Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.3
Based on 4033 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 4033 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.9
  • Location 8.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.4
  • Value for money 8.6
  • Food/Dining 7.4

ng C.
Singapore
May 23, 2010
Phuket Kata Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
The clean design of the room.
Some of the staffs have no service standard.
The hotel is location at the end of kata which is pretty quiet. The room was quite clean, the lobby was not what i expected with two desks and a few chairs. But the internet, book and DVD are free to use and borrow. Lobby staffs are pretty ok with service. But the staff that give us a ride up the hill have no service at all and expected us to tip him for giving my wife and i attitude. But there are also staffs with good attitude and service who greet and smile whenever they saw us.

Szilard K.
United States
May 22, 2010
Upscale Hillside Hotel
Pools, pools, and pools. balcony some with direct access to pools, location was excellent, rooms are modern design, big with good amenities, tub with seperate shower, flat screen TV, my room had an ocean view. friendly staff, elevator, beach towels, big comfortable room and bed. good AC.
A lot of stairs to get to pool(s). Parking was limited for cars, better for motorbikes and had to take a flight of stairs down to parking lot. There are staff yhat will happily take you and your luggage in golf carts to whereever you need to go, but you will need to climb stairs eventually to get to one of 10 pools.
I stayed at the Sugar Palm Grand Hillside for almost a week very near Kata Beach, my favorite beach in Phuket. The rooms are modern, nice, big, comfortable and well equiped. I stayed here because of the great low season rate that was available and it was a new Hotel. The night life in Kata is more family oriented/ quite, but you can still find bars ajnd action if you look for it...and remember that Patong is just a 15 minute motorbike ride away. This Hotel has overnight joiner fees that will put a dent in your wallet should you decide to be a butterfly! For Couples it is perfect, for families too, but older patrons not willing to navigate the stairs should find better accomodations. I would stay here again.The largest pool had a cool light feature that would change colors only seen at night.

Chantelle L.
New Zealand
May 21, 2010
Amazing Hotel
Everything about this hotel was great, clean rooms, pool access, big rooms, nice staff, good breakfast
Nothing
Stayed here twice now and it was great. We had to get picked up at 5.30am for our airport transfer and the staff even made us a packed breakfast box to take with us

Jennifer D.
United Kingdom
May 20, 2010
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Review
Gorgeous room with a huge bath/bathroom. Stunning black infinity pool to relax in. Local amenities close by - beach, shops, restaurants, bars, massage parlour etc.
None whatsoever!
The hotel was amazing, my friend and I had a wonderful stay there. The location was good, in the quieter end of Kata, away from the main road up a little hill. The hotel room itself was gorgeous, very 'boutique hotel' like and minimalist. The room provided adequate facilities for us on our stay and had a lovely balcony overlooking the area and pool. The two level, black infinity pool was stunning too. It was just what we needed!

Sunny H.
Singapore
May 20, 2010
Not Enjoyable stay
Room is big with big balcony. New. Good internet connections. Nice pool.
Staff is rude,need more smile. Breakfast not delicious,very messy. Island tour selling in Hotel is very expensive. Need to climb up steep to the room. Not suitable for the elderly.
First day reach the hotel, I had change 4 rooms. First water dripping, second foul smell in the toilet,third not my kind of booking and finally the forth is jaccuzzi room which I booked. Hotel staff need more smile, especially those serving in the restaurant. Hotel situated up the hill, very tiring walking up and not suitable for the elderly. Breakfast is just a simple layout though, not delicious at all. The pool is the best part of the hotel and the room is not bad either with free WiFi. Not recommended to stay here unless the staffs change their attitude,we tourists like someone who smile rather than pulling their face to us.

Chantelle L.
New Zealand
May 19, 2010
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Really clean, modern rooms. We were in a pool access room which was great. Value for money was amazing.
Some people complained about the hill going back up to the rooms - we were at the very top, but the staff are happy to drive you up in a golf cart, so no complaints at all.
Had an amazing stay. Breakfast was great and had a large variety of food. Pool was amazing. The whole hotel was presented excellently. I would definitely stay there again.

graham H.
Canada
May 16, 2010
Very Comfortable
breakfast
room service
Enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We had a pool view room that we were very happy with. Beware of the jaccuzi rooms as they have a good location in the hotel, but are geared more for families than couples. There is no actual bath in the room design itself and the jaccuzi is a dog dish style tub out on the balcony visible to all. The breakfast is great, but meagre room service, not even ice.

meghan M.
Canada
May 15, 2010
phuket trip
Clean, spacious rooms, pool area, comfortable space to relax, great view
Staff were not that friendly, lots of tiny ants, deck chairs were looking really old and worn
Overall we had a really great stay at the sugar palm grand. The rooms were clean and spacious and the view is really nice. The walk to our room was long and uphill, but we really didn't mind, the architecture of the hotel really takes advantage of its location on the hill. Our view was of the pools, each level has its own and the visual affect is really beautiful. We did find the hotel staff to be a little rude, and we did discover a ton of tiny ants in the room. There is also breakfast buffet available, very convenient. All in all, great value for the money. I think we would definitely go back, only next time we would get a pool access room!

Elaine C.
Singapore
May 12, 2010
Grand Jacuzzi Deluxe
- Peaceful, quiet surroundings - Spacious - Value for money during off-peak season and great discount from Agoda - View from balcony was not bad, could see the sea in the distance - Hotel used Crocs as bedroom slippers which were very convenient to move around (out of the hotel) in
- Jacuzzi was great but its location in the balcony was too open, people in the opposite hotel and shops downstairs could see everything happening - Buffet breakfast wasn't great, can skip and eat at the nearby eateries - Pillow/bedsheet looked a little dirty, there were distinct shoeprints on one of the pillows
It is a pretty cool place to chill out in if you want a beach nearby, but with peaceful surroundings. Quite conveniently located as well, with restaurants, convenience stores, massage places, tour agents to bring you around the island. For guests whose flights are way after check-out time, hotel has a shower room which you may request to use upon return from outdoor activity.

Paul M.
United Kingdom
May 10, 2010
Perfect place for a relaxing stay...and excellent
Clean, spacious, DVD player in room, nice swimming pools, great value
Hotel, as the name suggest is on a steep hill and would not be suitable for the elderly and short of breath!!
This hotel represents fantastic value for money in the quiet resort of Kata Beach.