arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.3
Based on 3976 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 3976 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Staff Performance 8.4
  • Value for Money 8.6
  • Food/Dining 7.4

9.3 Kwok T.
Hong Kong
April 11, 2010
Sugarpalm grand hillside~ a nice hotel
the hotel is nice and mostly clean staff is quite helpful too the pool access room is great! u can actually jump into the pool outside your room!
the internet is not fast enough and the hotel is built on the hill so if u stay in high floors, u need to walk a long way bk to ur room, which is quite inconvenient and tiring
everything is new and there is a DVD player! so u can bring your own dvds or actually borrow one from the front desk, and hv a relaxing nite! service is also quite gd in the hotel. u can order meals straight to your room without going downstairs. the quality is good too there are nice orchid flowers on ur bed when u arrive. the only disadvantage about this hotel is that u need to walk uphill. and if ur room is on high floors, you will be quite exhausted especially after a playful day at the beach but in general, this hotel is new and good! just walk for around 5 - 10 minutes, u can get to the beach!

8 Lalita T.
Thailand
April 08, 2010
Nice but too high
nice and private swimming pool, good view from pool tht can see kata beach, modern style, close to beach
we stayed almost hight floor, very tired to climbed that hight eventhough there are elevators service but not connected each other.
set in middle of restaurant, private and cosy, very big room, price is reasonable comparing to location and size of room. We like it and of cuz' will pay visit when be there again.

8.7 Julie L.
Australia
April 05, 2010
Highly recommend
location, pools
Gym equipment
The layout of the hotel is fantastic... loads of pools with great views of Kata. The location is perfect, easy walk in to town but still far enough away to escape. Rooms are large, comfortable and clean. Would definately stay here again.... two days was not long enough.

8 Bonnie R.
Canada
April 05, 2010
Nice hotel
new hotel, clean, close to many restaurants and shopping
Built on a hillside so a bit of a climb to the property. They do have golf carts to transport you to your room if you like. The office staff could be a bit more friendly.
We enjoyed our stay at the Sugar Palm Grand. This was our second time staying there. The hotel is fairly new (about 2 years)and very clean. It is situated on a hillside so is a bit of a climb up to the hotel. They do have golf carts that will take you to your room and the staff operating them are very accommodating. We did find that the office staff were not as friendly and helpful as other hotels we stayed in during our two month vacation in Thailand. The hotel is located very close to many restaurants and shopping. The restaurant right across from the hotel is really quite good.

6 Amy B.
Australia
April 02, 2010
Enjoy the walk
Close to shops/attractions. Well priced.
Very very steep hill to reach the hotel enxtrance. The white/grey combo looked nicer in the photos but felt cold and clinical in real life. We got dropped off at the wrong hotel by our fairy shuttle and then had to wait over an hour for the golf buggy to come and get us even though it was only a 2 minute walk away - not that we knew that then.
We really weren't impressed with this hotel, there's not really anything GRAND about it, but nothing reaky bad about it either. It was well priced and close to shops and nightlife.

8 Mikhail P.
Afghanistan
April 01, 2010
Nice hotel
Close to the beach, good restaurant just in front of the lobby, friendly staff, funny room design, opportunity to get a personal pool for a reasonable price.
You should climb a hill (not so much, if you're living on level 1 or 2 - it's about 50 meters uphill, and then you can use an elevator). Wi-Fi is quite slow.
Stayed there from 10 to 15th of March. Pretty good hotel with it's own pro-s and cons. Minimalistic design looks fine if you like it, but really that's just a way to decrease the cost of the hotel itself. The bathroom looks like it's in the beginning of the construction (raw concrete everywhere - ceiling, walls, floor). So generally it's a 3 stars hotel (slightly overpriced) wich can look like a 4-star, if you like it's design. Breakfast is not very rich in fruits, juices and meals, but quite sufficent. Staff is very helpful and friendly. There's a reason to live in Sugar Palm only if you'll take a pool acess room. This is the main hotel's advantage, cince you'll get a pool with sea view (on the higher levels) and LED lights at the bottom during nights. Be aware that you'll have to share your pool with 2-3 rooms and some people that took Garden view rooms and will use your pool too.

8 matthew S.
Australia
March 31, 2010
Great Kata Location
Close to Kata shops, restaurants & beach. Just a 15 min walk to Kata Noi beach. Free wifi.
None
Have stayed twice at the Sugar Palm Grand Hillside, & enjoyed both stays. I had room 1907 the first time with the spa on the balcony, which seemed a little strange unless you are into bathing in full view of other guests. Second dtay I had room 2204, a litle further away from reception & higher on the hill, but with pool access, & bath in the room. Large rooms with free wifi. The Orchid 3 restaurant across the street from reception is good value & great food, comes out fast & fresh. There is laundry service 2 shops down from the Orchid 3 restaurant THB65 per kilo ironed, great value & much less than the hotel laundry service, massage there too. Will stay at Sugar Palm again if looking for cheaper accommodation, although would not want to pay much more. Small supermarket on the corner of the main street, 2 mins walk down the hill, excellent price on local beer & snacks.

9.7 Richard F.
United Kingdom
March 26, 2010
What a pleasant surprise
Excellent location, Peace and quiet, 200 metres from everything, very good room size and amenities, comfortable bed and quality fittings. The swimming pools, and the pool lights at night!!
Can't say there are any major downsides, yeah there is a hill or hills and steps. The breakfast is expensive if not pre-booked, but the quality and choice is there if you choose to have it.
This was by far the best hotel of the four we stayed in whilst travelling around Phuket. The room was very well maintained, quality fittings, free wi-fi, 32" LED TV in room, with DVD player, powerful shower, and we were upgraded free of charge to a sea view room, with spectacular views of Kata Beach. The reception area is welcoming and staff were more than helpful with any requests or advice. We were amazed that when sitting on the balcony a mere 200 metres from the main road of Kata, all you could hear were the birds in the tree opposite, no traffic horns or bar noise at all from the town. Wholeheartedly recommended. We will be back.

8.7 john N.
United Kingdom
March 24, 2010
Modern hotel
Clean rooms, loads of swimming pools, central location
Is on a very steep hill
This is a clean and modern hotel that is close to central Kata and close to the beach. The hotel is on a steep hill wich may challenge less able people. Each room is either outside or close to a swimming pool..there are numerous pools. Staff were helpful

8 Nicholas P.
Australia
March 18, 2010
Great place for the price
Multiple swimming pools, comfortable beds and spacious rooms.
The buffet breakfast was nothing special, and some of the rooms are a fair walk up the hill.
We booked this thinking that we were getting a room at Sugar Palm on Kata Beach, but this one was further up a hill. We were taken up to our rooms on a golf buggy, but be careful if you are seated on the back of the buggy -- the hills are extremely steep and I had to hold on very tightly so as not to slide off the buggy. It's a great hotel for the price that you are paying. Rooms are spacious and the beds are comfy, but the concrete floors in the room and bathrooms don't look clean (even though they probably were). Each room has a decent sized balcony, and there were lots of little swimming pools scattered over the various floors.