Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.3
Based on 4032 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 4032 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.9
  • Location 8.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.4
  • Value for Money 8.6
  • Food/Dining 7.4
Sort by

Chinnachart D. from Thailand
Families with young children
Stayed 4 nights in May 2010
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
goos view and good service
pool not so clean
goos view and good service and pool not so clean and very value of money
Reviewed June 06, 2010

Adeline N. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in May 2010
Modern hotel with great view
Modern design room, clean and spacious with private jacuzzi on balcony and a good view of the sea & sunset.
not all rooms enjoy good view and even with that, the view is not totally unblocked with another small hotel opposite so no 100% privacy when enjoying the private jacuzzi at the balcony.
We were on honeymoon and stayed in sugar palm for the first 3days of our trip. Room was very modern,new,clean,spacious and comfy. We got a private jacuzzi bathtub on the balcony with a good view of the sea and sunset but not all rooms comes with unblocked view and ours happen to be facing a small hotel opp so its not really that private using the jacuzzi. We liked the bathroom with the see through glass to the room but the rain shower is running all over the place. The hotel is on uphill so you need some steep climbing but not a prob for us, maybe not for the elderly. Breakfast is not fantastic but acceptable as there are many restaurants in the area. The main pool is nice and quiet as most people have their own pool access in the room. Hotel is rather quiet as mostly staying there are caucasians and no families so no noisy kids which we liked and enjoyed. Location wise, Kata is more quiet and it is good if you want to be near the action yet away from the crowd. We do find it quite ex getting around always as there is really more to see in Patong. Hopefully the hotel can provide free shuttle to Patong in future. Overall, we do enjoy our stay here and will definitely go back again.
Reviewed June 04, 2010

Yap G. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in May 2010
Nice place, bad service
good view, quiet, comfy beds
service of the staff could be better
I was a bit apprehensive when i read the reviews of the super steep uphill hike to the rooms, but i dare say that it is greatly exaggerated. sure, the hike up is steep, but no one mentioned that it is short too! It would take you no more than a minute or two to get up to the lobby area and you can then take a lift should you not wish to hike anymore. the main grouse for me is the service of the staff there. they seemed to be unitedly oblivious to you most of the time. the only smile i got was when from the lady at the desk when i was checking in, and that too changed when i requested for a higher floor when i saw that the room they offer me is just next to the lobby itself which really lacks privacy. to her credit though, she did change a room for me without any hassle, but the other staff that showed me to the room was expressionless the whole time, even when i gave him a tip there was no smile at all, maybe it isn't enough. overall, the room was good, if you are happy just to enjoy the amenities and treat the staffs as non-existent (not to worry, they do that to you too) and stay out of each other's way like i did, i think the stay is pleasant enough.
Reviewed June 02, 2010

Owen K. from Indonesia
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in May 2010
nice and simple hotel
- strategic located - nice view - the rooms are clean and spacious
- the elevator is hot
Its a nice hotel! Brand new, the design is minimalist ! They have a comfortable bathroom a jacuzzi and shower inside! The rooms are clean and tidy, quite spacious and the most important things they really have a big balcony ! You're gonna love this hotel as much as I do, for sure Ill be back to this hotel! And one more thing they have a free internet and they provide 4 computers with internet for free at the lobby ! Welldone !
Reviewed May 30, 2010

Wee M. from Singapore
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in May 2010
Great Place for a short stay
Access to swimming pool Great place for sun-tanning
lotsa flies!!! having to climb up a super steep slope!
this is a great place to stay for a short trip. hotel rooms are clean and comfy! breakfast was great! location is good (shops and restaurants down the hill) Service could be improved though. There's free internet usage at the hotel lobby and free wireless in the room. The only downside is having to climb up a hill, take 2 lifts and walk for 5 mins before reaching our rooms. Other than that, everything was great!
Reviewed May 30, 2010

HARRY B. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in May 2010
sugar palm hillside needs attention
The pool access room on a lower floor. Two elevators are now working.
The Floor of the room looked ready dirty but was just stains and marks, when wet it is so slippery. The walls were dirty and in need of painting. Bathroom concept of the natural cement look failed and although it was not dirty it looked dirty. The "modern" design is so impractical eg to adjust the blind between the bathroom and the bedroom, to put the plug in the bath or turn on the taps one needed to get into the bath that has a ledge around it making it difficult to get in and out.
We were fortunate to have a lower floor pool access room. Guests with rooms on the higher levels needed to walk up and down many steep steps to the main pool area. The cascading waters looked great but it was difficult to have a conversation because of the noise of the water. The main pool area has no railing and has about a 3 m drop and could be very dangerous for children.
Reviewed May 29, 2010

