arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.3
Based on 3976 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 3976 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Staff Performance 8.4
  • Value for Money 8.6
  • Food/Dining 7.4

8.3 ONG R.
Singapore
May 05, 2010
sugar plam hillside
nice private swimming pool,and nice desined bedroom
climbing up the stairs!!!
my wife and i with anoher 2 friends spent our lovely 5 days there at Kata sugar palm hillside,the rooms(Pool access) are lovely with spacious bath room and bath tube,Nice LCD Tv and DVD PLayer,there is even a DVD library at the recept counter,my wife and i love the swimming pool and even at nite we can swim privately,the rooms we choose is the top of the rooms selection,so therefore we will have to climb high up to our hotel rooms,so therefore if u are those kinda of person that doesnt wanna walk too far or climb stairs.u will have to choose a lower floor room,the hotel also have a nice parking space ,if u decide to rent a car at the airport,u can safetly park the car at their own designated carpark with security 24/7. Overall a nice place for us and we will def be back next time!!!!

9.3 Radoslaw W.
Canada
May 02, 2010
Well priced clean contemporary hotel steps in Kata
Clean & contemporary rooms, with all the necessary amenities well laid out. Free wifi in the rooms. Friendly service from all staff. Nice views of Kata town and the beach. Pool access rooms available at a very affordable price.
We couldn't think of anything, but if we were to think of one con, it would be the location of the hotel, which is up on a hill, so its a bit of a trek to return to your room, but for us it was not a problem. It can also be avoided by asking for a room close to the reception area.
We absolutely loved this hotel, it was one of the better resorts we have stayed at in our lifetimes. We both appreciate good architecture and interior design, and this place was literally jaw dropping upon arrival. The concrete interior might be cold for some, but we love the industrial-like simplicity of the design! We opted for the pool access room, instead of the beach view, as both were equally priced, and we made the right choice, as pool access rooms usually cost lots more elsewhere. We loved having our midnight swims in what felt like a private pool, or just having a pool to jump into after hiking up the hill from town drenched in sweat. Wifi was free and the connection was excellent, the staff were very friendly, and we never felt that they were hard to communicate with, yes some did not speak good English, but we still understood each other. We had breakfasts included, and they were wonderful, with lots of choice, it felt more like a brunch buffet. We would recommend this resort to all our friends. Its very close to the beach, shopping, restaurants etc.

9 Yu-Tin L.
Taiwan
May 02, 2010
Great value for money
Location was great, the room was spacious, the pool access was great! Since we got the bar right across the pool too! At night the pool view is very beautiful too. Room service was reasonably priced too so we didn't have to walk all the way down the hill and up again just to fill our stomache.
the aircon was very loud, but that's a really minor thing!
Over all it was a really nice hotel with a young atmosphere with the matching price! The hotel staff were very nice and Agoda price is always the best! Thank you Agoda. Also we visited the hotel the night before (we were staying at the sugar palm at first) and requested the room that we were shown to, and at our request we got the exact room that we wanted which was great!

8 Jo S.
Singapore
April 27, 2010
Fantastic Stay
Modern and contemporary design Clean, spacious rooms with huge bathroom Rooms come with semi-private pools
Counter service staffs not very friendly and helpful
The 3 of us booked 2 pool access rooms and we practically get the pool to ourselves as the pool was only connected to the 2 rooms. It felt pretty exclusive and convenient. Especially when, we were given rooms higher up the hill where the pool comes with nice view. The rooms came with a DVD player and free wi-fi. I loved the huge bathroom which came with a huge bath tub and shower area. Upon check in, the counter staff got a golf-cart to drive up the hill to our rooms. The staff didn't warn us of the steep ride and it almost scared the hell out of me. Luckily, we held on tightly to the rails. The hotel is just 5 - 10 minutes' walk to the beach and everything and anything can be found along the walk to the beach. The only bad experience would be with an unfriendly guy counter staff. He didn't smile and gave us a "No" when we enquire if he could help us arrange a taxi for us the next day. Overall, We enjoyed our stay and would love to go back again.

