long and uphill, but we really didn't mind, the architecture of the hotel really takes advantage of its location on the hill. Our view was of the pools, each level has its own and the visual affect is really beautiful. We did find the hotel staff to be a little rude, and we did discover a ton of tiny ants in the room. There is also breakfast buffet available, very convenient. All in all, great value for the money. I think we would definitely go back, only next time we would get a pool access room!

Elaine C.
Singapore
May 12, 2010
Grand Jacuzzi Deluxe
- Peaceful, quiet surroundings - Spacious - Value for money during off-peak season and great discount from Agoda - View from balcony was not bad, could see the sea in the distance - Hotel used Crocs as bedroom slippers which were very convenient to move around (out of the hotel) in
- Jacuzzi was great but its location in the balcony was too open, people in the opposite hotel and shops downstairs could see everything happening - Buffet breakfast wasn't great, can skip and eat at the nearby eateries - Pillow/bedsheet looked a little dirty, there were distinct shoeprints on one of the pillows
It is a pretty cool place to chill out in if you want a beach nearby, but with peaceful surroundings. Quite conveniently located as well, with restaurants, convenience stores, massage places, tour agents to bring you around the island. For guests whose flights are way after check-out time, hotel has a shower room which you may request to use upon return from outdoor activity.

Paul M.
United Kingdom
May 10, 2010
Perfect place for a relaxing stay...and excellent
Clean, spacious, DVD player in room, nice swimming pools, great value
Hotel, as the name suggest is on a steep hill and would not be suitable for the elderly and short of breath!!
This hotel represents fantastic value for money in the quiet resort of Kata Beach.

hassan H.
Australia
May 07, 2010
had a sugar of a time
good location modern rooms
breakfast expensive if not included in room rate
had a very comfortable stay in a modern resort

LAY O.
Singapore
May 06, 2010
Third Stay
Value for money. Modern design.
Service could be friendlier. Poor breakfast.
Third stay at the resort. Another good experience. Real value for money during off peak period. However, resort seems to look more tired due to the cracks on the cement walls.