Randal O. from United States
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in May 2010
Sugar Palm Hillside-A 3 1/2 Star Experience!
Rooms are nice although minimalistic; night front desk clerk excellent; some sea view rooms have a good view(others don't); breakfast was filling and good quality; center pool was very relaxing; our rooms have good maid service.
Daytime front desk clerk arrogant; some sea view have a lousy view, even if you pay for more; a few good staff and a number of indifferent staff; pools need to be cleaned, some of them smell; room service meals are small and mediocre at best.
There are so many things to say about this hotel--some of them good and some of them not as great. Altogether the hotel is quite good--a definite 3 1/2 star experience. I say that because although the appearance of the hotel is very nice, many of the services and features of the hotel do not meet expectations. There is nothing horribly wrong with the Sugar Palm Hillside, however, there are very few services and features that I would call excellent or 4 star. Altogether though, in view of the off season price, I would say it is a good value mainly because of the attractiveness of the buildings and the general appearance. As detailed above, the services vary in quality, depending on the individual personnel. I would dare to say that unlike a 4 star hotel, the staff do not persevere to ensure a good stay for the guests. They generally do their jobs but are not that concerned about the experience of the hotel guests. If you can get a good price for the seaview rooms, it probably worthwhile, however that does not ensure you will have a great view. Our room had a partial view of the beach(as do most rooms), however, for some reason it was classified as a seaview room even though it was towards the back of the hotel on a midlevel floor. When we asked to a room with a better room, we were told one might be available 2 days later by the night staff. However, the day staff flatly refused us when we inquired 2 days later and was quite arrogant about refusing to give us a room with a decent sea view. We simply waited until the night staff started work and requested the change then. The place appeared very well cared for and has a good maintenance staff in general. However, the bell staff and many of the other staff seem uninterested in providing good service for the guests. Makes me wonder if the manager ever comes out to ensure high quality service--apparently not!
Reviewed May 28, 2010

Janinne N. from Australia
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in May 2010
Consider your Guests
It is very modern, centrally located.
Understanding the requests of its guests, no information about the area was provided.
While the hotel is brand new and looks great the administration is poorly organised. We were three single guests requesting 3 separate beds. On arrival we asked if there were three beds. 'Yes'. Of course when we reached our room there was a king sized bed and a trundle (which we paid extra for) but no elusive third bed. There seemed to be no understanding that we required three beds and it had been a request at booking. The next morning more time was wasted without the third bed being a possibility. Eventually a third trundle bed was delivered to our original room. The room also did not have fascilities for three guests. It is not hard to make people feel welcome by ensuring there is water for everyone and tea cup and glass! Maybe due to our poor start the staff then did not inform us of any fascilities like the lift! We trudged up to our room in the rain! They did apologise and offered us a plate of fruit.
Reviewed May 26, 2010

Ang C. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in May 2010
Pool Access Room
The location of the hotel is great. There's two 7-11 nearby & there are many restaurants & a bank within a 1 min walk from the hotel.
The floor in the shower area seems quite sticky & there are some ants in the bathroom. Other than that, all is fine.
The rooms are designed with a chic, minimalist and industrial concept with concrete floors & walls in the bathroom. The rooms are big and mainly white. So if you prefer hotels with elaborate details, this will not be the place for you. We stayed at the lower floors & love the pool access room. It feels great that the pool is just at your doorstep! The walk uphill to the hotel from the junction is about 1/2 a min walk & it was no problem to us.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

ng C. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in May 2010
Phuket Kata Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
The clean design of the room.
Some of the staffs have no service standard.
The hotel is location at the end of kata which is pretty quiet. The room was quite clean, the lobby was not what i expected with two desks and a few chairs. But the internet, book and DVD are free to use and borrow. Lobby staffs are pretty ok with service. But the staff that give us a ride up the hill have no service at all and expected us to tip him for giving my wife and i attitude. But there are also staffs with good attitude and service who greet and smile whenever they saw us.
Reviewed May 23, 2010