8.3 Elizabeth Z.
Canada
April 27, 2010
beautiful hotel perched on a hill
very close, about 6 minutes walk to kata beach. free wifi
it was on a pretty steep hill
this hotel should be named grand hillside sugar palm as you have to walk up a steep hill to get to it. albeit not very long distance, it is steep and can be hard if you are wearing heels. the staff were friendly but not particularly helpful. the whole hotel concept is of concrete so I'm not sure if that is the reason why the washroom fixtures were coming off the walls. e.g. our shower head screws were coming loose off the wall and houskeeping did not fix it throughout our stay. also the faucet had the same problem, it was loose coming out of the concrete counter. the pools on the different levels of the hotel are beautiful and we had a nice plasma tv in our room.

8 CHATCHAPHON R.
Thailand
April 16, 2010
a challenging stay
beautiful, modern hotel, near sea, good breakfast, beautiful and spacious room
no lift to the room, guests have to endure steep climbs to go to room and back
We enjoyed the beautifual and well-designed hotel which is well located at Kata Beach, a smaller and quieter beach than the over-crowded Patong Beach. The distance from Kata to the airport is abut 47 km, though so you have to provide enough time to get back to the airport. At all cost, avoid rooms on higher levels unless you enjoy walking up slopes to get to and from your room everyday! This is a serious disadvantage. When we arrived, the receptionist said he was upgrading us to the pool view. I thanked him, not ralising that we're being upgraded physically!

9.7 david M.
Australia
April 15, 2010
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel
great hotel with free internet
none
booked two delux pool axis rooms at 20% off which was great value the rooms were excellent and the pool was good with a good view of the street below (but be prepered to walk as this hotel is built on a hill which was not a problem for us)the breakfast was very good and staff helpful i could not ask for beter and would stay here again

9.3 Wong H.
Hong Kong
April 14, 2010
Very suitable for a quiet vacation
Very clean and neat The environment is perfect for a getaway from city The staff are very polite Swimming pool is very clean and special in design Very convenient and quick access into the free wi-fi network, need not enter username and password for every session Just a 10-minute walk to arrive at restaurants and Kata beach. Restaurants nearby are of better bargains.
The elevator button is difficult to press despite the beautiful design Slope too steep for the elderly and children to move up
1. This is an excellent hotel of very reasonable price to live in which I strongly recommend. Located in a quiet environment up on the hill but with convenient access to beaches, marts and restaurants. 2. Improve the design of the elevator button, it is very difficult to press every time. 3. Should offer shuttle to pick up customers from places like the airport, beach areas, Phuket town or downtown, especially for the elderly and children since the slope is too steep to move up.

9 Kwok T.
Hong Kong
April 14, 2010
Nice hotel!
nice swimming pool, clean and neat room! the staff are quite helpful. there are flowers on your bed upon arrival
the location of the rooms is a bit inconvenient
the room is a bit less good than expected, but still it is a pretty nice hotel with their low price. I had a relaxing stay at the hotel. The beach is just around the corner.you can go back to the hotel immediately after swimming which is nice. there are various tv channels. and a dvd player in the room. even if you have ur dvds. you can borrow one at the front desk. good!

9 Ming K.
Singapore
April 12, 2010
Awesome
Clean, Beautiful, Great Location and Spacious Rooms
Expensive breakfast, Couldn't connect to the wifi in my room. weird smell in the lift.
The stay was pleasant and enjoyable. Interior of the room was great. Neat, spacious and the pool side view is lovely. Location is great as Kata is a lovely place. Peaceful and quiet, unlike Patong which is very chaotic. You can rent a bike from the lobby for 250 baht. It is safe to ride around in Kata. but if you were to head down to Patong, please beware of the police as they tend to fine tourists for riding without a license. So, its best is you bring your vehicle license along to avoid the 300baht fine.